We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northwoods Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds
Save Saved
You added Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds to your Saves list
217 South Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Northwoods Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. We had campsite #2 and it had plenty of room for our vehicle and camper on the top level, a second level with a picinc table that we threw a screen tent over and a third level that had a picnic table, fire pit, 2-seater chairs and a prep table. Its right on the lake and has beautiful views of the sunset. The staff was very friendly. Lee and his sidekick Rick were very helpful. The shower facilities are average but adequate. The lake is great for fishing and swimming. We enjoyed our stay and hope to be able to come back for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a great place to get away from it all. The Bakers are wonderful and make you feel very welcome. They welcome dogs but, if you do not bring one they have a couple of cuties that will be glad to entertain you! The cabins are clean and comfortable. The lake view is wonderful and peaceful. We have been going for several years now and just love it1

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our two-family group spent our annual post-Christmas ski holiday at Gunflint Pines again this year. As always, the Bakers made certain that our stay was pleasurable. The cabins were clean, pre-heated, and had wood stacked by the stove. And this year, Mother-Nature was on our side as well. In early January, no place else in the state had snow so we were prepared for hiking, but the trails and trees on the northern Gunflint Trail were snow-covered and the skiing was some of the best we've had. It felt like winter is suposed to be! Bob and his co-groomers do a great job making the best of available snow, and the grooming is consistently excellent.

Our families return to Gunflint Pines year after year because we think it's the friendliest, most comfortable, and most reasonably priced resort on Gunflint Lake. And they're dog-friendly, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eden prairie, Minnesota, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We wanted a simple, clean, comfortable escape from our crazy lives for a few days, where we could bring the dogs ( 2 labs) and not worry about them bothering anyone....We had three girls ( 11, 14,16) with us and then enjoyed being off unplugged for a while...no internet ( actually you can check your email in the main lodge) , no TV, no cell service. Yet we had a full kitchen, bath and heat- best of both worlds. The Bakers were very helpful in suggesting appropriate hikes that left us tired and sleepy at the end of the day. They supply free firewood and we had a firo each night, used the canoes to explore Gunflint Lake, and we also went horseback riding.

If you are looking for luxury you will be disappointed. But if you have been there and done 'that', you might enjoy this type of trip. We enjoyed it enough that we will be backnext year

Room Tip: We were in a 'cottage' which accomodated our group of five, but next year we will get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Absolutely fantastic campsites. Each campsite has both an RV area and a tent area with the tent area being right on the lake. We stayed in campsite 5 and it was fanstastic. Two fire rings, 3 picnic tables, a wooden couple chairs with built-in table. We were able to find a flat place for our 9x12 tent. We were separated from our two neighbors and had plenty of privacy. We were across the road from the shower house.

The campground owners, Bob and Shari Baker, were very helpful (they lent us an electrical cord) and also let us carry a balance in the (well-stocked) camp store.

We couldn't ask for a better experience and we fully intend to return

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

We had a wonderful time with friends and family and thoroughly enjoyed the Bakers hospitality and Bob's fishing guide skills...our most productive guided fishing trip ever!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great resort and campground in the Boundary Waters area. The Bakers really go out of their way to make sure that you're comfortable and get that true Boundary Waters experience. We went with 2 couples and 5 kids between the ages of 3 mos and 14 years and there is something to do for everyone! There is a beach area with docks (a bit rocky so bring your water shoes), pontoon/boat rental, hiking trails right off the resort, and you can charter a fishing trip to nearby lakes. The guys went fishing and caught their limit of lake trout and tons of smallmouth when they went out with Bob. It's a 45 minute drive from Grand Marais on the Gunflint Trail, a scenic byway of MN. We saw foxes playing right near the road on our drive and tons of wildlife including moose. They have wireless internet available for a small fee or a computer you can use for free in the lodge - no cell phone service up there - which was great! The lodge also has a great snack and ice cream bar, basic groceries, and a cute little gift shop area. Highly recommend Gunflint Pines if you want to experience this area. P.S. the hike up to High Cliffs is worth every step (it's rocky and steep so wear good shoes and pack light) - amazing views! We had an eagle take off and fly down to the forest right over the top of our heads. We are looking at the calendar to see when we can book our next trip. They have a Facebook Page too: https://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Gunflint-Pines-Resort/62936898261.

Room Tip: We stayed in A4 and A1 which had been recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

Address: 217 South Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Also Known As:
Gunflint Pines Hotel Campgrounds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.