We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want for it to succeed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naniboujou Historic Lodge Restaurant

Naniboujou Historic Lodge Restaurant
20 Naniboujou Trl, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2141
218-387-2688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Want for it to succeed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Naniboujou dining a 'must stop' during our annual trip to North Shore. Last year, walleye was sublime, this year, not so much.
My wife and the couple we were with ordered Amish chicken, that all of them uniformly reported was "overcooked, very dry."
My walleye, while overcooked, was edible. Disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    39
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Champlin, Minnesota, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Nani is like nothing else! So relaxing, you have to go there to believe it! It's great to disconnect from tv and phone for a few days and enjoy the peacefulness the Nani brings. I highly recommend a room with a fireplace in winter or summer, it's a great way to end your night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for Dinner!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have wanted to go back and eat at Naniboujou since we stopped by and just had a look at it several years ago. It is so unique! We went for dinner which, in hind site, was a mistake. We were seated quickly but then ignored for about 15 minutes. Our server gave the impression that he was too busy to wait on us the entire time. When we have dinner we enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail. They do not have a liquor license so water or soft drinks only. We both order:
Smoked Lake Trout Pasta +
Locally smoked trout in a mustard cream sauce with scallions over fettuccine - $14
It was terrible! Presentation was beautiful but the taste was VERY sour...too much lemon or mustard or both. Neither of us could not eat it so we boxed up over half of both and put it in out cooler (since we were traveling). The next day, we just tossed it as we just weren't interested in eating it.

Would try breakfast or lunch again but not dinner. They just aren't equipped in the kitchen or "bar" to serve adults.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stop in the afternoon for tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've driven passed Naniboujou many times, always saying, "We've got to stop there some time!" Mostly, we were never there at a meal time. However, we finally were in the area in mid-afternoon, and stopped for tea. It was simply wonderful! I thought it compaired very favorably to high tea in Butchant Gardens in Victoria BC. The building is spectacular, as is the setting (a bald eagle landed just outside our window as we were eating). The service was great, too. This isn't an inexpensive activity, and you don't walk away groaningly overfull, but you should know that anyway when you go someplace for a tea.

This is a wondwerful stop, and we're lucky to have it in our state!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Never get tired of this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The lodge was full so we couldn't stay, but we did make the trip up for breakfast. Which was, as usual, a very special affair! Just drinking tea in the dining room would be enough for me to give it an excellent rating! That the owners have managed to keep the place as it was, to maintain the historical and artistic drama, is just a wonder! More power to them! Just being in the dining room is special. To tell you the truth, I can't remember what I ordered!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naniboujou Historic Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Naniboujou Historic Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naniboujou Historic Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.