We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bluffton, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were treated like we belonged there. Friendly staff with smiling faces, ready to offer suggestions and directions. The room was wonderful!! We stayed in a retreat suite and it was the nicest room I've ever stayed in.. Clean, comfortable and relaxing... with a view!! We loved it!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Fabulous hospitality! Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    114
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
127
235
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
thunder bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

the deluxe steam suite was the perfect romantic getaway without having to travel far....a beautiful room with a beautiful view of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

If you enjoy a beautiful view of a lake and a small town with lots to do this is the place to stay in the summer time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

My sister and I have always loved this area and have not made a trip "Up North" for 5 years due to serious,health problems. So when we were healthy enough to finally make another trip, all of the places we used to stay were no longer in business. After looking around on the web, then taking to the people here, the choice was easy. This is a beautiful hotel. Very quiet, comfortable and a view to die for. Every one of the staff was friendly and helpful. They made us feel right at home. We can't wait to go back!!! (We really didn't want to leave)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Alrighty......first of all....the room was very very clean, spotless! The hotel is very well kept, I would also say it must have been re-done recently. The breakfast is a few years behind, most hotels are offering a lot more these days. We stayed here just for the night as we were passing through, if you are looking for a place on the north shore for a few days I would suggest something like Bluefin bay, BUT I MUST SAY, this hotel is a great value with great rooms! I notice another review said over-priced, I do not know how they can say that, this is the best value I have ever recieved in a hotel!!!

Con: The check in process took WAY too long! (20 minutes), I am sure that is not always the case...but it was for us!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had the suite and it was the nicest room we ever stayed in. The shower with the 5 heads and the steam was wonderful, and the jacuzzi was wonderful. The fireplace was cozy and romantic, and it was nice to have the patio door open and listen to the waves. We could walk to all the nice restaurants in town, just all in all a wonderful room. The only thing that could have been better was the continental breakfast, have had much better ones at other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

A nice hotel that's overpriced. We had a junior suite which was spacious, clean, and well-equipped. One weird positive is the hotel has the best guest services directory I have ever seen (seriously). If it were 50-75 dollars less per night it would be great.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.