We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed twice - there's more to come” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added East Bay Suites to your Saves list
East Bay Suites
21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Have stayed twice - there's more to come”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The East Bay Suites is our "go to" place when staying in Grand Marais. The location downtown right on the water is absolutely perfect. Bonfires by the East Bay Suites lakeshore at night, followed up by walking downtown for pizza at Sven & Ole's or listening to music at the Gun Flint Tavern - there's the end to a great day on the north shore.

We enjoy the extra attention they give to the little ankle bitters we bring with - the dog treats and water bottles are a very nice touch. This hotel is exactly what we're looking for in a weekend getaway hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at East Bay Suites. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the pet friendly accommodations as well as the many resort activities that are available to our guests such as the bonfires. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again! Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    36
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
52
79
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Last Summer my wife and I visited the East Bay Suites and spent 2 nights as a romantic getaway. This Summer we brought our kids (age 2 & 4). We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it provided adequate room for our family. The room we were in only had a TV in the main room, which prevented us from being able to watch TV after the kids went to bed. The hotel does not have AC, which 99+% of the time is not an issue, but we had 1 hot night that kept our 3 rd floor room over 80F at night. As a person who likes it cold for sleeping that was the only gripe I have! We will be back if or when we get back to Grand Marais!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us here at East Bay Suites. We are glad you were able to bring your kids along this time to enjoy the East Bay Suites and Grand Marais experience. I do also want to inform you that some of our one and two bedroom suites do in fact have a television in the bedroom. We would be happy for your next stay to place that request for you and we always do our absolute best to fulfill each guest’s requests when it is possible. I also apologize about the temperature of your suite. We do provide fans to help make our suites more comfortable and Lake Superior assists in keeping units cool as well. We are glad to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was our first visit to East Bay Suites. Front desk staff was informatiove and very helpful. Housekeeping staff was outstanding. Our two bedroom suite was wonderful.

We had a wonderful stay, and will be back. This was a truly hidden gem for us.

Room Tip: Corner two bedroom suite was very large and roomy. the 5 day package made it very enticing from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent vacation with us here at East Bay Suites. We hope the memories you made here will last a lifetime. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at East bay suites June 25th 2012 for 3 nites,very nice clean rooms,cool lake breeze,everybody freindly..Only complaint was we rented a $149 room for 2 nites and a $199 room for one nite and the final bill was $603 There are administartion fees,apparently daily, so take that into account,they wont mention it unless asked...The studio was just fine if you are going to be out a lot,the one bedroom was huge,all the amenities,2 bathrooms...no ac in rooms,not needed

Room Tip: Afew rooms have trees partially blocking view but not that bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay here at East Bay Suites. We are glad to hear you found our location and accommodations to your liking. Here at East Bay Suites we like to provide our guests not only with a beautiful luxurious suite and a great view of Lake Superior but also a wide assortment of activities that guests can take part in. These activities include bikes, DVD, games, live music, pool passes, gym passes, fire wood, s’more supplies, craft baskets, puzzles, rock painting, as well as popcorn & hot chocolate on the weekends. Our resort fee that you mention assists in the upkeep and supply of these activities so we can continue to offer these great additions to our guests. Along with the resort fee there are bed taxes, local sales tax, and State tax which all together bring our overall taxes and fees percentage to 18.375%. We pride ourselves in offering great quality service, clean and beautiful suites as well as an excellent assortment of activities to do during your stay. Again I thank you for your review and we look forward to having you as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We've stayed at the East Bay a few times over the last few years and we've always been happy with our stay. Most of the rooms are more like condos - with kitchens, living rooms, and a washer/dryer. Our room has always been clean and up-to-date. I believe most, if not all, face the lake so the views are really nice. The location of the hotel is right downtown by the water in Grand Marais, so you are within walking distance to the harbor and most of the restaurants and shops in town. The price is pretty comparable to other nicer hotels that are in the same area and I think this is the best in that price range. One thing to note is that this hotel does not have a pool or a restaurant, and offers no free breakfast. But for my taste, I'd recommend the East Bay if you find yourself in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We always enjoy hearing our guests are happy with all we do have to offer them. As you noted, we do not have a pool however we are happy to provide our guests with complimentary pool passes to the local Grand Marais Municipal Pool. When it comes to restaurants and breakfast dining we are conveniently located across the street from World’s Best Donuts as well as within walking distance to many other breakfast and dinner restaurants. Again we appreciate you taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We love East Bay Suites (we've stayed there a couple of times and plan to go back). The hotel is right on the water and the views are amazing. Both times, we stayed in 2-bedroom suites, which had plenty of room (living area, open kitchen and 2 bathrooms). The suites had lots of features that we enjoyed or found to be useful, including fireplace, board games, dishes/pots/pans, dishwasher, and washer/dryer. Rooms were always very clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Prices were reasonable (off-season).

We found East Bay Suites to be extremely pet friendly (we have 2 dogs, one of whom is large), as is Grand Marais. Plenty of places to walk them.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sliding glass doors, while others have regular doors and windows. We much preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We're back for the 3rd year in a row and pleased at how well the property has been maintained over the years. Suite #304 is dog friendly (and expands to an additional sleeping bath area) - very spacious. Upon checkin we were advised there would be a $20 night fee for the dog, which is fine. But they don't seem strict about applying it, so keep that under your hat when you check in. The suite #304 is very comfortable and a great value for the $. Walkable to downtown and very convenient to shopping and dining areas.The staff are professional and friendly at the same time. The place is very clean.

Room Tip: Beaware that some rooms may be on the rear of the property and have "town views".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.