We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Save
You added Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B to your Saves list
11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Location and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I picked the Poplar Creek B&B off the internet because it sounded inviting and hospitable. From the first moment we arrived, Barb Young took care of us. She is very friendly and checked us in quickly and gave us a tour of the property. I was traveling with my wife and 13 year old son. We stayed in Dorothy's Room which is a very spacious well planned out room. It is very airy and peaceful as is the whole experience. Dorothy's Room shares a sitting room, patio and small kitchenette with another room and that worked really well.
The internet mentioned Barb's homemade breakfasts and these breakfasts were excellent. Always very interesting taste combinations! And a great dessert always followed the hearty breakfasts.
We walked down to the lake and creek on the grounds and found it very relaxing and peaceful. One can rent canoes and such from Barb and Ted if needed.
I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed clean and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent two nights in Ollies Room at this secluded B *B. It was lovely, comfortable, clean and full of interesting touches to make you aware you were in the Boundary Waters. The breakfasts were magnicent, as was the advice they gave us for trails and a museum to visit. You truly feel that your are visiting familyWe were on our way to Camp Menogyn where we picked up our 16 year old grandson from a rock climbing program at Menogyn.

Room Tip: Either of the two rooms is delightful. They both give access to a social area where you can heat so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our visit to Poplar Creek was short but sweet. We stayed just one night in Ollie's Room. The room was spacious with a large bathroom. Small touches like fresh flowers and granola bars made this place feel especially welcoming. We didn't have a chance to use the giant tub, but I can imagine how wonderful it would be after a long day on the ski trail. Our hosts were warm and friendly and the breakfast of stuffed french toast, coffee and fresh fruit very enjoyable. Poplar Creek is like a mashup of European B&B and Northwoods lodge. Bonus: chirping frogs and dead quiet a night. Sleep well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at Poplar Creek as part of a trip along the Banadad trail last March, including one night at the Croft yurt. The B&B is very nice, and breakfast was delicious. We'd recommend it, and return happily. However, the Croft yurt needed a good cleaning, and was furnished with shabby used furniture. Since it's the only place to stay along the Banadad, we really didn't have any alternatives. But we won't use it again. We also weren't expecting an additional fee for a unnecessary but mandatory gear shuttle out to the yurt. We typically pack in our own food, bedding, etc and are perfectly capable of starting a fire and melting snow for water. Boundary Country Trekking maintained that they would bring in water and start the woodstove, adding another fee to an already overpriced stay. The yurt won't see us again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This B & B is wonderfully accommodating. It is hidden in the Superior National Forest and very peaceful. There are trails to hike and lakes to play in. Barb makes some famously delicious breakfasts! (be sure to get her recipe book!). We went in 2009 and went back in 2011 and saw the Northern Lights for the first time ever! Spectacular!! Best trip ever!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I did a two week tour of several cities in Minnesota, including Grand Marais, Duluth & Hibbing. We were up there to escape the Florida heat and didn't really know what we were going to do, but turned out to have a really great vacation. Please see my other posts regarding lodging, meals, etc. if you are interested in a similar trip.

Regarding Poplar Creek B&B...everything was fantastic. It's about 30 minutes due north of Grand Marais, but it was the highlight of our trip. They have cabins, but we stayed in one of the B&B rooms (Barbara's Suite). Nice family room, little kitchen, nice sized bathroom and a separate bedroom. We peeked in the other rooms before we left and they were very nice as well. Everything was extremely clean & comfortable. Barbara's breakfasts were great and definitely worth the extra money if they're not included with your particular room. Barbara and Ted were excellent hosts and provided so much information on their area and other parts of Minnesota that we were going to visit. We basically spent a day hiking, a day canoeing and a day in Grand Portage and downtown Grand Marais. We could've spent more time there, but we had to move on to our next stop. There are miles and miles of trails or gravel roads for hiking, mountain biking, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, etc., and they're accessible from the B&B or just a quick drive. It's in the woods but you feel like you're at home. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Barb & Ted, the proprietors of this B & B are very sweet and accommodating. Their B & B is nestled in the North Woods of Minnesota, off the very scenic Gunflint Trail. There is a lake to paddle around on, which we did, and trails to hike. The breakfasts that Barb cooked up (and Ted excellently served) were the best I have experienced in MN. We definitely plan on going back again!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
20.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
20.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#10 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 11 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

Address: 11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded inn and Lake Cabin nestled in the Northwoods along the Gunflint Trail Scenic Byway. Inn and cabin On quiet canoe-only lake & creek. Overlooking BWCA. Inn with whirlpool, fireplaces, WiFi, in-room phones and guest kitchens. Cabin has two bedrooms, TV, sanua and deck over looking lake. Firepit and picnic are by lake. Canoe comes with the cabin. Canoe, fish, swim. Hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing trails on site. Birding, wildlife, moose viewing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.