We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Birchwood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed at this motel twice in the past month and both times the staff was friendly and helpful. One night I did not arrive until 1 a.m. without a reservation, the staff greeted my call and was able to find a room that was close to the door so I did not have to go far to get to a room. The room was spacious, clean, and the beds were very comfortable. This is one of the best Best Westerns I have stayed at and will return to this motel in the future. Parking is was within close proximity to the rooms as well.

Room Tip: Room 119 has an awesome shower with two shower heads and adjustable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    104
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
122
223
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

BW Superior Inn/Suites is a great place to stay when visiting Lake Superior in the late winter. The view out our window is of Artist's Point and a small bay right on Lake Superior. You can hear sea gulls as they're flying around looking for open water to land in. The room is clean and tidy; also has several updates, especially in the bath room. Very quite and relaxing.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have excellent views of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

in the USA. Great views, clean rooms, helpful staff, and a decent price for the location. I am not sure what other people expect in a tourist area like Grand Marais, but this was a lot more than I expected. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This Inn is right on the Shores of Lake Superior. Every room has a beautiful view of the lake. Offers great complimentary breakfast to start your day enjoying the beautiful sites of their city. Our room was peaceful, relaxing, and quiet. Also is a pet friendly hotel. This is where we alway stay when we visit Grand Maries.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Fantastic lake views from every room Some of the rooms include a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our stay at this Best Western last night was horrendous. There was an extremely discourteous guest in an adjoining room. They literally had their television blaring all night, none stop. The motel didn't cause him to behave this way, but you are on your own if there is a problem. We tried twice to call the desk, and received a recorded message. I got dressed at 2 am to go to the desk and it was locked up with no one to be seen anywhere. We got NO sleep. At an AmericInn this may not have been an issue, with their superior noise suppression. The room was fine, but their ability to respond to an unusual situation was non-existent.

Room Tip: Get three rooms and stay in the center one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior_Inn_Mgmt, Owner at BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Please accept our apologies that this stay was not more pleasant. We're glad that at check-out you shared your concerns so we could compensate you for your troubles & further investigate the issues. We discovered the phone Night Function was malfunctioning & immediately switched to an alternate working system until repairs were accomplished by our phone vendor. We want you to be assured we have staff 24 hours a day. Again, we appreciate your feedback so we could take steps to ensure your & other guests' next stays are more positive . We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Grand Marais so we can regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The only reason I rated the value lower than excellent, is because, like any one, I would like to get a 5 star hotel at a 1 star price. The room was excellent, the cleaning staff did an outstanding job.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Friendly staff, nice quiet room with balcony right on Lake Superior, great view. microwave and small fridge, comfortable bed, but the amazing part was the bathroom -- elegant shower with lovely tile, adjustable showerheads, raised toilet more comfortable than most low motel toilets. 2 free computers guests can use in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.