We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional a Personal Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gunflint Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gunflint Lodge
Save
You added Gunflint Lodge to your Saves list
143 S. Gunflint Lake, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Exceptional a Personal Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My friend and I arrived on Friday late afternoon. We had taken advantage of a Crowd Cut offer awhile back and really didn't know how far Gunflint Lodge was from what we knew Grand Marais to be...
So pleasantly surprised by the welcome we received! The front desk staff were so friendly. I have never written a review online before but because of our experience of the owner, Bruce, helping us "relearn" the game of cribbage while in the lodge...well it was wonderful because for one thing he never once made us feel like we should know who is was and he even refrained from introducing himself as the owner. We were just very impressed with the staff and ownership and surprised to learn it is for sale. It is sad to see a family tradition being sold.
Grand Marais is beautiful. Venturing into the National Forest was thrilling .... I could see Canada from my cabin! :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    30
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

we have been spending new years on Gunflint trail for the past 4 years. we went to Gunflint lodge this feb, instead of Jan. what a beautiful place! we enjoyed the snow as much as we enjoyed the summer time! the cabins are very comfortable! Bruce offered every winter guests free breakfast nd happy hour appetizer during their stay. We skied, snowshoed, watched wolf hunt in real life, made candles, dreamcatchers, and went on a night hike to howl to the wolves. we love the Gunflint TrIal and we love Gunflint Lodge! With the groupon, the cost was affordable!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellence at its best! My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary, top notch, first class, all the way. From Bruce, the owner to his well-trained, knowledgeable, smiling, friendly caring staff. Every detail is thought out, taken care of, all you need to do is relax and enjoy.

We arrived to million dollar welcoming smile and a Happy Anniversary from the very professional desk person, and it only got better from there. Everything was thoroughly explained to us, we were able to sign up for all the activities we wished to partake in. Our cabin, we stayed in the Romantic cabin, was everything we hoped for and more! Deer at our windows in the morning and at night, the lodge supplies corn for you to feed them. Wonderful décor, fire place, out of this world hot tub, with plenty for hot water, and nice comfy bed, breakfast was delivered to us Johnny on the spot so we could get our day going a little faster, and maid service checked up daily to see if we needed anything, what more could you ask for.

Rented snow mobiles, the lady at the outfitters was fantastic, explained everything, made sure our helmets fit, explained the trails, took us through how to operate the sleds so we felt comfortable, we had a wonderful day on the snowmobiles, I wish I knew her name, but thank you so much!.

Adam, the musher is awesome! What fun, a must do!! He takes the time to let you get to know the dogs and gives you background information about their personalities and lets you know why he has them lined up the way they are on the pull, informs you about the trail, it was fabulous and beautiful.

Snowshoeing was great, well groomed, well marked, beautiful trails. Peaceful and relaxing with some stunning veiws.

The food and the wait staff are out of this world!! From Jason the bartender, to Mandy, and Chris, the Chefs, all the staff in the dinning room, our hats are off to you! Jason the bartended explained the different kinds of beers on tap, and made sure we were happy with our choice and served us our appetizers. We took all our meals in the dining room, and all were superb!! Service was excellent; food was the best I have had dinning out in a long time, everything was done to perfection. Do not miss the Prime Rib if it is being served when your there, it was exquisite! Bruce, the very gracious owner stops by your table for a chat and makes you feel like your family.

In closing, I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay here, this is Northern hospitality at is very, very finest, I would again like to thank Bruce and Sue the owners, and all of their outstanding staff, some of you I could not name and I apologize, but you all were wonderful. Our stay at the Gunflint Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way possible; we are already planning another trip. Back.

Thank you again,
Alan and Debra

Room Tip: Check out the web site, great pictures of the cabins, when you call, the wonderful staff at the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights here for our Honeymoon in July 2013, and to this day, we often reminisce about this beautiful place and how absolutely perfect it was! I cannot say enough good things about it - the isolation from the rest of the busy world, the peaceful quiet, the breathtaking views and surrounding nature/wildlife, the friendly staff and other guests, the fun day-trips, hikes, boat rides, and naturalist activities offered, the FOOD (to die for!), the amenities - we were amazed by all this place had to offer and are so thankful to Gunflint Lodge management for providing all these things!

We stayed in a Romantic Cottage, which had its own hottub and a gorgeous view of Gunflint Lake right in our backyard! We thought it was cute that the cabin was fully stocked with all sorts of boardgames and books, tv and dvds, etc. The decor of the cabins matched the "Northwoods feel" of this resort so perfectly!

All meals were included in our package, and words cannot describe how impressive each meal was! (Decorated with edible flowers, etc. - the chef was incredibly creative!)

We took advantage of as many activities as we could (we are very outdoorsy people!) and loved the wide array of choices available! In the main lodge there is an "activity calendar" showing each day's planned events - you can sign up for as many or as few as you'd like. We participated in events like a Dessert Dinner Cruise around the lake, Birch Bark Bookmark Making, Horseback Riding, Hike to Bridal Falls, Indian Legends (told to us in a teepee around a small campfire!), and of course Canoeing and Fishing. During our hikes we often stumbled upon patches of untouched wild strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries, which we picked and brought back to our cabin for a snack.

Also, wine and appetizers were delivered to our cabin each evening. We were absolutely pampered! :)

Gunflint always seemed to have a big weekend event planned - while we were there, they had their annual Canoe Race Contest - we got to be entertained by these races, and were even invited to enter the race! (We passed up on that, but considered it!) So fun!

I also must emphasize the friendliness of the staff. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting with all of them, and especially made great friends with the horseback riding staff while there. The owners stopped by our table each dinnertime just to chat and see how we were doing and how our day was - so sweet of them!

All in all, we had thee most perfect time of our lives at Gunflint Lodge, and can hardly wait to return someday. We want to thank the incredible staff for such an amazing stay, and encourage others to go have as wonderful a time there as we did!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our favorite part would have to be the deer coming up to your windows. If you eat at the restaurant, the walleye chowder, walleye quesadillas, and prime rib are amazing!
Go snowshoeing, the trails are beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is the resort with the widest range of rental choices and the biggest choice of on site activities. Whether you're wanting to catch fish, ride horses, or ride the zip line, Gunflint Lodge has it available.

Room Tip: Choose a rental with a view of the lake... it will be worth it and there are many availabile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was our Christmas present to our kids. We stayed 3 nights, but thought 1 more would have been better. We were in a 2 bedroom cabin near the lake. Breakfast was included in our package and was great. You picked anything on the menu. We really enjoyed feeding the deer and birds. We would put the corn and sunflowers seeds right outside our window. The best part was when the deer would eat out of our hands. We went on a night hike with the naturalist and howled to the wolves and waited for them to howl back. We did get a few replies. The best part of the trip was our dog sled ride with Adam. He told us a lot about the dogs and the reason he placed dogs here he did. We even got to be the musher for part of the ride. Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful. We loved after a day of being outside to come to our cabin and have a fire and go sit in the sauna. It was a wonderful weekend and we will treasure our memories.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gunflint Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge

Address: 143 S. Gunflint Lake, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic family accommodations on the Canadian Border in northern Minnesota adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Cabins accommodate 2-10 people. Activities include canoeing, hiking, guided naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the new Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Special programs for "Becoming a Boundary Waters Family." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunflint Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.