We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That’s a Cattle Baron if I have Seen One!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site

Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site
Deer Lodge, MT
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Deer Lodge
Type: Historic Sites, Ranchs, Cultural
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
625 reviews 625 reviews
276 attraction reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“That’s a Cattle Baron if I have Seen One!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Johnny Grant was a metis (French Canadian Indian). Eventually he ends up in Montana Territory and he realizes that you are either a Trader or a Trapper. He goes for Trader and marries several conveninet (understand Chief’s daughters) wives, actually eight of them (32 or 26 children, depending on who tells you the story) and does a lot of trading with the Indians. When South Western Montana becomes too crowded for him (1866) he sells out to a Conrad Cohrs, Dutch emigrant.

Cohrs creates a cattle empire in Montana but by the time all holdings pass in the hands of the third generation, things, as usual, start going South… The Ranch becomes property of the National Park Service in 1986 and the Park Service now operates it as a “working ranch”, or so the brochures tell you.

If you are interested in history, you should visit. But don’t get your hopes too high: we were told that there were 300 heads of cattle but only saw some horses in a near-by field. The tour of the house is interesting, it gives an idea of how luxuriously wealthy cattle barons lived in those times, but photography is not allowed anywhere with the lousy explanation that “people don’t know how to shut off their flash”… The tour takes about 45 minutes. You can walk on your own on the property outside the house, there are several historical photographs and a time line in a barn. The “cowboys” were all overweight rangers and one of them, seeing me take pictures of him and his horse, hurries to give me a business card with California address…
But then, you get what you paid for: nothing. Yep, that’s right, it’s all free, including the coffee you get at the chuck wagon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Unique National Park Unit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped in for a short time to visit this Historic Site. We took the house tour and even though the volunteer was relatively new to the site she did a good job explaining the history of the families that created this ranch. We didn't spend any time going through the outbuildings but it looked like there is a lot to see here. Outside of the house there was a volunteer creating and sewing brands to make a display piece for the site. It looked like a nice activity for kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonasket, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting, just like being back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Since we're farmers, we didn't see much that was new to us but appreciated that they had preserved what was once a big working ranch. Must be really interesting to "city folk".

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Grant-Kohrs Ranch is a very interesting site to visit. Because of the different ranger talks, you really learn a lot about life on a ranch and about the life of the real 'cowboys'. The house is beautifully kept and historically interesting. When in this neighbourhood, it is more than worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“active historical site - takes you back to cattle empires of the West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just north of the small town of Deer Lodge you can almost miss the sign for this National Historic site. Even as you enter the parking lot, it doesn't look like much. But stay with it.
Visit the ranger house and the walk under the railroad bridge into another era. Be sure to arrange for a tour of the home. It is a working ranch so something is always going on. check out their website to find out special events.
Our guide, Janet Snider, a retired librarian, led us through the fascinating lives of this ranch and the families who lived there.
It would be a good visit for almost any age.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site also viewed

Been to Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.