We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Game Viewing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Will Dornan's Snake River Float Trips

Will Dornan's Snake River Float Trips
10 Moose Street, PO Box 7, Moose, WY 83012
307-733-3699
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Attractions in Moose
Type: Bodies of Water, Adventure
Attraction details
Belmont, CA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful Game Viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We took 2 float trips on the Snake River and highly recommend the 7:00 p.m. float we enjoyed with Dornan's. Our guide was a local man who knew and loved the area. He pointed out eagle and osprey nests and was able to bring the boat within a few yards of moose, beaver and elk and a pair of cranes. Very early floats and those at the end of the day are, by far, the best if your goal is a quiet float for game viewing. The river is still beautiful during the day, but with a lot more people, most of the wildlife is IN the boat instead of on the banks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was an expensive 80 minutes on the Snake River. It was fun and everyone got lots of sun. Overall, the guide of knowledgeable and put safety first.

Unfortunately, I felt that the value for money was not there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great views, friendly and helpful guide, not much wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Traveled down Snake River on a cool afternoon. We were hoping for some kind of wildlife but all we saw was a bald eagle. Guide was friendly, attentive, helpful, and told us lots about the area. I wish we had traveled farther up the Snake -- this lower area had a little more whitewater which was fun, but no wildlife, and the Ansel Adams-type views are farther up the river.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST Fishing Guide Service in the Hole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent the day on the Snake with the most enlightend teacher in Jackson Hole. We received 5 star treatment and were educated in the finer points specific to this River (Snake) and local tips for presentation. We caught/released many fish and were truly pleased with the time we spend with Will Dornan's Snake River Angler. Richmond VA

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Float Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Although they messed up our reservation, they arranged a very nice float trip. It was raining, but the grand kids wanted to go in any case and were glad they did. We were the only raft on the river, and saw 4 bald eagles, some impressive moose, lots of pelicans, a marmot, an elk, and a heron. Guide was very pleasant. If you want a float trip, recommend you take one like this that starts in the park and is permitted.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will Dornan's Snake River Float Trips also viewed

 

Been to Will Dornan's Snake River Float Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will Dornan's Snake River Float Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.