We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed in this B&B owned by Max and Sherri many times (it happens that it has always been in the fall of the year). Always a great experience, clean, quiet and great breakfast. Also they are both wonderful people.

Room Tip: Go to their website and check it out. They have now added two cabins so look at those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
55
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have stayed here with Max and Sherri many times...always excellent! We have stayed in every room except one...all clean, comfy, and with the extras to pamper! Don't expect this...but one time my sis and I were the only guests and so we talked Max into a private violin concert while we ate breakfast! Like I said...don't expect it...Max is usually too busy making his wonderful breakfast! Dave and Sue, Rice Lake, Wi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor suite, clean comfortable private and quiet.
Would stay there again if in Grand Marais.
Breakfast was delicious.
The lack of air conditioning was not a problem as the temp outside will drop at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We chose to stay in the Alaska room for our one night stay in Grand Marias. The room was very quiet, clean, and comfortable. We liked that the room inclued a small fridge. Max and Sherri are very nice hosts who made us feel welcome. It is also within in walking distance to restaurants. Note: There is no air conditioning if you're planning a stay when it is very hot outside or suffer from allergies and prefer to sleep in the air condition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at MacArthur House over the 4th for 3 nights. Although it rained for most of 2 of the 3 days we couldn't have been happier with our accomadations. We stayed in the Harbour suite and would highly recommend it. Large room, very clean, nice two person jacuzzi that we used every day. Great view of the harbour and for us the fireworks on the 4th. Great, comfortable, soft sheets and towels. The location was only a very nice convenient walk from 'downtown'. It was our first time in Grand Marais and we really liked the town. Max and Sherri were very friendly, made great breakfasts and gave some great recommendatios for dinner. We could not have had a nicer stay than at MacArthur House.

Room Tip: We would definitely pick the Harbour suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay last weekend at the MacArthur house. Max & Sheeri were delightful hosts and really made the planning easy for my us. We had a breathtaking view from our third floor room. Their recommendation for dinner was fantastic too. I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My friend and I had decided to travel on a whim without much planning. I had seen this B&B on tripadvisor.com before leaving and jotted down their phone number. On the night we decided to land in Grand Marais we gave Max and Sherri a call. They accommodated our late arrival, made sure we ate dinner before everything had closed, and were very welcoming. The B&B is artistically and comfortably furnished. It was very clean, and I appreciated the organic soaps and handmade jewelry Sherri made. The food was fantastic, too! A great deal, and I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were wonderful! Ours was on the first floor - not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.