We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moose Head Ranch exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Head Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moose Head Ranch
Save
You added Moose Head Ranch to your Saves list
Highway 89 N, Moose, WY 83012   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moose Head Ranch exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

When our daughters were young, my husband and I often talked of taking the family out west to a “dude” ranch. Somehow, that idea never materialized, as we filled our summers with camps and family trips to the lake and beach. Now our girls are married with families of their own. About a year ago, we started revisiting the idea. With one daughter in California and the other in North Carolina, we began thinking about a family trip somewhere in the middle! Thankfully, some friends of ours who have a special fondness for Wyoming, suggested that we look into Moose Head Ranch which is about 20 minutes north of Jackson. We did a little research of our own and decided that Moose Head seemed to be the perfect choice! It appeared to be a smaller, more family oriented ranch than most. By the time we left, our five grandchildren could call all the wranglers, horses and cabin girls by name. The owners, Louise and Kit, could not have been more accommodating and Eddie, the Ranch Manager, was a hero to us all! We could not have made a more perfect choice! Moose Head Ranch exceeded all our expectations on so many levels!

Room Tip: The cabins are rustic, but clean and comfortable. The view of the Grand Tetons is magnificent. Commu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

From the moment of arrival to Moose Head Ranch, I knew it was genuine. Greeted by the Ranch's managers in the dark of the night, there was no doubt that this is a place that cares about its visitors and is entrenched in traditions maintained by the best of Western hospitality. The owners, staff, accommodations, and dining experience were memorable beyond all expectations. Can't wait to return with the family!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Guest ranches in Jackson Hole have a rich and fascinating history almost a century old. Moose Head Ranch is one of the originals. Louise and Kit, whose family purchased the ranch from the original homesteader, lovingly preserve its traditions and history. Our family looks forward all year to escaping the modern world of electronics for one precious week where we can catch a glimpse of simpler times and experience the glory of the Tetons in an authentic environment. (Admittedly, we are grateful that the breakfast bell now rings at 7:45 a.m. instead of its original 4:30 a.m.!) Moose Head provides the warm hospitality, delightful meals, comfortable accommodations and thrilling adventures that brought the original "dudes" to Jackson Hole 100 years ago. We thank Louise, Kit, Eddy and the amazing MH staff for sharing their precious treasure with us. We can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

It will be a long remembered and treasured trip to Moose Head Ranch. It was a long desire to invite my two daughters and their families to the "Wild West." The beauty, the hospitality, the very friendly and helpful staff at any time going out of their way to make us comfortable and enjoy the place. --And the outstanding meals, the Sunday cook outs around the bun fire with singing.I do not have enough words to express the joy and fun we had in this beautiful country of Wyoming. I will recommend this to anyone wishing for a ranch stay. With gratitude, Inger Hghson

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We had heard about Moose Head Ranch for years and years and decided that we needed an experience of our own with our 12 and 14 year old daughters. it was all that we had hoped for and more. When on the property you cannot get away from the amazing views of the Grand Tetons if you tried! it is like having front row seats to one of the wonders of the world! The ranch itself is like walking back in time ( I mean that in the most complimentary way!!). You immediately feel at home both in your surroundings, by the staff and even by the families who have gotten there ahead of you. The limited cell service and wi-fi service is a most welcomed relief and forces you to make a true disconnect with the outside world. Our 2 bedroom log cabin was cozy and comfortable, the main lodge where you gather for delicious meals provides you with again, an amazing view and the company of the owners, Kit and Louise Davenport and the other families that are there at that time. The staff is very accommodating, knowledgeable and fun. The wranglers have been taught well and provide very personable, fun and safe rides. The ranch is located between Jackson and Yellowstone so there is a world of opportunity to go other places when there. They will even pack you a yummy lunch when you "leave campus" and there is not a better place to come home to when you return. My girls riding horses with the Tetons looming ahead of them is forever etched in my mind. It was an amazing, happy and unforgettable family trip. I am most grateful for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We were so lucky to have found Moose Head Ranch after researching many other ranches throughout the Jackson Hole area. Waking up to the amazing views from our cabin as we watch all the horses come in from pasture for the daily rides. It is a site to see... All the meals were delicious and especially the gourmet dinners. The wranglers and the cabin girls added a very special touch to this ranch. All of our wranglers gave us a unique experience on each ride and were so great with our boys. Being able to ride together as a family was important to us, which many ranches do not do. This is a place our family hopes to go back to many times in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We were at the ranch in August with our grandson and had a fabulous time. The meals were fresh and plentiful with three choices of entrees every evening. there is a cocktail hour and then you move into the dining room that looks out at the Tetons. I will have to post some photos. the whole area is breathtaking. You can ride in the morning or the afternoon or both if you are up for it. Every family has their own guide and can decide what type of ride experience to have. up to date log cabins with wood stoves that are pre-laid with wood and starter. Porches, rockers, refrigerators and coffee machines, don't miss a thing with lunch baskets or breakfasts packed to go. Like to fish or want to learn? Kit is your man. I have always wanted to throw a fly fishing line and I think I am on my way after a day jumpstart training.
If you go, make sure to have an extra round of s'mores for me while the wrangler college students brand your boots…..it's a Blast!!! Thanks Louise and Kit!

Room Tip: We were in Lynx. It is a two bedroom, two bath cabin that has a wonderful living room. There was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moose Head Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Head Ranch

Address: Highway 89 N, Moose, WY 83012
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Moose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Moose Head Ranch Hotel Moose
Moose Head Ranch Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Head Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.