We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cross River Lodge
Save
You added Cross River Lodge to your Saves list
196 N. Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604 (Formerly Moosehorn Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I have never experienced the Boundary Waters area in Minnesota and wanted to be in the center of it all, this was the perfect place. We were in the midst of all the best trails, the beauty and the best spot to hear the loons and catch a possible glimpse of a moose. We stayed in the Wolf Den for myself, my husband and our little dog, it was very comfortable and really was just the amount of space. The owners John and Rose cooked a wonderful breakfast every morning and treated everyone with such a warm welcome, you felt like you were long time friends. Love, Love, Love this place! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many different cabins at resorts or lodges in northern Minnesota. Cross River Lodge tops all of them by far, for many reasons.

The beautiful cabin was top notch in all categories. The complete attention to detail is very evident the second you step through the front door. The cabin was extremely clean, and so were the window and screens.

The beds were very comfortable with great mattresses, high thread count sheets, and cozy up north bear spreads. The ceiling fans and table lamps were top quality with antlers, moose, or bears. The wall decorations were numbered, signed wild life prints, decorated mirrors in all rooms, metal sculptures, and mini blinds throughout the cabin.

The kitchen was well equipped with Wolfgang Puck pots and pans, glassware, dishes, serving bowls, silverware, small appliances like a toaster, coffee pot, spices, paper, plastic products, cleaning products, quality dish cloths, and dish towels.

The bathroom had a night light, nice towel sets, and all cleaning products. A huge, new wrapped bar of soap was in the shower.

The lodge is warm and inviting with an amazing view of Gunflint Lake. The decorations in the lodge are breath taking, as it reminds you that you are up north getting back to nature.

Last, but certainly not least, are John and Rose who are extremely kind, informative, fun, and make you feel so welcome. They definitely have a passion to run a professional lodge and wish to assist you in every way.

The breakfast John and Rose present is of five star quality. Everything is made fresh and delicious. You must observe, taste, and experience to appreciate!

We loved our week at Cross River Lodge and so did our dog. We are telling family and friends about this diamond in the rough.

The key and success of this lodge is the attention to detail, kind, professional owners with integrity, everything being such top quality, a marvelous breakfast, and finally everything is very, very clean. Cross River Lodge encompasses to us a truly, great value.



Sharyl Frykman

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the minute you walk into the lodge you are aware this is a special place...like being in someone's home, warm & cozy. My husband and I had never been there before and were the first of our group of 7 adults to arrive. John met us with this terrific smile, like we were already old friends and gave us a tour of the lodge, then a tour of our cabin. "Make yourself at home! And let us know if you need anything." The cabin, 4 bedrooms and 2 baths, was immaculate and had everything we could possibly need for the 4 nights we were there. Breakfast in the morning couldn't be topped at any restaurant on the North Shore! Made-to-order omelettes with meat, cheese, fresh veggies, Rose's homemade muffins and bread, fresh fruit. The views from the lodge and our cabin were stunning, but best of all is the setting itself: peaceful, quiet enough to hear the loons and open enough to see the brilliant stars overhead. Cross River Lodge is a Gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a place where you can rent a cabin or a suite... I loved it it was quiet, beautifully remodeled and more then we could ever have asked for. John and Rose are just wonderful!!! They gave great advise on where to go and what is best to see. The cabins can sleep mostly between 2-8 depending on the size of your group. This would be a great place for a couple or a family to come and vacation. The suites we looked at and are beautiful!! They sleep 2-4 people depends on the sitting room couches. The owners John and Rose let us use their canoe free... If we had wanted to we could have kayaked too. They serve the best breakfast... omelet, french toast, homemade baked goods(That is included with the room). It was amazing!!! We didn't need to eat lunch we ate so well for breakfast!!! Amazing place to stay!!! I wouldn't go anywhere else! We have seen lots of different places and done lots of research on where to stay on the Gunflint Traiil, by far this was the best and most economical. We loved this place so much we will be returning sometime soon!

Room Tip: The cabins have a full kitchen and the suites in the lodge have mini fridges and microwaves. Depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For the past twelve years - we have been visiting our favorite lodge on the Gunflint Trail. It never disappoints; it just gets better and better each year we visit!!

The former Moosehorn Lodge - now Cross River Lodge - owned by Rose and John, along with their friends, Ken and Linda - is by far the most peaceful and magnificent resort property on the Gunflint Trail. And much to our delite - the wonderful continental breakfast that was once the BEST EVER - has become a feast to die for!! John and Rose can really create a made to order breakfast you will not soon forget. Along with the great morning conversation with guests - first timers as well as seasoned guests - the experience is one of the highlites of the day!

Quiet, quaint and quality - what more could you ask for when you want to escape reality for one nite or one month (or more). Spread the word - Paradise has been found at the end of the G-Trail!!

