We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ice Fishing Base Camp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds
Save
You added Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds to your Saves list
217 South Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Ice Fishing Base Camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Me and a buddy went up to fish Gunflint Lake on our search for lake trout and stayed in one of the 2 bedroom A frames.

Were they the Hyatt? Nope. Did I expect them to be? Nope.

For those that I have never traveled to this end of the earth, YOU ARE GOING TO THE END OF THE EARTH! :-) Your cell phone WILL NOT work after you are about 10 miles out of Grand Marais , there is almost no stores down the whole trail, etc. This is rustic backwoods country with a few modern conveniences.

** PRO TIP ** If you're not prepared with your food / alcohol you will learn quickly about the laws of supply and demand so either bring what you need or bring extra cash. ($4 box of Kraft Macaroni anyone?)

All that said, the Gunflint Trail is a beautiful drive and the location of the resort is on the best lake on the Gunflint Trail. The cabin itself is well cabiny but well kept - by cabiny I mean that it has basic indoor out door carpet (come on why would they want nice stuff with families full of kids and dogs going to drag all the outdoors in) and basic (nice) interiors. The beds were amazingly good and we felt well rested. There was a nice gas fire place in the cabin and most things you could need to cook meals in the kitchen. There is a tv but there is no tv service so bring dvd's if you are into that. Overall we had no complaints at all about the accommodations but if your a city slicker just understand that these are not five star accommodations but they sure beat a tent any day :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellendale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

last summer, we were looking to get up north. I had grown up in the boundary waters, but my husband and three kids (4,6, and 7) had never been to Northern MN. We were on somewhat of a budget, as it was a very last minute decision to take a weekend trip. This was one of the cheapest resorts to stay at that offered us what we wanted- close to the boundary waters, in the middle of the forrest, quiet, not luxerious- where we had to somewhat 'rough it', and lake access and hiking. So we chose gunflint pines resort. our first trip (in june) we stayed only 2 nights in a camper cabin- that flew by so fast, we had such a great time!! we were never bored and Bob gave us tips on where the fish were biting at and what hiking trails would be good for us as a family. We ended up walking a ways down the road just to see what else was on the long gravel road and we ran into another walker- a resident- and she was very polite. all the people in the area were nice, the owners were nice, and we felt very refreshed after we left. We couldnt wait to go back. So 6 weeks later in august, we came back with my husbands grandparents and our niece and nephew also. every one had a great time. we stayed in an A-frame (to accomodate more for the grandparents) for 5 nights and it was great, except my 7 yr old ran out to the truck and couldnt figure out which cabin we were in (they all look the same) and he ended up in someone else's a-frame! unfortunately, our trip got cut short when Bob and Shari's son knocked on our door to let me know I had a phone call- my husbands brother was in a car accident. We had no cell service so the rest of the family couldnt get a hold of us via our phones, so they called the lodge late at night- far after closing- and the Bakers answered and relayed us the message and opened up the lodge so we could use the phone. We seriously appreciated that. We plan on coming back a time or two every summer every year- would Love to take a winter snowmobiling trip sometime. it's very clean, very friendly, very free, very relaxing, great views/sites to see, wildlife, serene, and you have the ability to make the trip as hard or as accomdated as you like. the only thing we didnt like, was that there were no prices on the items at the store- being on a budget the first time, we felt awkward asking what the price of everything was. knew to bring out own food the next time. being 50 miles into the forrest, it makes sense that things would be a little higher priced. pay an extra $2, or drive 50 miles back to town... logical. and the playground is more for toddlers, not for ages 4+ really, but who needs a playground when you have the forrest. would recommend this little piece of Heaven to Anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Gunflint Pines campground on the Gunflint Trail. Upon arrival, we thought……… what have we gotten into?
The accessibility to the camp sites is awful at best. We were glad we were not on the lakeside sites. They are all but on the road. It was hard to believe they are the most desirable. The site we did get was terrible at best to back into. If you have a rig longer than 20 feet you will be disappointed. The dump station is probably in the only location it could be in, but terribly inconvenient for those behind you wanting to leave the grounds. The only reason we stayed, was that we would not get a refund. After our time paid for was up, we moved on to a much nicer place.
Dealing with the hired staff, was a pleasure. The owners however were not friendly or courteous.
There are better places to camp on the Gunflint Trail. We will not return to this campground.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We are a family of 5 - kids 13, 10 and 7. We camp every summer with a new destination and goal to see as many National Prks and Monuments as possible with our kids. We had a shorter time to travel this summer and decided to stay in MN.

