We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay when x country skiing in northern Minnesota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
East coast, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay when x country skiing in northern Minnesota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Barb and Ted Young can set you up for a hut to hut, or lodge to lodge or yurt to yurt or any combo there of, so you can ski from place to place and they'll make sure your luggage is waiting for you.
They are like old friends from the moment you meet them and their accommodations are superb. and the food is delicious.
Barbara set us up for a 4 day/ 5 nights ski from Golden Eagle cabins, to their Tall Pines Yurt, (where Ted brought us dinner) to their Poplar Creek Guesthouse where we stayed that night and back to Bearskin Lodge for the last night. Each place grooms their own trails that interconnect with the others and the Banadad trail. and they sent us on our way with delicious trail lunches. You can do a variety of things, Barbara will arrange it. The flexibility and the choices are really quite amazing, and Barbara and Ted feel like old friends the moment you meet them.

Room Tip: At Barb and Ted's Poplar Creek guesthouse we stayed in the whirlpool room but I am sure all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are pleased that you liked our Lodge to Lodge ski program on the Gunflint Trail. And of course that you enjoyed your stay at our Bed and Breakfast. We really enjoyed meeting you both. We even had more snow this week. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The B&B and surrounding area are so beautiful in the winter - snow covered pines all around. A definite must in the winter. We stayed in Dorothy's room on the 2nd floor - very spacious and cozy at the same time. My review however is more about how kind the owners are. My husband and I were staying there when our 17 year old son, staying at a nearby camp, came down with the stomach flu. We picked up our son and brought him to our room at the Poplar Creek guest house. Barbara & Ted welcomed him and us just like we were family - never a moment did we feel like our son wasn't welcome there. They offered all the things one needs when you have the stomach flu - ginger ale, a red bucket, extra towels - whatever we needed. We bothered them multiple times for different things and they were always very gracious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for writing. Glad that your son is doing fine now.
Hope that he has a wonderful ski season with the team. Thank you
for visiting us again.

Barbara and Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Beautiful, cozy adult only B&B secluded setting. Owned and opperated by Ted and Barb Young. Comfortable rooms with inviting commons area and great views. Barb serves the most beautiful and tasty breakfast. Their knowledge of the Gunflint Trail area and trail systems is second to none. Whatever your visit, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, in the winter or hiking, fishing, in the summer you will not be disappointed. Ted and Barb also have a couple cabins and for the rustic adventurers a stay at the yurt is a must. Plus you are only a fews minute drive to the Trail Center Lodge for lunch, dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Little Ollie room is wonderful for that romantic couples stay as it has a Queen bed and two person s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for staying at Poplar Creek. We always look forward to your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielsville, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's across the United States and Poplar Creek was one of the best. Barb Young was a great host and her attention to detail was impeccable. The rooms were spotless and very spacious. The details to all of the little ammenities were outstanding and the kitchen and sitting area for the guests was great. You also had use of a deck and a screened in porch. The three course gourmet breakfast was delicious. We spent two nights in Ollies room which was very spacious and comfortable. We just loved the seclusion and privacy and if you wanted to fish Little Ollie Lake was right on the property. Hiking trails were nearby and of course the Boundary Waters can be accessed right from the B&B. Barbs husband Ted was very knowledgable about the Boundary Waters and the whole Gunflint Trail. Would love to return in the winter. Would highly recommend this B&B!!!! Jane and Donna from PA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This B & B offers luxurious comfort in spacious, immaculate rooms and a three course gourmet breakfast. It also offers a private deck and a kitchen facility. It is just off the Gunflint Trail in a very private, treed setting with walking trails and two docks on Little Ollie Lake which is a good small mouth bass lake. Yet another highlight is the couple that owns the place - Ted & Barbara Young. They are wonderful hosts - interesting, fun and very helpful in steering you to attractions, restaurants and outings. We highly recommend this B & B and look forward to booking our next stay! Denny & Lori K.

Room Tip: Three different rooms are available. All are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Ted and I appreciate that you let us know you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I picked the Poplar Creek B&B off the internet because it sounded inviting and hospitable. From the first moment we arrived, Barb Young took care of us. She is very friendly and checked us in quickly and gave us a tour of the property. I was traveling with my wife and 13 year old son. We stayed in Dorothy's Room which is a very spacious well planned out room. It is very airy and peaceful as is the whole experience. Dorothy's Room shares a sitting room, patio and small kitchenette with another room and that worked really well.
The internet mentioned Barb's homemade breakfasts and these breakfasts were excellent. Always very interesting taste combinations! And a great dessert always followed the hearty breakfasts.
We walked down to the lake and creek on the grounds and found it very relaxing and peaceful. One can rent canoes and such from Barb and Ted if needed.
I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed clean and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent two nights in Ollies Room at this secluded B *B. It was lovely, comfortable, clean and full of interesting touches to make you aware you were in the Boundary Waters. The breakfasts were magnicent, as was the advice they gave us for trails and a museum to visit. You truly feel that your are visiting familyWe were on our way to Camp Menogyn where we picked up our 16 year old grandson from a rock climbing program at Menogyn.

Room Tip: Either of the two rooms is delightful. They both give access to a social area where you can heat so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

Address: 11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded inn nestled in the Northwoods along the Gunflint Trail Scenic Byway. On quiet canoe-only lake & creek. Overlooking BWCA. Whirlpool, fireplaces, WiFi, in-room phones and guest kitchens. Canoe, fish, swim. Hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing trails on site. Birding, wildlife, moose viewing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B to your Saves list