We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lake Camping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds
217 South Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Lake Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We are a family of 5 - kids 13, 10 and 7. We camp every summer with a new destination and goal to see as many National Prks and Monuments as possible with our kids. We had a shorter time to travel this summer and decided to stay in MN.

This is a great private campground along the Gunflint Trail. We stopped and looked at many others during our trip and this campground is the best in our opinion. Unless you are willing to really ruff it and go without showers. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because if you do not get a lake shore campsite the sites are pretty small and not secluded from your neighbors at all. We had one of the nicer one of these(c-14) our first 5 nights then we moved to a lake site. We liked our first site just fine, but if we would have been camping in a tent instead of a pop-up it would have taken up all of the site besides the fire pit!

That being said the lake shore sites are quite large. My kids would say they are "awesome". Some even have 2 fire pits and for sure one right down next to the water! Beautiful at night!! The resort is on Gunflint Lake which is quite large. You may get some very windy days camping on the lake. Our first couple of days were very windy during the day. To the point that we found other things away from our site to do, but it always seemed to die down enough at night for us to have a fire.

We did not stay in or look inside any of the cabins.

The lodge has games, coffee and drinks, ice-cream, pizza and such. Plus they have a small store for groceries, ice and water.

Bathhouse is clean and showers are hot! Trash is taken out every evening to help with local animal control. You are in bear country and they may visit if you keep food containers/coolers out!

Shari and Bob are great! The helped us with any questions we had about the area and to plan our excursions - swimming, canoeing, hiking and stuff. Bob took the boys fishing one evening and they had a blast. They have never caught that big of fish before! Bob even cleaned them for us. All we had to do is fry them up over the fire! YUM!

If we ever decide to go back to the same place twice, we would definitely camp here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My 13 year old daughter, myself and our 157 lb Newfie just got back from a wonderful 'camping' trip at the Gun Flint Pines Resort and Campground. It was amazing how quiet it was a night and even during the day. We stayed in Camping Cabin #11. The Camping Cabins have two full size and two twin sets of bunk beds, electric and storage space. It was secluded and we felt like we were out in the middle of the woods. The camping sites are not on top of each other so you feel like you have privacy. I did admire the lake front tent sites, they are wonderful. The Bakers hospitality made us feel welcome. One evening there was a dangerous storm moving the way of the campground and the staff came around twice to keep us updated on the progress of the storm. Lucky for everyone there, it went around us. Gunflint Pines Resort is like a little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: Camping Cabin 11 is secluded and quiet. It is also a ways from the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I just stayed at Gunflint Pines in August 2012, I've stayed here in the past however its been about 12 years. I have to say Gunflint Pines is absolutely perfect. Bob and Shari are personable and very helpful. Very laid back and not over the top like some higher priced resorts on the Gunflint Trail. The cabins, cottages and Aframes are clean and the beds are comfortable! This is a perfect choice if you are looking for a northern Minnesota getaway on the edge of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness this is it and it will not break you. Remember your coming to have a true northern Minnesota experience not a "club med" experience. You'll find everything you need at Gunflint Pines and be glad you did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. We had campsite #2 and it had plenty of room for our vehicle and camper on the top level, a second level with a picinc table that we threw a screen tent over and a third level that had a picnic table, fire pit, 2-seater chairs and a prep table. Its right on the lake and has beautiful views of the sunset. The staff was very friendly. Lee and his sidekick Rick were very helpful. The shower facilities are average but adequate. The lake is great for fishing and swimming. We enjoyed our stay and hope to be able to come back for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a great place to get away from it all. The Bakers are wonderful and make you feel very welcome. They welcome dogs but, if you do not bring one they have a couple of cuties that will be glad to entertain you! The cabins are clean and comfortable. The lake view is wonderful and peaceful. We have been going for several years now and just love it1

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our two-family group spent our annual post-Christmas ski holiday at Gunflint Pines again this year. As always, the Bakers made certain that our stay was pleasurable. The cabins were clean, pre-heated, and had wood stacked by the stove. And this year, Mother-Nature was on our side as well. In early January, no place else in the state had snow so we were prepared for hiking, but the trails and trees on the northern Gunflint Trail were snow-covered and the skiing was some of the best we've had. It felt like winter is suposed to be! Bob and his co-groomers do a great job making the best of available snow, and the grooming is consistently excellent.

Our families return to Gunflint Pines year after year because we think it's the friendliest, most comfortable, and most reasonably priced resort on Gunflint Lake. And they're dog-friendly, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eden prairie, Minnesota, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We wanted a simple, clean, comfortable escape from our crazy lives for a few days, where we could bring the dogs ( 2 labs) and not worry about them bothering anyone....We had three girls ( 11, 14,16) with us and then enjoyed being off unplugged for a while...no internet ( actually you can check your email in the main lodge) , no TV, no cell service. Yet we had a full kitchen, bath and heat- best of both worlds. The Bakers were very helpful in suggesting appropriate hikes that left us tired and sleepy at the end of the day. They supply free firewood and we had a firo each night, used the canoes to explore Gunflint Lake, and we also went horseback riding.

If you are looking for luxury you will be disappointed. But if you have been there and done 'that', you might enjoy this type of trip. We enjoyed it enough that we will be backnext year

Room Tip: We were in a 'cottage' which accomodated our group of five, but next year we will get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

Address: 217 South Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Also Known As:
Gunflint Pines Hotel Campgrounds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds to your Saves list