We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, check in staff was a little rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cottage Grove, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, check in staff was a little rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The room was nice, but we checked in early in the day before many others got there, (not many cars in the parking log yet), but were forced to have a room on the first floor, which neither my husband or I were very happy about. The person behind the desk just seemed to be very flippant about the fact that we would much rather have something on the second or third floor, and wasn't willing to listen to our request.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    113
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
127
234
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacred Heart, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We enjoy relaxing at the Best Western PLUS Superior Inn & Suites in Grand Marais, Minnesota both Spring and Fall. Each time has its own special beauty to experience. This Superior Inn & Suites is agreat place to enjoy the lake and the village as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The location is fabulous- we had a first floor room which gave us a wonderful unobstructed view of lake superior. Fairly clean, quiet hotel. Wish they had a pool- housekeeping wasn't the best- didn't replace empty tissue box or used wash cloths without me asking but front desk was kind and helpful when looking for things to do on a rainy day.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights. Bed and pillow and blankets so comfy! Breakkfast had both hot and cold food. Very good! Rooms were roomy and up to date and well maintained! Close to downtown and the lake! I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50021
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

As a returning guest, we were once again greeted with a friendly staff, excellent accommodations, and beautiful views. We never fail to have a great experience when we stay here. The staff fulfills all of our requests, and were very friendly even when met in town away from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The view of Lake Superior can't be beat and the room was very clean. My only drawback from giving it 5 stars are the following: The breakfast area is TINY considering the number of rooms. Guests were bumping into each other. There was nowhere to sit, so we had to take our breakfast back to our room to eat it, which is fine, but not if you forget something and have to go back. The walls also seem very thin, we could hear the conversations of the guests in the next room. Also, the lady that checked us in seemed to have a bit of a "superiority complex" and was rather snide when answering a question I had. Luckily, we were not next to a Pet Room so we did not have to listen to a barking dog. This hotel does not have a pool. We paid over $155 including tax, seems a bit expensive but I guess you're paying for the view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a terrific stay at the Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites. It was a long weekend getaway to Grand Marais to play golf and do some sight-seeing. Beautiful room, view - loved the shower - and the staff is second to none. We loved the quaint feeling of the town and the beauty of having our room overlook Lake Superior. Definitely a must for anyone heading up the North Shore!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.