We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind of an overpriced dump” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Save
You added Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel to your Saves list
207 Wisconsin St., Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Wayne, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“kind of an overpriced dump”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We checked in (cost about $170 for a weekday) and immediately realized this place wasn`t as great as their webpage indicated. When we arrived we had to wait for the cook in the kitchen to check us in. On the way to our room we had to pass through a dark concrete rear passage which was dungeon like. We immediately went back down to the check-in desk to tell the cook that we didn`t desire to stay there. The cook said there was nothing he could do as we were stuck with our reservation. I asked to talk to the manager and he indicated that he was not available. I asked if he could contact his manager via cell phone and he said no. The first thing we noticed was that the room smelled funny. The heat registers located at the base of the wall were missing the protective guards exposing sharp metal, which was of great concern since we have a toddler. One of the lamp shades was broken and there was a weird hole in the shower wall which was covered by a small piece of plywood. When I asked where the ice machine was, I was pointed in the direction of a dorm size fridge where the ice was supposed to be....it was empty! Oh, and this place in not located on the shore as their webpage indicates. It's located on a busy street and the street is located next to the shore. The web photos make it look like it`s on the water. What was most precious about our stay was when my son and I were in the parking lot behind the motel and the cook (I think the one that checked us in) locked some of his co-workers in the exterior walk in freezer. I guess between cooking and checking guests in he has time to goof off.... maybe he should have made some ice!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WARRENS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor Inn the end of July. The view from our front door was amazing! You could not get any closer to the harbor. The room was showing a little age, but it was clean and comfortable. I would stay there again, just for the location and view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We pulled into Grand Marais looking for something sweet to eat. Had planned on just ordering Pie. We all realized we were a bit hungry after a long drive from the cities. Still had another 32 miles to go to get to the cabin. But all ordered dinner, and took the Pie to go. The Walleye was wonderful. The service was great, and best of all was The Banana Cream PIe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

When we checked in, we were happy with the location, although parking can be a challenge. Our room wasn't clean, and we had to ask them to clean out the fridge. Little things, like BOTH lights in the room had bulbs in them, but neither turned on. No outlets! Had to move a dresser to charge the phones. The hallways are cement and prison like. BUT - put this all aside, and enjoy the Harbor Views, and walk to almost everything. The food in the restaurant was good, and half price while staying. If you don't mind the outdoor music playing a block away, you will love this place.

Room Tip: I might insist on a Harbor View room (as opposed to the Town View).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the minute we called to make our reservation, we knew this place would be perfect! The hospitality, the food and the service were amazing. Our view of the harbor was excellent, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay! Highly recommended and within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Harbor Inn is very basic----no frills but very comfortable. Free parking in the rear but you can walk to almost everything in town. Directly across the street from the harbor and city park. Great restaurant on the first floor. If you have a second floor room, you will get a workout using the stairs! If you don't need all the extras such as swimming pool, exercise room, etc., you will get along fine here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Harbor Inn provides good discounts for off peak travelers and we took advantage on a weekend in April. On the harbor and in town makes this Inn convenient to the action and the water. Room was clean and comfortable. Service with a smile. Breakfast the next day in attached cafe was excellent.

Jeromy and family make this a comfortable place to stay. Nothing fancy but a quality operation. We will be back as we travel through the area.

Room Tip: Enjoy the convenience of draft beer and music across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel

Address: 207 Wisconsin St., Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.