We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loon Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loon Lake Lodge
65 Loon Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend in the "Shack" at Loon Lake Lodge. This cabin was our home away from home! The beds are King sized and you wake up to birds chirping and a beautiful view of the lake. Each morning we started a fire as soon as we woke up and drank coffee while watching the birds have their morning feast. 2 sets of snowshoes are in the cabin, but unfortunately there wasn't enough snow coverage to use them. We hiked down the trail to Crab Lake and ran into the neighbors who were very friendly. This was the ONLY encounter with another human being all weekend. If you are looking for some rest, relaxation and privacy, this is definitely the place to be (and for an additional fee we were able to bring our dog Rix!)! We are hoping to go back this summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having never been in this part of Minnesota before, I went by TripAdvisor posts to make the decision to book a cabin at Loon Lake Lodge for two nights. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The setting is extremely private and peaceful and the location on Loon Lake is perfect for canoeing, kayaking, fishing and/or swimming. Tom and Terry have been operating Loon Lake Lodge for years and it shows--they are wonderful hosts and very comfortable in their roles. Tom has a great sense of humor and is willing and ready to make everyone's stay the best that he can. He is the "chef" for the lodge and daily makes awesome breakfasts to order. Since we had brought our own food which we needed to eat up, we did not have dinner in the lodge, but, the menu looked really really good. I enjoyed talking with Terry and hearing about what the area is like in the middle of winter with the lake frozen over and blanketed in snow...sounded sooo peaceful! Loon Lake Lodge was one of the best places we have ever stayed, and we will make every effort to return some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shack....which was any but a shack!...because that cabin was the only one available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My sister and I spent Sept 21-24th in Cabin #1 at Loon Lake Lodge. We had a
wonderful time! We found the Cabin to be cute, cozy and clean. Tom and Terry
were great hosts. We Hiked, Kayak and did the zipline tour near by. Tom and Terry
were very helpful and friendly. I did and will suggest anyone to stay at this Lodge, you will not regret it.
we had the greatest sister getaway ever!

Room Tip: one with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have been coming to Loon Lake Lodge for the past 6 years. Tom and Terry are so wonderful and will do whatever it takes to make your stay great. Tom is also a great cook so I would suggest having dinner at the lodge. We really like cabins 2,3 and 4. But all cabins are great. This is your time to get away, relax, enjoy a book, take a pontoon ride, fish. I am always so relaxed after my stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at Loon Lake Lodge this winter. They only have one cabin in the winter and it was amazing. The perfect balance of rustic charm from the 70 year old cabin with the sleeping comforts of a luxury hotel. Owners, Tom and Terry have furnished the bedrooms with exceptional matresses and linens that make you never want to crawl out of bed. But if you do there are plenty of places to go hiking using the snowshoes provided with the cabin. Or if your the type that would prefer staying in reading by the fire this is the place for you. With the firewood pile provided just feet from the front door and a great view of the lake through the picture window (not to mention the active bird house just outside the window) all you need to do is start the coffee and get your book. Personally I think winter is the perfect time to visit Loon Lake Lodge because of having only the one cabin available you feel like there is no one around for miles.Can't wait to make this trip again for a longer visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was the second year I stayed at Loon Lake Lodge with my husband and his family. We had very different weather each time but still had plenty to do. The first night there we were warmly greeted by the owners and got settled in. During our time there we took hikes to Crab Lake and up the road, went fishing, played games in the main lodge, had wonderful dinners and breakfasts prepared by the owners each day; and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet to ourselves in our cabins. One morning I woke at 4:45am and only had to open my eyes to watch the sunrise over the Loon Lake from the comfort of my bed (one of numerous advantages -the views everywhere!). I cannot wait to come back to stay again. Gracious hosts, beautiful surroundings and a lot of time to do whatever interests you. Terry and Tom will make you feel very welcomed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowden, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Me and my husband decided to rent a cabin and do something different this year for vacation. I had talked with Tom(the owner) a few times before we had decided to book the cabin for a week. He had set our mind at ease.
The cabins were very quaint and very clean!! It was perfect for us!! The bed was comfortable and it had everything furnished in the kitchen that we needed.
We rented the cabin during a week of a cold front, so we were only able to go fishing a couple days. The couple days that we did go, we caught enough to eat, and it was awesome!!!
The nights were cold, but amazing sitting on the deck, listening to the wolves and elk!!!!
Loon Lake is the perfect getaway if you want to get away for society!! No phones, tv or lots of people!! It was an experience that we will definetely do again!
Tom and Terry were great hosts. If you needed anything, they were there!
We traved around to some of the other resorts and they all seemed busy and noisy, Loon Lake is very peaceful and relaxing. We highly recommend it and will be visiting it again real soon!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loon Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lake Lodge

Also Known As:
Loon Lake Hotel Grand Marais
Loon Lake Hotel
Address: 65 Loon Lake Road, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loon Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Loon Lake Lodge to your Saves list