We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added East Bay Suites to your Saves list
East Bay Suites
21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a one bedroom condo that had a balcony overlooking the lake. It is hard to beat the view! So nice. The room was great too. Very nice fireplace on the cold nights, fairly well equipped kitchen ( could have used another fry pan and baking dish, but not the end of the world) and plenty of space in the unit. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    36
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
52
77
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in room 307 - a 1 bedroom suite on the third floor with a fabulous view of Lake superior. The suite was much bigger than we expected and very comfortable for our family of 4. We had the kids in the bedroom and my husband and I slept on the sofa bed - a good quality sofa bed that was very comfortable and folded away easily in the morning with all the sheets and blanket still in place. We could not have asked for a better location - steps from Whole foods co-op, many of the shops and restaurants in Grand Marais including Crooked Spoon (our fave restaurant there, 100 times better than Angry Trout in our opinion) and across the road from the World's Best Donut shop! The hotel also had plenty of games and books we could borrow for the kids and some very comfortable and cosy seating areas. As we were there only for a short time, we were not able to join in the plethora of activities the hotel organises for the guests - very impressive indeed for such a small size hotel. My only one negative comment would be the hotel wifi was extremely slow.

Should we visit Grand Marais again, we would absolutely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review. We're thrilled that you loved your suite, our amenities, and our location. Grand Marais is certainly a gem, and we're glad you had a chance to explore it. If you do find your way along the shore again, we'll be just as thrilled to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Awesome stay with Amazing views right on Lake Superior. It was so nice to hike with our dog- nightly fires in the fireplace, and leave the windows open to listen to the waves crash.

Great hiking- angry trout is a must, and good food at the gun flint tavern as well.

Great place to stay in Grand Marais.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at East Bay Suites, as well some of our local fare. Thank you for being our guest and sharing your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you and your pooch back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The suites have no floor covering apart from a faded,stained,frayed rug. The floor is scratched by the chairs which grate, and sound horrible, especially if you are on the ground floor .
The windows are dirty. The bed had a wrecked and torn mattress cover that was not replaced even tho we told them about it on day one of our stay. The staff were helpful.....and helped sort out minor understandings ,including......Why does the washing machine not turn on....because you have to SLAM the door shut ,,,,,AGAIN and --again! The kitchen equipment was inadequate.
The cost of the room was outrageous for what we received.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I'm so sorry to hear you had a "ghastly" experience! You mentioned a few items that we are in the process of completing. Several units have ordered new rugs, felt padding is being added to furniture, and we're working on a solution for guest who do not wish to wake with the sunrise. The torn mattress pad has also been replaced. Improvements are an ongoing process, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We believe you'll really enjoy your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I just got back from a great 4 day stay at the East Bay Suites in Grand Marais. I visit the North Shore once or twice a year, but usually stay in the Lutsen area. Staying here instead was a great decision. We had a two bedroom suite on the 3rd floor with fantastic views of Superior from the main living space and master bedroom. The living area (open kitchen and living room) was a nice size with comfortable furnishings. There was a gas fireplace between the living room and the master bedroom which worked great on the chilly nights. The second bedroom was an ok size, but didn't have any good views. I have stayed in other Oddessy properties and have had some issues with cleanliness and upkeep. This was not the case here - everything was clean and well-maintained. I loved the Aveda productions in the bathroom as well. Art at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly both making my reservation and throughout our stay, I will definitely stay here again. The only change I would recommend is replacing the pillows - they were odd sized and I didn't find them very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
The team here at East Bay Suites wants to thank you for your great review! Our staff has a lot of fun working really hard so you can enjoy your stay, from meticulous housekeeping to the front desk's welcoming smiles. We're glad you appreciated our efforts as much as your clean, comfortable suite and beautiful views. Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The minute we opened the door to our one bedroom suite we saw breath-taking views of vast Lake Superior our the walk out patio door. This one bedroom suite was clean and we'll furnished with couch, dining table, gas fireplace that was double sided in the living & bedroom. Complete kitchen with glasses, plates and cookware. Bathroom had large tub & separate shower. The walkout patio had a small table & 2 chairs. Our unit had an unobstructed of the lake that featured an incredible sunrise from the living, patio & bedroom. This hotel/vacation rental was in the heart of quaint Grand Marais & within blocks of several great restaurants including Sven & Oles Pizza, The Crooked Spoon & the Gunflint Bar & Grill. We will definitely stay here again & request the same suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lakeside. This is a 3 story facility with balconies on the lakeside upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for taking advantage of, and enjoying, our suite accommodations. We're very proud to offer a place that can feel like home while you're away from yours. Of course, those views don't hurt! We hope you can be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This has got to be the best place to stay in Grand Marais. From the moment we checked-in and met Art (who makes this place double-awesome), we knew this spot was going to be great. We had a 2nd Floor 1-bedroom suite overlooking Lake Superior. The room was outstanding and the scenery could not have been any better. We opened our windows and let the sound of crashing waves fill our room. It was pleasant. This place is also a short walk away from everything in the area. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: You will probably regret not having a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
While we like being a small walk away from unique shops and restaurants, we love the breathtaking views and relaxing sounds of the lake we offer right from your suite. We're thrilled that you love it as much as we do! We have a room waiting when you're ready to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.