We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value; Lovely place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Aspen Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 E Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic value; Lovely place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived late to town and needed a place to stay. The attractive and inviting lobby drew us and the $49/ night sealed the deal. The staff is pleasant and helpful, the room is clean and basically appointed with necessities. There is a mini fridge available which is great for most travelers, and better at no extra charge. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. Nothing is fancy, but this was EXACTLY the place we were looking for and needed. This isn't a five-star in Minneapolis, but it doesn't claim to be that or need to be that.
And having the Big Lake right outside the window made for a great sunrise!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
33
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
International Falls, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My sister and I stayed here when visiting her son and family in Grand Marais. The room was very nice - 2 Queen size beds, fridge and all the other usuals. We had a nice view overlooking Lake Superior. The continental breakfast was very good. It was a nice, quiet place. The staff were very nice and made our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Recently stayed At Aspen Lodge while skiing at Lutsen Mountains. Very impressed from check in to check out. Hotel very clean. Pool area clean and everything worked. Room was spacious and lots of TV channels to watch. Breakfast was spartan (but free). All in all a great experience for the price. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Aspen after our reservations at another motel were not ready. We found it to be just fine --clean and pleasantly furnished. Our only complaint was a very noisy bathroom fan.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed there 8/3/11-8/5/11. Large spacious rooms. Bedding could be in a little newer shape. Otherwise everything was very, very good. Lake Superior far away? What? It's right out your back window. OMG some people would complain if it were raining diamonds. This was a great little hotel. Wendi was fabulous as was the other gal behind the desk. Great, Great Service. The ONLY negative was a young lady constantly filling the continental breakfast items whether they needed filling or not, in a very small area. Consequently she became very irritated that people were in her way trying to get breakfast (eye rolling, heavy sighing, etc Wow) Other than that it was marvelous!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had reservations at another hotel but they lost our reservation? On this very busy week
fisher mans picnic we had to try to find a room almost everything was full except very expensive rooms :( we stopped at Aspen Lodge and Wendi At the front desk was very helpful . She had a few rooms available and when she heard our plight she offered a 10 percent discount:) she gave me the key and told me to go look at the room. Nice clean room, great service. Thanks Wendi you helped save our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Let's see here; The room had a stale odor. The telephone did not work. The pillows were few and as hard as a rock. The TV was from the 80's. The in-room whirlpool was louder than my Harley, no wonder they put restrictions on using it after 10:00pm & before 7:00am. (That's right, you are forbidden to relax in your private spa after 10:00pm) The continental breakfast seemed decent but the only thing on my mind was getting the hell out of there. Nevermind the photos on their website, Lake Superior is quite a walk from there. Do yourself a favor, pocket the cash and sleep in your car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge

Address: 310 E Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspen Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge, located on the east edge of Grand Marais, is an in-town lodge and your ideal, four-season, vacation getaway. Nestled in a park-like setting, with views of Artists' Point, East Bay and the Coast Guard Station, Aspen Lodge is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and entertainment.The beautiful swimming pool, giant whirlpool spa, sauna and sundeck are a favorite for end-of-day relaxing. For different family needs, Aspen Lodge offers a variety of room-types, many with lake or wooded views, especially colorful in the fall. These include king or double-queen rooms, family suites, in-room spas and some handicap accessible rooms.After a long day exploring, relax in the fireside lobby for cards, games and reading. For meetings, workshops or family reunions, a hospitality room for 10-25 is available. -Pool, giant whirlpool spa & sauna -Breathtaking Lake Superior & Artists' Point views -Free WIFI and Continental Breakfast -In-room refrigerators and Free guest laundry -Free local calls, voice mail, and message service -Air-conditioned, Smoke-free building -Walk to shops and restaurants -Meeting room for 10-25 -Closest to North Shore State Snowmobile Trail -Boat & trailer parking with winter plug-ins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.