We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food kids love the tepee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dornan's Chuckwagon

Dornan's Chuckwagon
Off U.S. 191, 10 Moose St., Moose, WY
307/733-2415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Moose
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Good food kids love the tepee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good stew and short ribs. Basic but good hearty food. $16 for adults. Limited selection, if you don't like beef forget it. Gorgeous views from tables. Filler

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    48
    15
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pay For The View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had breakfast here. The staff was very friendly and service fast. The food was fair. The eggs and sausage greasy. Do not try the biscuits and gravy. Floury muck and hockey pucks. Should have known better than to order it outside of the South where it is appreciated and always made well. My wife had the pancakes which were very good. You eat outside in the shadow of the Tetons. This is why you come to Dornan’s.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chagrin falls
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“BBQ Lunch after Hiking Jenny Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We didn't pack a picnic lunch to take to Jenny Lake and there were few places to eat around the area (Jenny Lake General Store has some limited selections). Stumbled upon Dornan's in Moose. Chuckwagon offers burgers/teriyaki chicken sandwiches/veg burgers with sides. All around $9 inc drinks (soda/lemonade). We were starving - so this fit the bill. You eat at picnic tables or in a teepee. The highlight was driving out of Dornan's - back into the park - and saw the famous bull moose that likes to frequent the river near the bridge at Moose Junction.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good, but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was probably not the place for us as we don't eat meat - oh well. We were able to get salmon which was good, but the sides were all for meat-lovers. The smell however of the grill, was wonderful!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great outdoor breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Snake River raft ride ends right by here. It is also only about 5-10 minutes from the airport in the opposite direction of Jackson Hole. We have been here a few times but for breakfast only and the scenery is what brings us back. The food isn't fancy and the selection is limited but who really cares. The mountain views are incredible. I am told they can also host weddings.

There is a convenience store/gas station, and gift shop/sporting goods store there also. They all pretty much share the same parking lot including the pizza restaurant which we did not try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornan's Chuckwagon also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Dornan's Chuckwagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornan's Chuckwagon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.