Room Tip: Internet service is available - but no phone service in the rooms/cabins (which is a nice feature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the best time...what a wonderful place. John and Rose are wonderful hosts. The cabins are clean and updated. The lodge is warm and inviting. The breakfasts were delicious and presented beautifully!
And the best part for me is that they are so dog friendly. We love bringing our dog with us and they made it so easy.
Gunflint Lake is a beautiful place...I was SO sad to leave this morning. We will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Seriously, Travelers- this is the ONLY place to go on the Gunflint Trail. If you want the serene and wild beauty of the Gunflint area with all the comforts of home, plus more you didn't even know you wanted, check out Cross River Lodge. We've lived in Minnesota for over 20 years, and spent loads of time on Lake Superior, and had always heard great things about this area. Last year, we attempted to book with the famous Gunflint Lodge and the owner was so rude and pompous to us there, we almost gave up on this area. That would have been a huge mistake, because The Gunflint Trail is pretty special. We saw the good reviews for Cross River, and after our first conversation with John, knew we had to try it out. We were not disappointed in any way, shape or form. Au contraire- Starting with John and Rose's laid-back, no pressure reservation policy, our relaxing trip started long before we ever headed north. Here's a few details:

Location: GORGEOUS serene placid lake, which is part of that fabulous chain; resort is off the main road, so kids and pets feel safe. The scent of white pines is like an air freshener from the moment you step out of your vehicle. The water is on a rock ledge, so bringing the boat down was simple as can be. There is plenty of room to keep a boat. The resort is small, so we rented 3 of the cabins for our family and friend group, and they were all close enough to each other and the lodge, so no one felt isolated.

Cabins: As I said, we rented 3/6 of them (plus there are lodge rooms) and each was beautifully and rustically appointed, but very updated. Lots of log pine furniture, wood floors, ceilings, walls and VERY comfortable beds, chairs and couches. We slept like logs. Everything in the cabins was top shelf. We even had Wolfgang Puck cookware! The stove was nicer than ours at home.

Lodge: We spent as much time in the beautiful lodge, as our cabins. Why? Because not only is it relaxing and inviting, with every comfort of home, including a powder room and big homey tables for game playing, but John and Rose are so welcoming, yet unobtrusive, that why wouldn't you want to hang out there? They have (as mentioned in other reviews) a breakfast rivaling any great restaurant, with omelets plumped with vegetables and meat, which would feed a family of four, and french toast slathered with fresh fruit and REAL, yes, real maple syrup. Every afternoon, after kayaking or fishing, the scent of fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies drew us in and the lemonade pitcher and ice bucket were always full in time for games at the big tables. Our dog loved keeping a sharp eye out for the chipmunks which visited the feeders on the porch. John and Rose supply bird and chipmunk food for guests to feed and watch the little visitors. In the evening, they would fog the area to help keep the mosquitoes at bay.

Animals: Well, as I mentioned, we brought our dog, who was treated like a member of the family. He felt welcomed and relaxed and I think he enjoyed the vacation as much as anyone. John and Rose supplied sheets to put on furniture if your dog is used to getting on it (which ours isn't, but how thoughtful- instead of having hard rules, they want everyone, even pets, to feel at home here!) There are chipmunks, tiny squirrels, snowshoe hares and plenty of birds to help you remember where you are. The loons sang to us often, and several families of ducks swam along the shore. On our hikes and adventures, we also enjoyed seeing a fox, a river otter, and a few bears feasting on berries. One night, we heard the even mournful howl of wolves in the distance. Amazing!

Extras: I can't even begin to mention them all for fear of forgetting some! One thing I have to say is that our boat stabilizer bar broke on the trip up. John fixed it for us! He is super helpful in whatever way a guest needs. He and Rose truly go out of their way to keep guests happy. They knew all of our names, our kids' names and every guest at the resort. This is a sincere aspect of their hospitality. They are exactly the kind of people who should run a resort! Ok, here's a start on the extras...bags of ice right at the resort, whenever you want them, BBQ gas grills hardwired at every cabin, ceiling fans in all rooms, lamps every where you need one (don't you hate trying to read when there's not a light!?), kayaks (really fun!!!!), canoes, life vests, gas for your boat at a reduced rate, pontoon rental, TWO garbage cans for each cabin, which are emptied at 7 each night to keep away bears (isn't that smart!?), complimentary museum passes for a rainy day, really good books, magazines and games in cabins and at the lodge, a wee bit of wifi, just to allow you to check emails or messages, but not so much as to distract you from why you came!

Cons: no place is perfect, right? Well, Cross River Lodge comes close. Here are a few less than perfect parts: 1) lots of mosquitoes. (not a neglectful thing- it's just what it is up here in August!) Bring bug spray. 2) You are really away from everything- it's about an hour to Grand Marais, so bring whatever you need the first time! (although the resort does have many conveniences you might need, including a first aid kit) 3) Hard to find fish in August. We hear the spring is great for lake trout, but not until the last day of our vacation, did our seasoned fishermen find some fish to cook. They were delicious northern I must say- such clean water.

Overall A++++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross River Lodge

Address: 196 N. Gunflint Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604 (Formerly Moosehorn Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Rose want to welcome you to our wilderness paradise and find some relaxation. We can point you towards whatever it is you are looking to do...or maybe it's a new adventure for your exploration. Sudbury Meteorite Ejecta field very near lodge. No liquor license but BYOB and it is welcome in the lodge. Come sit by our historic fireplace or on our screened porch and relax...We have suites above the lodge and cabins available. We have a "no surprise" pricing policy. Our price plus sales and lodging tax is the price. NO RESORT OR HIDDEN FEES! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.