We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time here...never enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Save
You added Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B to your Saves list
11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4th time here...never enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have been here 3 times in winter and once in the spring-time. Makes no difference it's always so relaxing, and you're treated like family...maybe better! Being with folks that grew up on the Gunflint and yet prepare breakfasts like you're at the Waldorf is beyond normal expectations. Rooms are clean and large. Plus a common area both upstairs and down, with a fireplace up. In the winter you can snowshoe or cross country ski. Or just relax! Little Ollie Lake has canoes in the summer. Want to try a yurt? They have two nearby! What a great get-away! And a great variety of accommodations, from a cabin to rooms with a whirlpool to rooms with two queen beds to a suite with kitchen and fireplace. They have it all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I came up for the Christmas holiday and spent four nights in Barbara's suite. It was perfect for our needs . Ted and Barbara and wonderful hosts and Barbara's stuffed french toast is not to be missed. The area where they are located is spectacular and snow shoeing on the trails that go through the woods was great fun. Learned a lot about BCWA history and enjoyed the other guests. Highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: There is a common area on the second floor with a stove and refrig for guests who stay in the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Poplar Creek Guesthouse. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Barbara and Ted prepared a super breakfast and provided an excellent environment for us to relax and enjoy ourselves before a trip into the BWCA. We highly recommend the Poplar Creek Guesthouse!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We love Ted and Barbara! They were gracious and conscientious hosts, and could write a book of their experiences and Gunflint history. Breakfasts always included lots of fresh fruit (apples from trees in the yard), and superb main meals. Thanks guys, we'll see you again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was really lovely. Barb and Ted are great, welcoming, and really helpful. The food is amazing and the rooms are really beautiful and cozy. We rented a canoe to go into the BWCA for a day trip and Barb made a delicious lunch and Ted helped us get the canoe on our car and decide on a route. They really helped to make our weekend a great one. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Ted and Barbara for the best weekend! The food Barbara prepared for breakfast was amazing! Ted gave us the sweetest spots to hike and fish! The vistas were so beautiful and we actually saw moose, loones, fox and lots of deer! We totally recommend Poplar guesthouse if you want go get off the grid because its private, clean, amazing breakfast, beautiful location and the owners are very experienced with the area! We had such a great vacation my husband is ready to move there! Thank you again Barbara and Ted for helping us have a wonderful family vacation! Also they have a great massage specialist Jody! We had a couples massage after a long day hiking and Jody made us feel like new again! We hope to return very soon! Bill, Janel, Jonathon and Michael

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us in June and this August after your family's canoe trip.
It was wonderful seeing all of you. I think that the stuffed french toast is a guest favorite, as is the baked egg casserole. Your kind words written after your June visit were inspiring to our small business. Ted and I hope that we can live up to your description with every guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Poplar Creek B&B, in the Dorothy room, for only one night prior to our venture into the BWCA for a couple nights. Being at the mid-point of the Gunflint Trail, near the entry point on Poplar Lake, it is the perfect location to begin a BWCA adventure. It would be a great place to stay for several days for single-day canoe trips because of the close proximity to Bearskin and Hungry Jack Lakes, too.
The morning of our departure, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast served by Ted and prepared by Barb. The breakfast was fantastic!
We were so impressed with the comfort of the bedding, plush towels (even a special towel for make-up removal) and cleanliness of the room, that we told Barb after breakfast, how much we appreciated her caring attention to detail. I mentioned that even her Q-tips were extra fluffy (REALLY! - these Q-tips are incredible!) We had quite a laugh! I must have been a little light-headed with all the fresh air...
Great B&B, great hosts, great location, great area for outdoor adventures - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your visit. We think the B&B is a great place to leave for a canoe camping trip also. And the full breakfast is a nice way to start a trip. We have had some cool nights, but the days are getting warmer and sunnier. Right now the last week of August and during September, we are finding openings into the BWCAW from Poplar Lake. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

Address: 11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded inn nestled in the Northwoods along the Gunflint Trail Scenic Byway. On quiet canoe-only lake & creek. Overlooking BWCA. Whirlpool, fireplaces, WiFi, in-room phones and guest kitchens. Canoe, fish, swim. Hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing trails on site. Birding, wildlife, moose viewing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.