We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek Salad bring bug spray.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney's Frozen Custard

Sydney's Frozen Custard
14 S Broadway, Grand Marais, MN 55604
+1 218-387-2632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Pizza, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: We serve Wood-fired Pizza, in addition to our Vienna Hot Dogs, Gyros, Salads, Frozen Custard- Vanilla or Chocolate, milk shakes & malts, our very own Sydnami. We also have an espressso bar and fabulous sundaes! We have vegetarian options.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Greek Salad bring bug spray.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pizza and custard have been described accurately in other positive reviews. I love their Greek Salad prior to biting into a delicious wood fire baked pizza! Seating is outdoors, I'll bring the bug spray next time for a perfect visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good custard!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The custard was great, but the pizza could have been done a bit more...the crust was not crisp. The seating area on the roof gives wonderful views of the lake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hand made pizza and specially mixed ice cream on Lake Superior!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Right down by the water we stumbled across some of the best homemades of the holiday. The pizza was so fresh and the toppings great. Really thin, baked to order. Then the "frozen custard" which we didn't find but we had special mixed desserts that were absolutely delicious. We couldn't believe our luck that we found this little seasonal gem. Slightly pricey for the rather down market resorts, but worth stopping for vs all the fast food rubbish available at the highway! Construction was ongoing but not at all invasive to sitting outside. Rooftop patio busy, road level patio was very pleasant as there was at least one tree providing some shade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over rated pizza, dont waste your money on the pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

looking for a place to eat going up the highway. wood fired pizza sounded like a good bet. tucked off the highway next to the lake. construction going on in back of the eatery. roof top seating. now on with the pizza. way over priced for about a handful of pizza. no flavor except for the burnt crust. at there price it would have cost fifty dollars to build a pizza worthy of eating, and not sure they had enough toppings to cover it. staff really was not helpful in trying to build a pizza. dont waste your money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Wonderfully rich ice cream/ frozen custard...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is great stuff, but a little goes a long way! Great service and a friendly vibe....I had a dish ordered and they offered to put both flavors ( vanilla and chocolate) in.... and both were delicious.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Sydney's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney's Frozen Custard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.