We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Lodge
310 E Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Chisago City, MN
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The lobby was very nice, but our room was a huge disappointment. The phone was filthy; the drapes looked like they were thrown into the wash machine and hung up without ironing. They were all wrinkled and looked just horrible. There was mold on the drapery linings and what looked like big black paint stains. I wiped the tables off because they felt sticky.

We had a room with 2 queen-size beds.The beds were as hard as a rock, and there wasn't much to the pillows. The pillows and bedding need to be replaced. The bedding is old and worn, and bedspreads were both stained and dirty; the blanket on 1 bed had 2 holes in it, and the other blanket was stained. The manager came in to take a look and would only give us fresh sheets; he wouldn't give us a fresh bedspread and blanket. The walls were scuffed up and in need of paint, and the hallway carpet was just filthy. I say this in all seriousness: Our garage floor is cleaner than the carpeting in the hallway. The fan in the bathroom was very noisy; needs to be fixed or replaced. We had to run the shower for 20 minutes before we could get any hotwater.

There was a outdated 26-inch vintage 80's TV in the room that needs to be replaced. The picture on it was not very clear. There was no microwave or coffeepot in the room.

We didn't stay for breakfast and from the reviews I've read, we didn't miss anything. We would not stay here again if it was free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand M, Manager at Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We're so sorry you didn't receive the clean, comfortable lodging to which we are committed. Had management realized the extent of the room's problems, we would have moved you immediately. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and are working to correct the issues you listed. This is not the typical experience of the Aspen Lodge guest--some folks even tell us our beds are the most comfortable they've ever slept in. We provide coffee and a microwave in our lobby 24 hours a day.

We hope you'll give us a chance again in the future as we maintain our facility and improve our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

From what we had read online, we assumed it would be easy to walk to the downtown. Now, having said that...if you were a young couple it would have been. We have 2 kids and a stroller...there was not really an easy-safe route that we could have taken. However, it wasn't hard to drive and find a spot to park downtown.

The room was clean nothing spectacular...what you would expect at that price. No elevator....also difficult with 2 kids and all their stuff.

We did have a nice view of the lake from our room. The breakfast was nice...they gave a free donut from "The Worlds Best Donut".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I made the mistake of going up north of duluth without a reservation but managed to find this place on my phone. They had two rooms left and she gave me a room with a king bed and a spa at a slight discount which I appreciated. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The spa tub is in the main room....so it was like a honeymoon suite kind of thing. It was quiet and I had no problems with the stuff I had in my vehicle. Compare the room to your standard mid grade hotels. Overall a good experience and worth stopping again. They have a continental breakfast as well. The pool also looked ok but I did not get too close.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

we just visited Grand Marais on July26-30, did not realize the dragon festival was taking place. This was the only vacancy we could find in town. The room was good size, shower was good, breakfast was not much to talk about. The biggest problem was the beds it was hard like a rock, might as well have slept on a rock. This does not help to have fun when you can have a good nite sleep. Also we watched the opening ceremonies of the oylmpics, the TV service was horrible and TV reminds of the TV I had in my dorm room in college totally out dated. For the price of $149/nite one deserve a good nite sleep. Will not stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

On July 11th we visited Grand Marais, MN. We were riding motorcycles and needed a place to stay. We planned on staying at Best Western, however it had no vacancies. Other hotels in the area were booked as well. We ended up finding rooms at Aspen Lodge. We paid $149.00 per night for two queen beds as no king beds were available. AC was cool and room was clean. Bathroom was clean as well. However, for $149.00 a night I would expect it to be more updated other than the carpet. The staff were nice. We were able to wash anddry our clothes at this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here before as extended family. Staff was very accomodating. We had about 18 staying in several rooms.
The rooms are good sized, well apportioned (I did notice the covering was fraying on one of the chairs). The lodge is perfect for families with small children as the pool and lobby area allow the children to have a lot of fun. Our room had a wonderful view of Artists Point.
The breakfast had no fruit or protein, just cereal and rolls and doughnuts from the world's best doughnut shop. Coffee is on all day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St, Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Many of the hotels in Grand Marais can be pricey. Our family just stayed for a weekend visit that had an unexpected extension. Unfortunately, we ran into car troubles during our visit. Rose at the front desk was wonderful to work with to coordinate towing service and extend our holiday and reservation for an extra day. She was a true pleasure to work with. At check in Wendi was very friendly even offering great restaurant advice (unfortunately, her last day working was during our visit). The hotel has very helpful and friendly staff which are a huge asset.

The rooms are spacious, but on the basic side. They are very clean. My biggest complaint was the shower ... I am taller and unfortunately, my head felt quite close to the ceiling and the shower head barely sprayed over me at it's highest height. The beds were also a bit stiff. But, the rooms had a refridgerator, they have coffee available 24 hours / day and a pool in the hotel which the kids loved. The continental breakfast was okay. Our family ended up picking up some deli food from the IGA that was across the street and stopping for donuts in town (the hotel offers donuts, but they limit you to just one and direct you into town for more).

Our family has stayed on the beach before, but we were pleased with the great value of being just off the beach but still having a great view of the lake. Entering downtown is just one block walk away with the beach, shopping and other entertainment easily accessed .... with a broken car, we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge

Address: 310 E Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge, located on the east edge of Grand Marais, is an in-town lodge and your ideal, four-season, vacation getaway. Nestled in a park-like setting, with views of Artists' Point, East Bay and the Coast Guard Station, Aspen Lodge is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and entertainment.The beautiful swimming pool, giant whirlpool spa, sauna and sundeck are a favorite for end-of-day relaxing. For different family needs, Aspen Lodge offers a variety of room-types, many with lake or wooded views, especially colorful in the fall. These include king or double-queen rooms, family suites, in-room spas and some handicap accessible rooms.After a long day exploring, relax in the fireside lobby for cards, games and reading. For meetings, workshops or family reunions, a hospitality room for 10-25 is available. -Pool, giant whirlpool spa & sauna -Breathtaking Lake Superior & Artists' Point views -Free WIFI and Continental Breakfast -In-room refrigerators and Free guest laundry -Free local calls, voice mail, and message service -Air-conditioned, Smoke-free building -Walk to shops and restaurants -Meeting room for 10-25 -Closest to North Shore State Snowmobile Trail -Boat & trailer parking with winter plug-ins ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aspen Lodge to your Saves list