We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They call it Moose for good reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Wilson Road

Moose Wilson Road
Wyoming Highway 390, Moose, WY
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Attractions in Moose
Type: Scenic Drives, Sights & Landmarks, Outdoor Activities
Attraction details
Centreville, Maryland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“They call it Moose for good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Driving along this road, just before the turnout overlook closest to the visitors center and park entrace, you are likely to see a moose in the pond. There are several trailheads along the road, and its a great drive from the south entrance near Teton Village, or the opposite way. We've also spotted sandhill cranes in the marshes near the beaver pond. Don't miss this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Wildlife Viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It starts when you enter the gate just north of Teton village. On the left just inside the park gate is an osprey next. Right now it has a family of osprey there. They're fun to watch. As you drive along look carefully and you can see almost any of our local wildlife. We were there yesterday and we saw a cow moose, an elk, and a beaver. There is a very large beaver lodge near the north end of the road. A local photographer has taken up residence in the beaver pond as well. He has been wading in there for days photographing beaver antics.

You cannot be in a hurry on this road because it is heavily visited and very narrow. Also note that if you do stop please pull completely off of the road so that others may get around you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“make sure you check this road out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very cool road to check out. If you like beavers, make sure you check this road out. We were in the Tetons for a week and every night around 7 or 8pm the beavers were out. They were very close to the road which made for great photo opportunities.
We have also seen Moose, bull, female and baby, sandhill crane, golden eye with babies, bears, elk, pronghorn, and a great gray owl.
This is one of our favorite spots in the Tetons.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, KS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Saw a moose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We drove this several times, just for the scenery, and actually saw a moose. No trucks, RVs or campers allowed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
198 attraction reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“Great little scenic drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The road isn't as scary as the signs make it out to be, definitely do this when in the area. My GPS refused to acknowledge it as part of the road are gravel but it's great. I recommend going to Moose first on the highway and then on the Moose Wilson road south as most traffic was coming against us. (at least 20 times more then our way).

Lush forest, some swamps and beaver dams, creeks, meadows, just putter along at 20 mph with all the windows down and enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Wilson Road also viewed

 

Been to Moose Wilson Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Wilson Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.