We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten-Free, Delish home-made tacos! NOT fast-food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hughie's Taco House

Hughie's Taco House
15 W Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
218-387-3382
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Additional Link accessible on the web - rave reviews ! www.grandmarais.com/dining/best_bets.php
Restaurant details
Description: Additional Link accessible on the web - rave reviews ! www.grandmarais.com/dining/best_bets.php
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gluten-Free, Delish home-made tacos! NOT fast-food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

A unique spin on a delightful treat - with gluten-friendly options. This isn't a fast-food taco! The kids love it too :)

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
“The only place you need to eat at in Grand Marais!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My boyfriend Yevgeniy, and I had been driving for awhile when we decided to stop in Grand Marais, MN. He picked the restaurant out and boy o' boy did he pick a good one. The staff there is extremely, extremely friendly, and helpful too if you have not eaten there before. The food is not too spicy, which is nice. The favor is still bold and very pleasing, so pleasing that we both started off with a buritto and then went back for seconds. That is something we never ever do no matter how good the food is. The seconds were tacos with a crunchy, puffy shell filled all the way up to the brim with whatever ingredients you choose. I chose chicken, sweet corn, lettuce and rice; what a party in my mouth that was. The taco was so good that I had actually took a picture of my half eaten one to show everyone back home what they were missing.

The decor inside the restaurant is also amazing. Despite the fact that it is in Minnesota you get that Southwestern feeling immediately walking into this place. There are pictures all over the wall by the fireplace, catus on the window sill, and sombreros and bullsheads on the opposite wall. On the ceiling are serape blankets and what appears to be burlap; these hang over the eating areas. The tables or booths that you sit at are solid wood which gives it that extra rustic, authentic feel. Applebee's and TGI Fridays only wish they could emit the kind of ambiance that this place has nailed so effortlessly. They even have the magazine Cowboys and Indians sitting on a bench that you are able to read if you are getting takeout.

All-in-all I just want to say thank you to the staff for making the best food we have had on our Lake Superior Circle Tour.

Melissa and Yevgeniy from Cook County, IL.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“WOW tacos !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Their tacos are different in a good way ! The shell of the taco is homemade and it is like a chalupa . One taco is sufficient.We tried their chicken and fish tacos , they were really good . prices are cheap and their jalapenos salsa is really good.The decor is very good and the restaurant is very clean.If you look it from outside you won't get and idea what's inside so go in n have tacos! I would suggest one thing to owner if they can make their restaurant more prominent it will be easier to find. Our GPS was taking us ahead North so we asked one local and that's how we found it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughbetty, Owner at Hughie's Taco House, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we appreciate your feedback. Your'e right the outside of our building leaves much to be desired and we are working on it. Our sign blew down in one of our wind storms and we are patiently waiting for our new one.
Once again, thank you for your review, we strive at providing affordable homemade food in a clean and friendly atmosphere. Have a good summer. Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try it, you'll like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

So glad we gave this place a try. The outside of the restaurant is nothing too special to look at, and we have driven by it without giving it too much thought before. We decided to give it a try, and it is sooo good! Wonderful tacos in an amazing homemade, fresh, warm shell. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcomed and appreciated. The interior is very clean (restrooms, too). My husband and I had the beef tacos, our son tried the fish tacos. Delicious! Quick service, fair prices. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great taco's in a homemade shell. I had a beef taco but there are many other choices. Super nice people, great prices and a SUPER clean restaurant. Good value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hughie's Taco House also viewed

 

Been to Hughie's Taco House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hughie's Taco House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.