We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Cozy and and a Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Save
You added Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites to your Saves list
2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, Cozy and and a Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 5th anniversary on the North Shore. We are on a bit of a budget so price was very important to us. We found the prices at Thomsonite Beach very reasonable compared to other North Shore locations. The resort is about 7 minutes away from Grand Marais and 20 minutes away from the Lutsen area. We were greeted by Lee who is a warm and friendly host. She shared several suggestions for Fall color viewing as well as some great places to eat in nearby Grand Marais. Room 8 is on the upper level with a beautiful view of Lake Superior out the main window. There is a great beach with plenty of chairs and areas for fire pits. While the room could be described as "cozy" the private deck complete with chairs makes up for the "small-ish" size. The room was very clean with plenty of drawers and closet space. Make sure you read the booklet provided by the resort for a full list of nearby businesses. My only complaints (and these are the most minor of complaints, really) were that on early Saturday morning (maybe 4 A.M.), we could hear the people in the room below us getting packed that kept us up for a while. Also, while the North Shore is all about the sights, and not watching TV, a few more channel options on the TV (There are only 5 channels) would have been nice in the event of a rainy day (we had great weather BTW). We also wanted to catch the Vikings game on Sunday but settled for listening on the radio. Same goes for the internet. Watching a movie on Netflix was our Plan B in case of a bad weather, but the limited wi-fi would not have allowed that. Like I said, these are minor issues that ultimately did not take away from the great time we had on our anniversary trip and the great time we had at Thomsonite Beach Resort. We will likely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Unit 8 has its own private deck and beautiful view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in unit 11 and found it everything we needed for a great nights sleep. Our room was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable-- the entire complex is in a beautiful setting. Staff helpful and friendly... highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in unit 2 overnight a few weeks ago. The owners were very helpful, the room was just what we wanted, clean and comfortable, for a price that was very reasonable, reflecting its rustic homey-ness. It had a small refrigerator, a very good bed, a table to play cards on and a great view of Lake Superior. The back yard bordered on the lakeshore in all its dynamic beauty. We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thomsonite Beach Inn is located right on the edge of Lake Superior with rocky cliffs and gorgeous views of the Lake. We had Unit 6 which had two beds and a fold out couch. Well-laid out kitchenette and nice bathroom.Conveniently located 6 miles from Grand Marais and next to Cutface Creek beach where you can rock hunt all day long. At night there are two fire pits to use and lots of benches. Only downside of our stay was the group that took over the fire pits for obnoxious sing-a-longs. Guess I'm an old curmudgeon but I prefer to hear the waves and loon calls instead of renditions of Jefferson Airplane and Johnny Cash. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this place and will stay here again. Check out the thomsonite collection in the office.

Room Tip: Unit 6 has very partial views of lake but is roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Unit 3 for a week in June as a home base during our day hikes of the North Shore region. Our room offered a beautiful view of the lake and surrounding woods. On stormier days, the pounding surf could even be heard from our living room. The room itself, though not fancy, was clean and comfortable. The owner (we only met Lee) was kind and helpful. I appreciated that she gave us space but let us know she was available if we needed anything.

I do have a few recommendation for improvement/advice to future travelers. First of all, the resort's website gave us the false impression that we would be in a separate cabin. I was very disappointed to arrive and see that our unit was part of one big building. After reviewing the website, I see that though the unit is never explicitly described as a separate building or cabin, it is never described as part of a larger building either. This in not a major problem, though you can expect to hear others having conversations or running water from time to time. I also wish that there were just a few extra touches in the cabin in case of rainy weather that hinders visitors' plans. It rained a good portion of our visit, and I would've really appreciated a few extra books (beyond the three in the room), puzzles, games, or TV stations (only 5 random channels were available). Obviously, with better weather, this wouldn't have been a concern.

Bottom line: nice accommodations and view, reasonable price, lacking those finishing touches.

Room Tip: A couple of the units were a separate cabin but I don't recall their numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here as part of a ski package through Lutsen. The owners are super nice, and very accommodating. We decided (last minute) to change our dates, and they were more than happy to oblige. The view of Lake Superior is fantastic, and I could see this being an above average spot in the summer. However, the room was nothing overly special. Slightly dated and the bed was hard (although that's a personal preference). I would say you are getting what you pay for; modest price yields modest accommodations. But definitely clean, cozy and good location if you don't mind driving 15 min to Lutsen and 5 min to Grand Marais for food/activities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

It reminded me of places I would stay at with my parents in the '50s. It was reasonably clean and rather spartan. It has a beautiful beach--but beware Cape Coders, most of Lake Superior's beaches are rocky, not sandy. The lodge is about 5 minutes drive from Grand Marias.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Address: 2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais. “You’ll love where we live”. Ten units with various amenities; Enjoy Lake Superior from the comfort of your room or from the naturally landscaped grounds and ledgerock shoreline where we have a bon fire pit, log swing, lawn chairs, picnic tables and grills for your outdoor enjoyment. Our rooms are smoke free and sorry, no pets. Check our online virtual tour . Visit our “Thomsonite” Gemstone Jewelry Shop. Open all year. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.