We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Save Saved
You added East Bay Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Bay Suites
21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Osseo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our second time at East Bay Suites. Lake Superior is my favorite place to visit, so being able to stay right on the lake is the best! On our first summer visit (5 nights), we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite & it was great for the 5 of us and our dog. On this last visit during winter (3 nights), it was just the two of us and our two dogs, so we rented a one bedroom suite. On both visits, the rooms were very clean and it was nice having the kitchen to make breakfast. For dinner, visit the Gunflint Tavern and My Sister's Place, they are within walking distance from the suites...not fancy, but good food!

Room Tip: Make sure to stay lakeside!! Very dog friendly place, but there is a $20 surcharge for dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at East Bay Suites. I am glad you found our amenities to your liking as well as our service. We are pleased to have you as our guest for a second time and look forward to welcoming you back for a third and fourth time. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    35
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
50
72
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the East Bay Suites during the spring break off season for 4 nights. We reserved the 3rd floor two bedroom, two bath suite with an awesome corner view of Lake Superior and Artist's Point. The off season price was unbeatable at $129/night. The suite was well appointed with a full, functional kitchen, living room, and two beds and full baths (ideal when traveling with a teen.) The off-season price was unbeatable and we love staying in town within walking distance of eateries, groceries, and galleries. The Gunflint trail is just up the road for exceptional snowshoeing and cross country skiing locations. I would definitely recommend East Bay Suites for a very comfortable and relaxing stay right on Lake Superior.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside, corner suite for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at East Bay Suites. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodation as well as the location of our facility in accordance to the many different shops and activities that are available to you in our town of Grand Marais. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was an affordable, beautiful condo style room w a fireplace & cute little murphy bed with a Lake view & blacony. Free wifi, free movie rental...craft area for kids. Half a block from great local breakfast cafe, coffe shop, sven & ole's & Gun Flint Tavern. Why wouldn't you stay here!

Room Tip: 208! Lakeside balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at East Bay Suites. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and location of our facility as well as the many amenities that we have to offer. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came up for three days to ski at Lutsen. We picked East Bay both because of the TripAdvisor rating and because of the price. We weren't disappointed. We got the 'two bedroom deluxe' condo for $129 a night (!) and it was really nice. It's on a corner and on the third (top) floor. It was one of the quietest rooms we've ever stayed in and very roomy. Also, by using the kitchen for our meals we saved a ton of money. This place is great because of the extra services they offer. In the lobby there are a large collection of videos and board games (and even a Wii console!) you can take back to your room. The first night we borrowed the deck of cards, the second night we played "Life" and the third "Scrabble". Two nights we watched Harry Potter movies. Although my son had seen them, my wife and I hadn't. Great movies. The suites also offers free passes to the local gym, to the municipal swimming pool and a free shuttle service to the ski resort. Finally, you get easy access to Grand Marais. My wife and I enjoyed strolling around and visiting the shops (even though a number were closed for the season).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at East Bay Suites. We are happy you enjoyed the Two Bedroom Deluxe and all the suite had to offer. We are also very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the many amenities that we have to offer here. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The East Bay Suites in Grand Marais, MN provide an outstanding place for a winter get-away. The two-bedroom/two bathroom suites are perfect for four people. Fabulous view of Lake Superior and a great starting place for visiting numerous State Parks, rivers, and falls...winter and summer. The suites are well-stocked with kitchen utensils and just cooking your own meals & snacks. The pizzas available in the lobby are perfect for a late night snack & watching movies in your room. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Two-bedroom suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at East Bay Suites. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodations as well as the many amenities that we have to offer. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at this property after a friend recommended it as pet friendly. She is a frequent visitor and after reading a comment she made on Face book, I decided to spend the night while there on business. It was everything she promised and more.
The room (a studio unit) was extremely well designed with everything you need for a night or an extended stay. I loved that it had a washer/dryer, a microwave AND a toaster oven and cook top. All the usual amenities and kitchen utensils were included plus there was a nice fireplace, upscale flat screen, DVD and Wi-Fi. The bathroom was spacious and featured Aveda products – Bonus!!
But my favorite part was the Murphy Bed. It was oh-so-comfy and being able to put it up and down made for a great space saver during the day. Everything about the design in the room was efficient and attractive.
The location is perfect. It is walking distance to any restaurant or shop in the area and right on the lake! They even have daily events right at the resort like bonfires and S’mores. Movies and games are available, too. There is plenty of parking and the check in is swift and friendly.
I can’t wait to tell all my dog-owning friends about East Bay Suites and I will be back soon.
P.S. They have a special package (with a 2-night stay) that includes treats for your dog and other goodies.

Room Tip: The room I had on the lakeside was exceptional for the view. I wondered if I could hear the waves f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at East Bay Suites. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and location as well as the many amenities that we have to offer. We thank you and your puppy for being our guest and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

East bay suites is a wonderful place to stay. Located right along Lake Superior, wonderful view, great shoppes downtown, and staff at the suites were great. This was the second time I have stayed there, and there is always something new to find in Grand Marais. Plenty of snow, and beautiful view. I would recommend this to any family that needs to get rid of the winter blues and explore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at East Bay Suites. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we value your repeat business. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again! Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.