We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Direct access to Lake Superior shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Save Saved
You added East Bay Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Bay Suites
21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Independence, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Direct access to Lake Superior shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights in a first floor 2-bedroom suite, complete with direct access to the beach, a fireplace, kitchenette, living room and 2 full bathrooms. The hotel's units are investor-owned and are available for rent when the owners are not on the premises. The registration area is small, the staff friendly. The lobby is a large room that functions like a living room, with a fireplace, free games, movies, and snacks, and chairs for lounging. The hotel also supplies the fixings for S'Mores, including wood for burning on the beach, and marshmallow skewers. The hotel is showing some signs of wear and tear but they were doing maintenance work when we were there. Also, the sound barriers between floors were thin as we could hear the movements of the people renting the unit above ours. However, the location is perfect. We walked all over Grand Marais and never missed the car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    36
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
51
72
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at East Bay for a ladies weekend in Grand Marais. We found the suite to be a wonderful lakeside stay. It was beautiful to hear the lake all night and wake up to the beautiful sunrises. The little amenities like the popcorn and movies make it a perfect for filling in the time between hikes & restaurants in the area. Overall everyone thought it was work the cost and agreed that we would stay there for our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my 3rd time staying at East Bay Suites and this is the ONLY place in Grand Marais that I will stay. The rooms are clean and updated, the views are stunning, amenities and excellent (free DVDs, free s'more and fire wood, free coffee), the location is PRIME and the staff are friendly and accommodating. I will be back again!!!! Thanks East Bay Suites for another memorable family vacation:)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This vacation condo is right on Lake Superior. The beach and water are right out the door. We stayed in suite 206, a one bedroom. It was nicely appointed, nice furniture and very comfortable bed. The bedroom could have used room darkening blinds as the window faced east and it was total daylight very early. It was decorated nicely. Nice 4 piece bathroom with soaker tub and separate shower. There was also a very nice stacked washer/dryer. Nice refrigerator with really good ice maker. They supplied wood if you wanted to make a campfire on the beach. The negatives; the wireless internet is so slow as to almost make it useless. I tried to download a book to my kindle and the kindle timed out trying to connect. Parked outside the public library and used that internet, and the book was downloaded in about 5 seconds. The other thing to be aware of, it's nice to be right on the lake shore, but that also means the sea gulls and geese are always there. They have a habit of being really loud just before dark, and (sigh) right at dawn. Between no room darkening blinds and the really loud birds there's no sleeping late in room 206.

Room Tip: Ask if there are room darkening blinds in the bedroom. It gets light really early and without them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your thoughts in your suite! We're glad you enjoyed all your room has to offer. We'll be very happy when the Broadband internet reaches East Bay Suites-that day is coming soon! Your suggestion for window darkening blinds is a great one, unfortunately, we haven't figured out what to do with those birds! We hope they don't stop you from coming back, we appreciate your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermantown, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at East Bay Suites during Fisherman's Picnic from 7/31/14 - 8/3/14. Our room (305) had a nice view of the bay, which we enjoyed from our balcony.

Upon check-in we presented a gift card we had been given and we were told the internet wasn't working so they couldn't process our card. We were told to try again at checkout, which we did, but unfortunately, the internet was still not working and they couldn't process the card. We were told that when the maintenance guy arrived Monday they would have him look at the machine and they would try to process the card at that time. They did take the amount of the gift card off of our bill, so we were happy with the outcome.

We were unable to use the television in our living room as it appeared someone had left a candle burning and had melted the television controls. When we told the person at the front desk her response was "that's strange, the guests before you used the television." I'm not exactly sure how she knew what the guests before us were doing in their room, but she seemed sure they were using it. She promised us a room discount for the inconvenience (which we did not receive), as their maintenance person was not on duty at the time and they couldn't fix the television.

The in-room kitchen was very handy; we cooked several meals during our stay. The bathroom was large and clean. The bedroom was spacious, with plenty of storage for suitcases, etc. There was also a washer and dryer in our room, which was very handy! This is also a pet friendly property!

The grounds and common areas were immaculate. Parking was somewhat of a challenge due to Fisherman's Picnic, but I don't believe it would be during any other time of year.

This property is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown businesses, the marina and the waterfront. The location is ideal if your goal is to explore the town.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities-even if not our gift card reader so much! The glitch has been fixed and the television replaced, so your next visit should be even more enjoyable! Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at East Bay with our Dog, and reserved the pooch package & stayed 2 nights (wish we could've stayed much longer) I called and spoke with a lovely gentleman 'Art'.... he was so friendly and helpful, such great customer service during my phone call.... made me even more excited to get there. We were splurging on the price of the resort, but I remembered seeing it the year before and thought it looked nice, and we needed a pet friendly hotel :)so we went for it... so we stayed in the 1 bedroom suite. We were early arriving hoping we could get into our room but had to wait a little bit, but not past the check in time of 3 pm. A sweet girl called us to let us know we could come back and our room was ready a little before 3. So Art checked us in and gave us our keys! HE IS just as sweet and kind in person as he was on the phone! He was so welcoming and smiled and you believed he was happy to help you and genuine! That doesn't happen enough these days. I hope he is recognized for his customer service and kindness! There is something to say about having someone like him at the desk when you arrive! Every business should have an individual like Art at their frint desk. And in my case, when I called I was lucky enough to have spoken with him too. Thank you Art! :)

Room: #202, 1 bedroom suite, 2nd level, so beautiful, I was excited when I walked in! The room faced the lake, loved it! The windows and 2 balconies were awesome! It was a little warm in the room but the cool air felt great with the open windows. I would've preferred a king bed, but when I called it was last minute and I was lucky enough to get this last room that would allow dogs ! It was a queen bed. Nice stacked washer/dryer, bathroom was very clean, stocked with Aveda soap and shampoo & conditioner. Love that. Full kitchen, had everything you needed. The living space was nice too. The furniture was clean and in good condition.

Location: is perfect! Right on the lake front, beautiful views, and walking distance to everything downtown. Parking was convenient.

The great room off the lobby is beautiful too, always had the fire place on visual from both inside and outside. Lovely outdoor seating if you preferred. Activities daily, and offered popcorn, coffee, lemonade & hot chocolate. Then had firewood and smores supplies too. (Wish I could've taken advantage of that perk)

For dog lovers traveling with their dogs...
Our pooch package came with a basket filled with a traveling water bottle/bowl, a few rawhide chew sticks, a bag of 'Newman's Own' organic dog treats, & a little east Bay dog tag. It was very sweet. She loves all of it! We used the travel water bottle that was awesome when we went hiking!
PS... seems our experience at East Bay & Grand Marais in general, was so nice, it's a very dog friendly little city. Everywhere we went people commented on How cute our dog was (which she is;) )
Thank you East Bay! Our dogs are our children, so we were thankful we could bring our pup!

We Loved this resort and hope to return with our dogs! My dog absolutely loved it as well. :) (especially the balcony) we loved the view and so did she;)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your very thorough, and very kind, review! We're very proud of our staff, amenities, and location. We're always thrilled to hear from folks who have also enjoyed East Bay Suites! You've been a wonderful guest, we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We would stay here again in a heart beat. It was well worth the money and had plenty of room for our family of 5. The only thing we didn't care for was the end time for a fire on the beach, 9pm. Was way too early, it was still light out. This is steps away from the best donuts, frozen custard and tourist shops.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room facing the lake. Beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations! We understand we request an early end time for beach fires, however we have to do our part to ensure safety and quiet for all of our guests. Thank you for being our guest and sharing your feedback! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.