We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff and an Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Save
You added Voyageur Canoe Outfitters to your Saves list
189 Sag Lake Trail, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Staff and an Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I led a group of Boy Scouts on a week-long Boundary Waters trip, and it could not have gone any better. Voyageur Canoe Outfitters was phenomenal to work with throughout the process of planning the trip. The were extremely helpful, competitively priced, and guided me through everything that needed to be completed for a successful trip.

What impressed me most though, was their willingness to go above and beyond with their customer service. One of our vehicles experienced some difficulty right as we were pulling into VCO. The staff not only said they would send someone into town while we out on the water to get the parts we needed to fix the car, they even made the repairs so we didn't have to worry about it when we got back. This allowed us to focus on our Boundary Waters adventure, rather than worry about the car all week.

Aside from that, the equipment and food were wonderful, the routing session gave us all the information we could have asked for, and the little extras were the icing on the cake. Voyageur Canoe Outfitters played a HUGE role in the success of trip, and we will definitely be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
It's when things don't go as they are planned that we can really show how much we care about our guests at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. We treat our guests like we would want to be treated if we were on a vacation and we're glad you appreciated our helpfulness.

We have an amazing staff who is always willing to go the extra mile for our guests or 120 to town and back! We look forward to have your group back at Voyageur for another Amazing Experience.

Thank you,

Sue Prom
http://www.boundarywatersblog.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, mn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Super friendly and very easy check in, set up, and turn in. Staff was very helpful in making us feel comfortable about our trip and offering advice. I will go back to this outfitter for future trips.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. We are so happy to hear you had a great Boundary Waters Canoe Area canoe camping experience with Voyageur. We strive to offer the best to our guests and it's nice to know we are doing our job. We appreciate your business and hope to see you at Voyageur again. All the best,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomah, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed just one night as planned. Lodge is clean, modern, quiet, out of the way. Service is fantastic and the location is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. We sure hope you can come snowshoeing again and stay with us a little longer too. We really appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback.

There's snow on the ground at the end of the Gunflint Trail waiting for you,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

What a wonderful trip! Perfect weather contributed to our overall satisfaction, but the service at this outfitter was complete. We were actually there in July of 2002 but that wasnʻt an option when choosing a date for this review. My husband and I, along with our sons (10 & 14) are experienced with ocean canoes in Hawaiʻi, but had no idea what we needed for this adventure so chose complete outfitting from canoes to sleeping bags to food. It was all in good shape, clean/new, well packed and exactly what we needed. We stayed overnight in the lodge the night before. I would have rated rooms and sleep at 5, but in the heat wave we were in they were hot. We did a four day trip with a tow-out option to get a boost into the backcountry. Voyageur did our permit and planning with us and supplied maps. The only thing I would change on a return trip would be to spend more $$ for a lighter canoe for the time you need to carry it. At the end you pick up your small bag of personal stuff, enjoy a hot shower and walk away! What a treat not to clean up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a nice review of our services. We are really glad you had a great experience with us and hope you'll come visit us again soon. We'll try to do something about the heat too! Thanks again, we really appreciate it.

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Although Voyageur also outfits people to canoe and camp in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, we stayed in the Paddler Suite of their main lodge to hike local trails and explore local waters during our stay (canoes are available for guests to use). Our suite was charming and comfortable, including a kitchen, spiral staircase leading to extra beds and a hot tub, and a lovely handmade canoe hanging from the ceiling. The owners Mike and Sue live on site year round and know a lot about the area. We were guided to excellent hiking trails that showcased the fall colors and also the new Chik Wauk Museum and Nature Center. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this unique and pristine location to anyone. You can also read about the business on http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9902E1D61238F931A25750C0A9669D8B63&pagewanted=all

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Voyageur. We live in such a beautiful place and enjoy showing others our backyard. We thank you for taking the time to write such kind words and hope you will return year after year.

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyageur Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

Address: 189 Sag Lake Trail, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the Gunflint Trail adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and surrounded by the Superior National Forest. Leave your cell phones and worries at home and relax at Voyageur.Comfortable cabins with direct access to the BWCA for canoeing, fishing and camping. Hiking trails & the Chik-Wauk Museum and Nature Center nearby. Moose seen regularly, loons heard frequently and solitude found always. We invite you to Voyageur, Where the Trail Ends Your Voyage Begins. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.