We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy fresh caught fish for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angry Trout Cafe

Angry Trout Cafe
408 W Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
218-387-1265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Sudbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy fresh caught fish for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Angry Trout offers fresh caught fish, prepared beautifully. Enjoy a bowl of their trout chowder as you gaze out at the lake your lunch was caught in - you can almost imagine you're in Florida! Staff is cordial and service is great. Best of all the food is delicious - you can't beat the taste and flavour of fresh caught fish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    103
    43
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

It's. been 6 years since the last time we were in Grand Marais and ate at Angry Trout. It's still the best place to eat in GM. The wait time is long but get a drink and go out on the deck/dock to wait. Food is awesome along with the view of the harbor and lake.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Grand Marais staple!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Fresh, tasty ingredients and a beautiful view of the water make this a must-visit for every summer trip to Grand Marais. Sit outside when it's sunny and beautiful, and enjoy the tractor-seat converted chairs. The salad with grilled fish on top is my favorite - beautiful veggies - shredded carrots, beets, mixed greens, maybe a strawberry! You'll find MN wine and beer on the menu (I'd stick with the beer, personally) as well as sodas. The service is sometimes a bit harried - it's busy during the summer - but it's worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad attitude towards the handicapped.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We drove 1800 miles to be here to celebrate my 65th B-day. I drive a wheelchair van.I have LGMD and use a power-chair to get around. Parked at the only level spot in front of the cafe, deployed my ramp and went in. Within 5 minutes the hostess returned and said we couldn't park there-no explanation. Our calm response didn't improve her move it attitude. My wife moved the van, we ordered our food then ate in what we would call the Bermuda Triangle. No further interaction until check-out. I suppose Minnesota nice took a day off?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful setting on the harbor, great food, friendly service. We have heard about this place and never been there. We had to wait for lunch at 2 P. M., and almost didn't stay. Glad we did!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angry Trout Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Angry Trout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angry Trout Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.