We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassable food quality!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked Spoon Cafe

Crooked Spoon Cafe
17 W Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
218-387-2779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unsurpassable food quality!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Seriously the BEST food I have ever eaten! Quaint litte restaurant with gourmet quality entrees. This is a must stop for anyone passing through or by.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    48
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taste bud euphoria never before experienced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is quaint, the atmosphere exudes local appeal. Service was personal, friendly, fast (relative), and helpful! We went at lunch and the menu wax perfect for the punt of choices, and the price was more than reasonable for the amount of food. The food itself is an experience you won't want to miss! If you have to wait in line (as in summer months), it is worth your wait!! Don't miss any opportunity to experience The Crooked Spoon!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
1 review
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We traveled for 6.5 hrs and did not have time to change prior to dinner. It did not matter if we were dressed up or down. It was my man's birthday and we had 2 of our adult children with us at the start of a skiing weekend. I had the roasted Alpaca (which I was a little leery of since all I know about them is the fuzzy commercials to adopt one) it was amazing, very moist and tender, served with mashed potatoes and beautiful brussel sprouts. He had the double cut pork chop and it was HUGE and cooked perfectly. The kids had the chicken and couldn't have been more pleased. For dessert we shared the carrot cake. I must say the entire experience was like food porn :) We LOVED everything and plan to return the next time we go skiing. Very friendly people, and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crooked Spoon Cafe is not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Crooked Spoon Cafe is not to be missed when visiting Grand Marais, MN. The food is excellent and they serve everything from hamburger to tofu, which pleases everyone. They have special meals on holidays and for special events. Friendly, nice, cozy, plain to fancy food in a small town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inconsistent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I dined here a few years ago and thought it was reasonably tasty. Coupled with my previous experience and the reviews here, I tried it again and was disappointed. The restaurant was full for lunch, so perhaps the chef in the back had trouble keeping up. We ordered a squash latke as an appetizer and after 30 mins of waiting, our server informed us that the chef was having trouble preparing it. Once it arrived, it was slightly burnt, which really wasn't the downside - the latke was drenched in a curry sauce and the flavors didn't go well together. I ordered the restaurant's version of a BLT, which consisted of rye bread, bacon, lettuce, tomato, balsamic and curry sauce. In my opinion, the combination of the tomato, sweet balsamic, and rich curry sauce was overly complex and did not go well together. The restaurant seemed to try to do too much, when the sandwich would have been better with simple, quality ingredients paired well. I would venture over to the Angry Trout or even the fish market before trying this restaurant a third time. One thing to note, however, was that the service was very pleasant (and the latke was removed from our bill without our request).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crooked Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked Spoon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.