We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Lodge
310 E Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great stay, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful experience at the Aspen Lodge. We showed up without a reservation after our motorcycle broke down and needed a place to stay. Joan at the front desk was so nice and very accommodating, She and Mark treated us great, allowing us to check in early and even upgraded our room to help turn our bad day around. The room was very nice and everything was clean. We will definitely be back. And have already recommended the hotel to our friends. Thanks Joan and Mark for making a bad situation better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at Aspen Lodge each June on our way back from Isle Royale in Lake Superior. We had our reservation booked in advance. We couldn't cross the lake because of the weather until late afternoon. With no cell phone reception I couldn't call the lodge to say we'd be late. Their front desk closes at 10. We got there at 11 pm only to find an envelope with a welcome and our name and our room keys inside for our 3 rooms. The thoughtfulness of it and personal care blew me away. When I thanked them in the morning she said she knew our cell phones didn't have reception before Grand Marais and she made provision for us. Our experience has always been excellent customer service here but this was above and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to stay at Aspen Lodge during our trip to Grand Marais so we booked a room multiple days advanced. Since we were traveling with a pet we wanted to make sure they offer rooms that allow pets and over the phone we were told they do. We were also informed about their pet fees and policies.

When we arrived to Aspen Lodge 4pm he day of our reservation the first thing we were told was that they don't know if our room was ready. Next we were informed that pets are not allowed, either. We asked how can this be possible since we called in advance and asked and were informed about their pet fees and all. The woman at the front desk was very defensive and unbelievably rude. She wouldn't let my husband ask questions even when he asked her to listen. She refused to try to figure out who had taken our reservation and simply kept repeating that they don't allow pets.

Based on the quality of her service I would say that staying there would've proved to be unpleasant. We, obviously, didn't end up staying in this place.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We found our late springtime stay at the Aspen Lodge to be excellent. We needed a clean comfortable place to stay in/around Grand Marais and got all of that plus great late-spring rates at Aspen Lodge. The staff was outstanding and we were treated like family. As nice as any medium priced lodging we have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walworth, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of the location and having kids a pool with the breakfast....my kids and I ended up going out to eat most of the time because cheap cereal and bread wouldn't keep the kids hunger at bay. Pool was really cold we asked several times if heat could be adjusted, asking for new linens seemed like a bother. Overall, we paid a lot of money to stay here and it was not worth it. We come up every year for vacation and stayed here twice giving this place a second chance this year. Next year we will try staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here after I was able to be transferred from the Aspen Inn thinking that with the price this would be a great hotel I was wrong. The hotel is stuck in the 70s and there are no good views of the lake. The only decent thing about the hotel is the location. Stay at the Best Western for the same price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here as part of a 3 night/3 day ski package at nearby Lutsen Mountains. City of Grand Marais/hotel are about 25 minutes from ski area, but value and amenities were well worth the extra drive. Indoor pool, whirpool and sauna were wonderful after a full day's skiing in sub-zero temps. Room was very comfortable size for an adult and three teens and included a mini-fridge, good selection of cable channels, and free wi-fi (a must for teens and all of their electronics). Continental breakfast in the lobby with a fireplace and view overlooking Lake Superior was a great way to start each day even if the offerings were somewhat limited. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in another hotel on last year's trip that was much closer to the ski area, which was also nice and of similar quality but is only slightly less expensive and does not have a pool, etc. Also, being in Grand Marais, the Aspen Lodge was much closer to several excellent dining options (no restaurant on-site, though) compared to hotels that are located closer to Lutsen. BTW, do no confuse this hotel with the Aspen INN, which is owned by the same company but has more of a motel-type setup. The Aspen LODGE is the way to go!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge

Address: 310 E Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge, located on the east edge of Grand Marais, is an in-town lodge and your ideal, four-season, vacation getaway. Nestled in a park-like setting, with views of Artists' Point, East Bay and the Coast Guard Station, Aspen Lodge is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and entertainment.The beautiful swimming pool, giant whirlpool spa, sauna and sundeck are a favorite for end-of-day relaxing. For different family needs, Aspen Lodge offers a variety of room-types, many with lake or wooded views, especially colorful in the fall. These include king or double-queen rooms, family suites, in-room spas and some handicap accessible rooms.After a long day exploring, relax in the fireside lobby for cards, games and reading. For meetings, workshops or family reunions, a hospitality room for 10-25 is available. -Pool, giant whirlpool spa & sauna -Breathtaking Lake Superior & Artists' Point views -Free WIFI and Continental Breakfast -In-room refrigerators and Free guest laundry -Free local calls, voice mail, and message service -Air-conditioned, Smoke-free building -Walk to shops and restaurants -Meeting room for 10-25 -Closest to North Shore State Snowmobile Trail -Boat & trailer parking with winter plug-ins ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aspen Lodge to your Saves list