We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the charm and cozyness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailside Cabins and Motel

Trailside Cabins and Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trailside Cabins and Motel
Save
You added Trailside Cabins and Motel to your Saves list
Box 155, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Bullhead City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the charm and cozyness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We loved the fact that this is a family owned business. It is very charming and cozy, we had "Kari's Cabin" it is perfect for a romantic getaway, queen bed and fireplace, and I picked fresh raspberries for breakfest rigth outside the door.
Will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Trailside Cabins is a charming resort located right on Hwy 61 within walking distance of North House Folk School and the main street of Grand Marais. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. However, if you seek a comfortable cabin, surrounded by trees, near Lake Superior, and a peaceful environment, then you should stay at Trailside. Jessie and Kyle Anderson are the managers and are as sweet as can be.
Four of stayed in one of the cabins, cooked many of our meals, had a separate bed to ourselves (we did bring one inflatable mattress) and every morning we all enjoyed a hot shower. We love Trailside and have already made reservations for 2010. We are all low maintenance women but still managed to apply lipstick before leaving the cabin.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at Trailside Cabins in Grand Marais over the 4th of July weekend. When we arrived, we were delighted to walk into a clean, cute, well appointed cabin. Not only were there lovely quilts on the beds (compliments of the quilt shop attached to the office), but there was dish soap , dish cloths, and towels for the little kitchenette. We had friends over a few times and there were plenty of dishes and silver for all. There was even a board game and a puzzle in the room. Comfortable Adirondack type chairs encircled the fire ring right outside our front door. We spent a lovely evening and a couple of mornings out by that fire ring. There is also a trail that takes you down toward the lake, skirts the public campground and opens to a secluded cove--all a 5 minute walk from the cabin. Our daughter decided to have some friends stay over and we had plenty of room for all when used the living room futon. We had all this for only $90/night. The staff is cheerful and helpful. We will go back to Trailside every time we are on the North Shore.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We got the last available room in the Grand Marais area and we know why-----the room had an odor. It was probably the old brown carpet and the fact they allow pets. The bathroom had such little water pressure it made a shower impossible. The screen doors on the units slammed loudly everytime our neighbors would come & go. There is a fire pit on the grounds that fed smoke into our unit (no air-conditioning, so our windows had to be open). Bedding was thin and old. The rate was low, but still felt we paid way too much.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trailside Cabins and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside Cabins and Motel

Address: Box 155, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retro (circa 1950's) cottages and motel rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailside Cabins and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.