We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay, it has become our place to stay on our yearly trip up north. We love it! Beautiful view, I strongly recommend getting a room with a balcony.

This year there was a bit of a mix up regarding our room. Hotel management fixed the issue right away, and even gave us a discount, great service, good breakfast, unbeatable views.

This place is a must!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    104
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
122
225
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MI
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a king room with a sofa. Our view was pretty and the black-out curtains sure did their job in the morning when the sun came right at us.
The shower was nice with two heads, and a small bench was in the corner to shave your legs, though it was a bit high....must have been designed by a man!
When we turned off the lights, we were amazed by all the electronic lights. The tv had a small red light and a large blue one, that was annoying. There was a light on the smoke detector, the clock on the microwave was lit up, the light switches on the wall were orange and there was a night-light in the bathroom. Then, the closet doors were mirrors, so all of the little lights were reflected and it seemed like there were even more!
The breakfast room was very small. Too many people for such a small area. We had to take our food back to the room, Nothing special with the food, typical.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Starting point for trip around Lake Superior. We were in Room 203. Room was clean, but a little bit worn. View was fantastic. Small breakfast area, but hot breakfast (Scrambled eggs/Sausage ) was good. The main issue I had was the number of dogs at this hotel. Not a big fan of Pets Allowed hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior_Inn_Mgmt, Owner at BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We ‘re glad you found your Traditional Room clean & that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast. If/when the breakfast room is busy & seating is limited, some guests love to use a provided breakfast tray to eat breakfast on their private balcony or on a park bench on our cobblestone beach. Just half of the hotel’s rooms are designated “pet friendly.” All Grand Rooms, Superior Luxury Suites & award winning Renewal Steam Suites are “pet free”, and are our most recently remodeled. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back, so you can choose & pet free area of the hotel to help make your next stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here three nights on a hiking trip and I am glad we chose this hotel. The location is great, as you can walk to the shops and restaurants. The room is very nice sized, with two comfy chairs and good lights. There is also a balcony. I like that the bathroom sink is out from the rest of the bath, so it is handy for two guests. The shower is great, as it a a large glassed in shower with a double shower head. It is in the room with the toilet, so it is a tight fit, as the shower upgrade is big for the room. It may have been better for the shower door to open into the shower, not out. Finally, there is a really good breakfast with eggs, ham / sausage, a pankcake machine (just push the button), oatmeal and other goodies. My recommendation is that you ask for the top floor, as it can be a bit "boomy" when people are walking in the hall. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent the last week-end of September in the Grand Marais area to view the changing of the leaves. The Best Western was a perfect home base for us. Quick and easy check in. We reserved a suite room that included a fireplace, hot tub and steam shower. Great amenities, but by far the best feature of the room was the lake side patio. We kept the door open during the evening and were relaxed by the sound of the waves coming into shore. Most importantly for me regarding the room ... CLEAN AND A FANTASTIC BED!!! We found out that this property is owned by the same couple who operate The Lodge in Detroit Lakes, another favorite of ours.

A must see is the Devil's Kettle that is north of Grand Marais. Across the road from the park is a wonderful lodge to have a "Hiker's Lunch". Food was wonderful during the week-end. While the Best Western provides donuts from the Worlds Best Donut shop, it is well worth your time to go down to the shop yourself and get them fresh and hot. Great pizza at Sven & Ole's. My Sister's Place is nice for lunch and for supper the Crooked Spoon.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a Corner Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Very clean, spacious rooms, great views. Would stay again. Only complaint is that not every one likes or wants the breakfast included in the room price. Really nice location, not in the center of town but can easily walk to all the location restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel and were impressed by the gorgeous views of Lake Superior, The rooms are recently updated and they are comfy and beautifully decorated. The showers are fully tiled very tastefully and the shower was great with different settings. We left the window open all night and could hear the waves pound against the shore. It was a great few days!

Room Tip: I would get a suite if you have the $$$ - they look amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.