We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked Spoon Cafe

Crooked Spoon Cafe
17 W Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
218-387-2779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My daughter and I, dedicated foodies spent weekend in Grand Marais at a crafting workshop in Grand Marais at the North House folk school. beyond our excellent workshop our dinner at the crooked spoon exceeded all expectations. both being Lamb enthusiasts we had the lamb shank. Quality of the meet and preparation were outstanding. Crab cakes, wine poached pear salad were excellent also. desert was a unique interpretation of bananas foster with a carmel brittle instead of sauce, leaving the bananas with their natural firm out of the peel texture. Our service was excellent. Cannot wait until they reopen after their winter break.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    50
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very nice restaurant. The American-inspired dishes are very well-prepared, not really exotic (except for the delicious Kangaroo) but excellent in quality and the portions are generous. The small space is indeed small but cozy and makes for a nice evening. We waited at the bar for about an hour enjoying appetizers and the good selection of wine and beer and we enjoyed the wait as much as we enjoyed our dinner when we were finally seated. What made this experience stand out was the truly excellent and professional service of the entire staff. It is not often I see an entire restaurant work so tirelessly in what must be a very consistently busy and tight space. Despite the nonstop flow of guests, staff members were truly gracious and attentive from start to finish. Pretty remarkable anywhere, let alone in a tourist town with a captive audience. Highly recommended for an adult night out with friends or a loved one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best Eating in Grand Marais, MN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place is great. The food is well-prepared and creatively presented. [Note: our meals were more salty that we prefer.] The service is excellent. We will be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First experience was not a good one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

After taking a local's recommendation on the best restaurant in Grand Marais, we stopped at the Crooked Spoon. Once a server spotted us standing by the crowded front door area (a very small space to stand and wait), we were told it would be about 30 minutes. We had the option to leave and come back or stay. Two stools opened up at a counter in the back, so we took a seat there which was noted by the server. We sat there for 10-15 minutes and no one (not anyone!) offered to get us something to drink while we waited. No one was tending to people seated at the counter except two gals next to us were served an appetizer. We were told by their server that only appetizers and a drink could be ordered at the counter. Since no one paid any attention to us whatsoever, even after speaking to two servers since we had arrived, we decided to go elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge Portions of Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our party had the pastrami sandwich, the BLT, a burger and a salad. Everyone was very pleased and we took home leftovers. I liked the rosemary popcorn as an alternative to chips or fries with the sandwiches. We got there about 20 minutes to noon and this small restaurant quickly filled up behind us on a Friday afternoon and there were people waiting for a table when we left. Get there early to ensure you get a table!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crooked Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked Spoon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.