We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and lovely suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Suites to your Saves list
East Bay Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great view and lovely suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip to Grand Marais was made even better with our stay at this lovely hotel. We rented a 2 bedroom suite and we were very impressed. First impression is very clean and neat, spacious and all the amenities that you could wish for. If you were staying for more than one night other than groceries there is nothing that you would need. The suite's bathroom has beautiful Aveda products, and there is organic coffee packages both regular and decaf. The girl at the front desk was amazing and very helpful and when we needed some extra coffee she was more than obliging. We were able to access the beach through the front door and we had an amazing bonfire with the wood supplied by the hotel. This is a very nice place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind thoughts! Sounds like you had a wonderful night. We hope you get to stay with us longer for next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    39
    14
    10
    0
See reviews for
54
87
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We're not fancy vacationers; we just like some quiet, some variety and the ability to find things to amuse us. The East Bay is the perfect solution for us: our room has windows that let in the sounds and view of Lake Superior, and we're walking distance from just about anything in Grand Marais. We always stay in the same room because we like the ambience; everything works well, is well supplied and very comfortable. The staff is very responsive to any questions or needs and we love being treated like long-time, valued visitors. We also love the periodic emails from East Bay telling us what's going on in town and on the North Shore. Love it!

Room Tip: We like the 3rd floor because it's quiet. The elevator is fast, clean and roomy, so we don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
How exciting to have found the perfect getaway spot! We agree that our suites are perfectly appointed and our location is great for walking to local hot spots, while still enjoying a quiet retreat. We're truly thrilled that you're our guest and can't wait for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Right on the shoreline of Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais. Cute condo with bedroom, full kitchen, living room, fireplace, jacuzzi tub and patio looking right at Superior. Pet friendly and we were on the bottom level so could walk right out our patio doors with the dog. Very friendly staff who gave wonderful recommendations for area spots. Also recommended several in town massage therapists for in room treatments. Would definitely go back in the summer or fall. Lots of places were not open yet due to off season.

Room Tip: Lower units better for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We're so happy we have a suite that matched your needs! The suite you stayed in is truly one of a kind. Thank you for sharing how happy you were. We hope you enjoyed the quiet season and we look forward to see you in the summer or fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We loved the attention to detail this place offers. Organic coffee, Aveda products, great selection of books, S'mores and a bonfire if you want, even a Yoga mat in the closet. It was really nice to have pots and pans and everything else we needed to prepare meals. The bed was super comfortable, the view of Lake Superior was incredible, and it's in a perfect location so that you can walk to the Co-Op if you need to. I spent most of my time combing the shoreline for agates and beach glass. I would highly recommend East Bay Suites and would love to return!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review!! We're thrilled that the details matter to you so much. We'll be ready to welcome you back when you can return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

On two separate occasions, the suite we rented had a non-functioning fireplace. There is a sign clearly posted in the room stating that the fireplace is to be used for supplementing the in-floor heat (which can be slow). We notified the front desk on both visits and were provided with a space heater.

After our last visit (broken fireplace #2), I contacted the General Manager to express our concerns (the fireplace hadn't been fixed after a year). Her response was an excuse ("they are strictly there for ambiance and not intended for unit heat") and a suggestion that the fireplaces were strictly for show. When I responded, I received no follow up or reply.

We have lots of family and friends who often travel down to Grand Marais. Many of us have enjoyed staying at the East Bay in the past. We'll be staying elsewhere from now on.

Too bad - property management and customer service make all the difference in these types of accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2015
We appreciate that you’ve taken the time to contact management and to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We’re sorry we were unable to accommodate your request for a different room as it was Spring Break and we were full. As our General Manager explained, the fireplaces’ main function is for ambiance (as they give off little to no heat). We have updated the in room communication to avoid further confusion, thank you for pointing this out to us. Most guests do appreciate the comfort of our in floor heat, although with all in floor heat, it does take time to increase the temperature and we have space heaters on hand just for these occasions. We take our guests comfort and overall experience very seriously and will adjust our operations to further accommodate future guests because of your observations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

East Bay Suites is conveniently located in downtown Grand Marais on the lake shore and within easy walking distance of restaurants, galleries, and Artist’s Point.

Our reception was friendly and efficient. The establishment is pet-friendly (dirty paw cloths by the doors).

Our reservation (a one-bedroom suite) was clean and very comfortable. All suites have a view of Lake Superior. Their ad says the kitchens are fully furnished—they are, even down to basic ingredients such as spices and cooking oil. The suite also includes a washer and dryer—so don’t be afraid to let the kids get dirty playing on the beach.

We stayed during Spring Break (last week of March). Many of the town’s restaurants are closed this time of year—they open for the summer season. Enough establishments were open to satisfy our needs. The local Cook County Whole-Foods Co-op is next door and is convenient for buying any groceries you need or to have a cup of coffee and fresh bakery goods in the morning.

East Bay has a large collection of DVD movies and books. Wi-fi (not password-protected) is available on site, but is very s-l-o-w. I don’t travel to the North Shore to surf the web, but having a moderately fast internet connection is convenient to research travel and dining options.

Overall, a great place to stay in Grand Marais—highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Marais and East Bay Suites. We try to think of everything to make your stay enjoyable, we're happy to see when it's noticed. Broadband is coming to our area soon, so we're looking forward to faster internet speeds. In the meantime, we're all very happy to give you local recommendations. We hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Our 2nd visit to East Bay Suites, we enjoy this little wonderful town. All though the weather was chilly it was still perfect. Full kitchen and a gorgeous view to Lake Superior. Waking to the crashing waves totally rocks, great way to start any day !

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
We love your version of vacation! Our suites have what you need to enjoy some relaxing wave-watching; and our downtown location makes it easy to go out for some excitement. Thank you for letting us be your getaway destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.