We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Suites to your Saves list
East Bay Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Royalton, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location is great. Overly priced big time, lack of staff on at night. Had to wait to check out until someone arrived. Every time you call the front desk it said they were busy assisting someone else. We had to buy our own coffee because there was none in the room. Once again there was no one to assist us. These are all little things, but little things matter when you are spending $300 a night. We will not stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. We truly hope that you will give us another chance to make things right and I encourage you to please contact me personally at 218-387-2800 Ext. 1003 or at Jennifer@eastbaysuites.com. Again, I apologize for the experience you had recently with us and we hope you will be our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    40
    15
    10
    0
See reviews for
57
90
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rochester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the East Bay suite the first part of January, upon arriving we found very nice rooms. They were clean and laid out well, with a two-way fireplace, two bathrooms and a very nice kitchen set-up. We did use the kitchen a few times instead of going out to eat. The desk attendant and room service gave us ideas what to do (snow shoeing, dog sledding, ice skating and then the smore's at night on the lake shore) The s'mores were a big hit, even though we could not get the fire going. The view of Lake Superior was fantastic and I bet in the summer time it would be great. We had our family with us for the weekend and it was nice because we could all be together. I am sure we will be coming back again to East Bay. Barb

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel right off of Lake Superior offers a great view and nice accommodations. The 3 bedroom was spacious and had nice amenities such as a two way fireplace. Kitchen and dining were pleasurable along with local restaurants and shops to visit. The snowshoeing to the moose viewing platform was exciting even though we didn't see a moose and ice skating at the community rink was a good reminder of winter's past. I would recomend to any of my family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay with us here at East Bay Suites in Grand Marais MN. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the amenities that we have to offer you as well as the location. We hope the memories you made here will last you a life time- or at least until your next visit! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom unit which was very spacious. Comfortable bed, well-stocked kitchen, great decor. Lots of chairs inside and outside. The lake view was unbeatable, and the sound of the waves against the shore was great for sleeping. It's right in the middle of town, making it a perfect location. Cozy and very inviting. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your north shore experience with us here at East Bay Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic location loved the beach and lake. Rooms are clean and very attractive and laid out well. Got to agree with a couple of the previous posts on price.. Sorry at $300 a night it's spendy, $200 is a fairer price when you consider the rooms lack air conditioning. I would recommend East Bay Suites to anyone it's a great place to hang out but sadly there is no A/C in rooms so that can be a drag if you hit a hot spell like we did. Pet friendly to..a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at East Bay Suites. I apologize that you found the price of your accommodation to be more than what you would have liked. We do have less expensive rooms available such as our Lakeside Studios which comes with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior along with a cozy living quarters that includes a Queen Murphy bed, fireplace, TV, and european kitchenette. Come 2013 we will be in the process of outfitting half of our facility with Air Conditioning to make those few yet hot days more enjoyable for our guests. We hope you will consider coming to stay with us again. Thank you for your response and also for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a beautifully updated and maintained location. If you like a front row seat to watching Lake Superior within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops, this is your spot! They also accept dogs, but are very on top of making sure they don't bother the other guests. We felt the pricing was a great value for what we received. The only recommendation we would have is to warm up the space a bit with some cozier rugs. The stained/polished cement floors are perfect for the style, but a bit cold at times. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay with us here at East Bay Suites in Grand Marais MN. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to adding additional rugs, we truly value each and every suggestion guests make. With each suggestion is an opportunity to help better our guests stays going forward. We hope the memories you made here will last you a life time- or at least until your next visit! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was the 2nd time we stayed here and made reservations for next fall on the way out. I will get the one negative out of the way first. The electric fireplace?! What are they thinking? You turn it on and you hear a motor run and get none of the benefits of a real fire. But you can go to the lobby for a gas fireplace or the beach for a campfire. Now the rest is all good. Beautiful view, steps from the water, across the street from the "Worlds Best Donuts", walking distance to all the nice restaurants in town, lots of space in the 1 BR suite, fully equiped kitchen, washer and dryer in the room, friendly service, and best of all we can bring our dogs along. I disagree with a previous review about price, as we had the large 1 BR suite (not a standard room) for just over $200/night. Comparable to Bluefin Bay in Tofte, but with all the amenities of Grand Marais right out your door. They have free bikes to use, and will drive you to a trailhead, while you leave your car at the other end, so you can do a one way hike. It is a better location than the Best Western for walking around town. I couldn't ask for anything more for a North Shore getaway!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have easy access out to lake side with your dog, but less privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay with us here at East Bay Suites in Grand Marais MN. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the amenities that we have to offer you as well as the location. We hope the memories you made here will last you a life time- or at least until your next visit! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.