We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a few details short of great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Save
You added Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites to your Saves list
2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only a few details short of great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Unit 3 for a week in June as a home base during our day hikes of the North Shore region. Our room offered a beautiful view of the lake and surrounding woods. On stormier days, the pounding surf could even be heard from our living room. The room itself, though not fancy, was clean and comfortable. The owner (we only met Lee) was kind and helpful. I appreciated that she gave us space but let us know she was available if we needed anything.

I do have a few recommendation for improvement/advice to future travelers. First of all, the resort's website gave us the false impression that we would be in a separate cabin. I was very disappointed to arrive and see that our unit was part of one big building. After reviewing the website, I see that though the unit is never explicitly described as a separate building or cabin, it is never described as part of a larger building either. This in not a major problem, though you can expect to hear others having conversations or running water from time to time. I also wish that there were just a few extra touches in the cabin in case of rainy weather that hinders visitors' plans. It rained a good portion of our visit, and I would've really appreciated a few extra books (beyond the three in the room), puzzles, games, or TV stations (only 5 random channels were available). Obviously, with better weather, this wouldn't have been a concern.

Bottom line: nice accommodations and view, reasonable price, lacking those finishing touches.

Room Tip: A couple of the units were a separate cabin but I don't recall their numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here as part of a ski package through Lutsen. The owners are super nice, and very accommodating. We decided (last minute) to change our dates, and they were more than happy to oblige. The view of Lake Superior is fantastic, and I could see this being an above average spot in the summer. However, the room was nothing overly special. Slightly dated and the bed was hard (although that's a personal preference). I would say you are getting what you pay for; modest price yields modest accommodations. But definitely clean, cozy and good location if you don't mind driving 15 min to Lutsen and 5 min to Grand Marais for food/activities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

It reminded me of places I would stay at with my parents in the '50s. It was reasonably clean and rather spartan. It has a beautiful beach--but beware Cape Coders, most of Lake Superior's beaches are rocky, not sandy. The lodge is about 5 minutes drive from Grand Marias.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.W. Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have stayed at Thomsonite 7 of the last 9 years to enjoy fall on the North Shore. If you are looking for a luxury experience, this is not it. This place has a homegrown feel, welcoming and informative hosts, a beautiful location, and a relaxing atmosphere. It is the perfect place for us. We have been here as a couple, with one family group, and with our entire clan. Each time we've loved the campfires and playing with the dog. The scenery can't be beat - right by the lake (not across a busy road as so many places are.) Some units are sleeping units only (with a small fridge and a mic) and others have a kitchen or kitchenette. As a couple our top choice is unit 3. The views are the best, and it has a kitchen complete with a dishwasher. Remember to bring your own shampoo. If you need suggestions for the area, Scott or Lee will help you. We have borrowed a great, detailed map of the back roads and have had some great day trips. Other reviews on the site will give you more adventure choices, too. ENJOY!
PS Unit 3, while not handicap accessible, does not have any steps.

Room Tip: Unit 3 for a couple. Unit 5 for a family group (2 separate bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night in August. It was a spur of the moment trip, so we had limited selection of rooms, but had no complaints about the room we got - unit #6. For the same price as a regular motel room in town, we had a small suite, with kitchen, living area and 2 beds. It was a short 5 minute drive into Grand Marais, which was more than compensated for by the lovely location and spacious unit.
The room was very clean. The grounds are neatly kept, there is lots of wood for the firepits. The view of the lake is wonderful.
There was no hairdryer in the room, but Lee had one available to borrow.
We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We really liked the Thomsonite Beach Inn and Suites. We stayed in their most economical room and it was a great value for July 4th weekend. They have 3 fire pits and lots of free fire wood to use. One pit was literally on the rocks just above the water. We loved sitting in front of the fire, watching the waves come in, and staring up at the stars!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed at Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suite for a 3 night getaway from the kids in August 2010. Our stay was wonderful, relaxing and just what we needed. The shore was amazing! I loved hearing the waves crash on the shore as I was laying down to go to sleep.

The room was neat and clean. We had our own kitchen unit and own little cabin. It was perfect.

As for location...it's just before Grand Marais. It was nice not to be in the middle of town but it was close enough to go for the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Address: 2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais. “You’ll love where we live”. Ten units with various amenities; Enjoy Lake Superior from the comfort of your room or from the naturally landscaped grounds and ledgerock shoreline where we have a bon fire pit, log swing, lawn chairs, picnic tables and grills for your outdoor enjoyment. Our rooms are smoke free and sorry, no pets. Check our online virtual tour . Visit our “Thomsonite” Gemstone Jewelry Shop. Open all year. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.