We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Grand Marais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgewood Motel

Wedgewood Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wedgewood Motel
Save
You added Wedgewood Motel to your Saves list
1663 E Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Grand Marais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This little throw-back motel was everything the website and reviews said! I was very impressed with how clean and neat everything was! We stayed one night during the Grand Marais Art Fair, and I was very happy to not have to pay for two nights like most hotels/motels in the area. The prices were perfect and our host was very friendly and gave us many ideas for food and fun that night! Just like their business card said, they are "Close to the Action...Away form the Crowds"! I will come back again and recommend to all!

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side that faced the woods. It was quiet and lights did not bother us! Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
zman319
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Meet expectations, would recommend, would stay again.

Third year in a row staying over before catching the boat to Isle Royale. Just North of town- close enough to go in for dinner, then have clear highway ahead to GP.

As everyone has mentioned, rooms are immaculate, hosts are truly hosts through and through, but bring an eyeshade cause it gets light. No a/c but you have the Lake and they provide fans.

Room Tip: The owners took the effort to keep our first choice of room in mind, and called us when another part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Peter and Amy, the owners, made us feel as though we'd known them for years. What a joy to meet and visit with them. Not only was the room immaculate, but the beds were super comfortable. And right outside our window, a field of lupien -- beautiful! Coffee was great too!! We'd come back in a heartbeat -- thanks, Amy and Peter. So glad we "found" you . . .

Room Tip: To avoid hearing the highway noise, we'd suggest a room on the back side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International Falls, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My sister and I stayed here and really enjoyed it. The room was very, very clean. We appreciated the helpfulness of Amy and enjoyed visiting with her. It's close enough to town to make going back and forth not a problem, and it was very quiet. It was nice to be able to park the car right by the door and not have to carry our suitcases more than a few steps. Everything on ground level makes it much easier for people with minor health issues. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: When we made the reservation Amy told us that the rooms on the back were quieter than the ones on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We recently did a Boundary Waters canoe trip and after coming out of the Boundary Waters we needed just one night to stay in Grand Marais. A lot of hotels/motels require a 2 night minimum. Wedgewood motel did not have that policy. The motel is located outside of Grand Marais, but it is a short drive 2.5 miles or so. Not a hassle to go back into town. The owners are very nice. Rooms are very clean and the price is reasonable. Some may consider the decor outdated, but I personally like the nostalgic look. We will definitely stay there again. Nice website...you can see the rooms, know exactly what you are getting. They even have pet free rooms which I liked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

So this is a 1950's motel with original metal Kleenex box holder built into the wall - kind of cool really. Anyway, not much was expected for the price and we were just hiking the trails. They allow dogs but we didn't bring ours this trip. Great service. We needed help getting to one of the trails and you could just tell they were the kind of people that would help out which they did by driving us. The big downside was the curtain on the window. It actually did shut all the way which is rare but it let a lot of light through. They also had outside lights on all the time so it was pretty much light all the time. The window is too large to cover with anything too. No air conditioning but I've never needed it traveling to Grand Marais, it never gets that warm. The room had a microwave and a fridge which is great to have. Wireless internet worked great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here while celebrating our anniversary. We like to go to Grand Marais once a year and explore, hike, shop, and relax. Its a quiet motel located a few minutes from town. We have stayed at a few of the hotels in town and for the price this place is great. It was less than $65 a night and they do offer discounts if you are a AAA member. The staff is awesome! They are very friendly and caring! All the hotels in town have no water pressure while taking a shower, but this place does! The rooms are clean and have a mini fridge, tv, dresser, chair, and a good size bathroom. It does not have AC (there is maybe 2 hotels in town that have AC and you will have to pay over $150 a night to stay there) but offers a fan if you would like one. They do accept pets in certain rooms too! Overall we would recommend this place and will stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wedgewood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Motel

Address: 1663 E Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgewood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.