We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Grand Marais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Suites to your Saves list
East Bay Suites
21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“One of the best in Grand Marais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was the 2nd time we stayed here and made reservations for next fall on the way out. I will get the one negative out of the way first. The electric fireplace?! What are they thinking? You turn it on and you hear a motor run and get none of the benefits of a real fire. But you can go to the lobby for a gas fireplace or the beach for a campfire. Now the rest is all good. Beautiful view, steps from the water, across the street from the "Worlds Best Donuts", walking distance to all the nice restaurants in town, lots of space in the 1 BR suite, fully equiped kitchen, washer and dryer in the room, friendly service, and best of all we can bring our dogs along. I disagree with a previous review about price, as we had the large 1 BR suite (not a standard room) for just over $200/night. Comparable to Bluefin Bay in Tofte, but with all the amenities of Grand Marais right out your door. They have free bikes to use, and will drive you to a trailhead, while you leave your car at the other end, so you can do a one way hike. It is a better location than the Best Western for walking around town. I couldn't ask for anything more for a North Shore getaway!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have easy access out to lake side with your dog, but less privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay with us here at East Bay Suites in Grand Marais MN. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the amenities that we have to offer you as well as the location. We hope the memories you made here will last you a life time- or at least until your next visit! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
52
78
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Great location and friendly staff. It quite simply is way overpriced. Grand Marais at New York prices... There are so many places to stay within Grand Marais that offer better quality at around half the price...Look around. It astounds me that East Bay can sit almost empty some nights and still ask $300 for a room per night with a minimum 2 night stay when a similar standard room is $100-$150 per night?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking to time to review your stay with us here at East Bay Suites. I am sorry to hear that you felt our facility to be overpriced. Our accommodations are within a stone’s throw from the great Lake Superior and come equipped with a full kitchen or kitchenette as well as other amenities such as full living rooms, private bedrooms, washer/dryers, and a balcony/patio overlooking Lake Superior or the town. We offer a home away from home here as well as superior views of Lake Superior and a location that is in the heart of down town Grand Marais. There are activities that we offer complimentary to our guest including pool passes, gym passes, bikes, DVDs, campfires and S’mores to name a few. During the time you stayed with us here was during our busy season when we are typically sold out. This season runs June through October. During our slower season (November through May) our prices in accommodations can be as low as $89 a night. We do have nightly minimums on our suites over the weekends as well as some holidays yet this is uniform through all hotels here in Grand Marais. Again I thank you for reviewing our property and we hope that you will consider coming back to stay with us again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first time staying at East Bay Suites. I loved the location - right on the water, within walking distance of restaurants. The service was great. I loved all the unexpected amenities (Aveda products in the bathroom, equipment for campfire and smores, popcorn in the lobby). We stayed in a one bedroom suite - very comfortable. The only (very minor) complaints were that the fireplace, while giving off a lot of heat, didn't have much ambiance and that the air in the room was a little stale. I was worried that it would be loud - but we never heard a peep from anyone. Overall - a great place to stay in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here with us at East Bay Suites. We are happy to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. Aside from offering superior accommodations, we pride ourselves in offering top notch customer service as well as enjoyable complimentary activities that assist in creating a memorable experience for our guests. I thank you again for reviewing our facility and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just got home from our weekend at East Bay Suites and we're already planning a trip back! This is the second time we've stayed here and it was amazing both times. The rooms are beautiful and stocked with everything you could need for a great vacation. Also, the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.

Side note, the beds are high. My guess is that it's so you can lay in bed and have views of the lake, which is amazing!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at East Bay Suites. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again! Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Don't stay anywhere else-- unless you're a noisy jerk. Then you should stay at Best Western or the Spruce Glen. This hotel is for lovers of quiet, rocks, and water. Its suites double as condos for some lucky owners, so they're equipped with full kitchens, laundry machines, and cozy seating areas. We stayed in a one-bedroom setup, but loved the view from the living room so much that we pulled down the Murphy bed and stayed in there all week. It was just as comfy as a traditional bed.

Room Tip: If you're booking a studio, request that it not be the one along the stairwell-- this eats up 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at East Bay Suites. We are happy to hear that you found the amenities and atmosphere of our accommodations to your liking. We hope the memories made here will last you a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not only do I love GM but I love East Bay Suites. The suites we have stayed in have always been clean and neat. They are decorated with the gifts from the Lake. It couldn't be any more personal for a Lake Lover! The kitchen and dining area are perfect for a few days stay. No puny little refrigerator or stove. The shelves are stocked with every kind of utensil needed for plenty of types of meals for your vacation. The television/sitting area is comfortable and nicely decorated. Bathroom and bedroom always clean and accomodating. Another big plus is the location. It is nestled right on the shore of Lake Superior - if you love listening to the waves crashing on the shore.....but it is also within walking distance of plenty of shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at East Bay Suites. We are happy to hear that you found the amenities, location and atmosphere of our accommodations to your liking. We hope the memories made here will last you a lifetime-or at least until your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We chose this place because we had to bring our puppy on our trip. We appreciated the fact that they accepted pets, but our room was quite uncomfortable. The bed was extremely high and the mattress was so hard that it had absolutely no give. We didn't sleep well because of this. Also, the room was small and oddly-shaped (wrapped around the staircase) and not very usable. We like to sit around and read and play games in the evening while watching the lake, but the layout and lighting was only conducive to watching TV. The 'kitchen' was tiny and awkward with 2 electric burners and only a bar sink with nowhere to dry dishes.

I realize that this place has many different units, such as the bigger ones pictured on its website, which might be much nicer. I just think for $161/night, we didn't get much. I agree with the person who commented on the lack of AC and ice--we were there in October and it was still stuffy in the room, even with the windows open, and I too missed ice for my soda and water.

The nearby Best Western is much nicer as rooms include a table with the lake view, a couch, breakfast, microwave, refrig, etc. for less. I realize belatedly that they even have pet-friendly units, so next year we will go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. I do sincerely apologize that your expectations were not met. The Deluxe Business room is the only one of its kind. It is our most basic room with a kitchenette, queen size bed, standard bath and two windows facing the lake. We do have Studios which will provide you with more space and will be around the same price as the Deluxe Business room. The differences with the Studios are they have a balcony, fireplace, and a sofa that converts into a Queen Murphy bed in addition to the kitchenette and standard bath. Up from there we have one, two and three bedroom suites which will have a full kitchen, living room, balcony/patio and private bedrooms. I truly hope that you will give us another chance to make things right. I encourage you to please contact me personally to assist you with any further concerns or inquiries. I can be contacted at 218-387-2800 Ext. 1003 or at Jennifer@eastbaysuites.com. Again, I apologize for the experience you had recently with us and we hope you will be our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.