This is a great private campground along the Gunflint Trail. We stopped and looked at many others during our trip and this campground is the best in our opinion. Unless you are willing to really ruff it and go without showers. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because if you do not get a lake shore campsite the sites are pretty small and not secluded from your neighbors at all. We had one of the nicer one of these(c-14) our first 5 nights then we moved to a lake site. We liked our first site just fine, but if we would have been camping in a tent instead of a pop-up it would have taken up all of the site besides the fire pit!

That being said the lake shore sites are quite large. My kids would say they are "awesome". Some even have 2 fire pits and for sure one right down next to the water! Beautiful at night!! The resort is on Gunflint Lake which is quite large. You may get some very windy days camping on the lake. Our first couple of days were very windy during the day. To the point that we found other things away from our site to do, but it always seemed to die down enough at night for us to have a fire.

We did not stay in or look inside any of the cabins.

The lodge has games, coffee and drinks, ice-cream, pizza and such. Plus they have a small store for groceries, ice and water.

Bathhouse is clean and showers are hot! Trash is taken out every evening to help with local animal control. You are in bear country and they may visit if you keep food containers/coolers out!

Shari and Bob are great! The helped us with any questions we had about the area and to plan our excursions - swimming, canoeing, hiking and stuff. Bob took the boys fishing one evening and they had a blast. They have never caught that big of fish before! Bob even cleaned them for us. All we had to do is fry them up over the fire! YUM!

If we ever decide to go back to the same place twice, we would definitely camp here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My 13 year old daughter, myself and our 157 lb Newfie just got back from a wonderful 'camping' trip at the Gun Flint Pines Resort and Campground. It was amazing how quiet it was a night and even during the day. We stayed in Camping Cabin #11. The Camping Cabins have two full size and two twin sets of bunk beds, electric and storage space. It was secluded and we felt like we were out in the middle of the woods. The camping sites are not on top of each other so you feel like you have privacy. I did admire the lake front tent sites, they are wonderful. The Bakers hospitality made us feel welcome. One evening there was a dangerous storm moving the way of the campground and the staff came around twice to keep us updated on the progress of the storm. Lucky for everyone there, it went around us. Gunflint Pines Resort is like a little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: Camping Cabin 11 is secluded and quiet. It is also a ways from the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I just stayed at Gunflint Pines in August 2012, I've stayed here in the past however its been about 12 years. I have to say Gunflint Pines is absolutely perfect. Bob and Shari are personable and very helpful. Very laid back and not over the top like some higher priced resorts on the Gunflint Trail. The cabins, cottages and Aframes are clean and the beds are comfortable! This is a perfect choice if you are looking for a northern Minnesota getaway on the edge of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness this is it and it will not break you. Remember your coming to have a true northern Minnesota experience not a "club med" experience. You'll find everything you need at Gunflint Pines and be glad you did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. We had campsite #2 and it had plenty of room for our vehicle and camper on the top level, a second level with a picinc table that we threw a screen tent over and a third level that had a picnic table, fire pit, 2-seater chairs and a prep table. Its right on the lake and has beautiful views of the sunset. The staff was very friendly. Lee and his sidekick Rick were very helpful. The shower facilities are average but adequate. The lake is great for fishing and swimming. We enjoyed our stay and hope to be able to come back for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

Address: 217 South Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma & Pa resort & campground 43 miles up the Gunflint Trail National scenic Byway. Year round cabins, summer camping, family and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunflint Pines Hotel Campgrounds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.