We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My friend and I had decided to travel on a whim without much planning. I had seen this B&B on tripadvisor.com before leaving and jotted down their phone number. On the night we decided to land in Grand Marais we gave Max and Sherri a call. They accommodated our late arrival, made sure we ate dinner before everything had closed, and were very welcoming. The B&B is artistically and comfortably furnished. It was very clean, and I appreciated the organic soaps and handmade jewelry Sherri made. The food was fantastic, too! A great deal, and I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were wonderful! Ours was on the first floor - not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our fourth visit to MacArthur House. We were so excited that our family purchased us a two night stay! As always, the place was beautiful and our room was perfect. Max and Sherri are the best and we love how welcoming and considerate they are to our needs. Both of our breakfast were awesome! We can't wait to come back again and highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Had a chance to check out MacArthur House this past President's Day weekend and will definitely recommend it to all! The house is very neat, clean, spacious and quiet. The owners/hosts Max & Sherri could not have been more welcoming and kind. The best part was the delicious breakfasts that I enjoyed. It's a short walk (in any weather) to North House Folk School where I attended a class at the Fiber Retreat. Max & Sherri are active in Grand Marais and very helpful. The blueberry bread pudding we had for breakfast on Saturday was a genuine treat. Can't wait for next year...or maybe this summer?

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, I would enjoy trying one of the rooms that face the lake next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This place is perfection. The inn keepers are extremely friendly, the food is delicious, and the other guests are a hoot! My fiancé and I just can't stop talking about how much fun we had during our Grand Marais visit, and I keep craving the peach french toast we were served on our second morning.

MacArthur house is just a few blocks from "downtown" Grand Marais making it ideal for strolling down to the lake front for dinner or drinks. We stayed in the "Lake Superior" room, which offered plenty of natural light and fabulous views of the lake. The rooms and common areas were spotless and carefully maintained. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent two nights at the MacArthur House B&B, a great location for exploring the quaint town of Grand Marais. It was lovely to walk a few blocks into town and enjoy spectacular views of Lake Superior and truly fine dining, wonderful art galleries, and an adorable independent book store. The rooms were spacious and the beds were phenomenally comfortable. The first day we enjoyed a delicious vegetable fritatta and fresh fruit, and the next day we were served Peach-Stuffed French Toast, all washed down with excellent coffee. Our host, Max, was easily able to accommodate 12 guests, along with several requests for bag lunches, all without the help of his wife, who was out of town for the weekend. He remained congenial and totally unruffled throughout the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Wonderful room and home - great hosts, family style group breakfast - get to meet everyone staying - walking distance to everything including downtown and Arts Centre. Really good feel to the place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed one night at this B&B. The owner was very welcoming and gave us ideas on where to eat a great dinner. We had the whole 3rd floor of the house to ourselves. The bedroom and bathroom were very large and nicely decorated. The view from our window was great! We could see Lake Superior. There was a separate living room area with a TV and DVD player. There was also a small dining table and refrigerator near the living room that was all ours to use. The breakfast was delicious. The B&B also had a nice patio with a table and chairs where we lounged before breakfast. Wish we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list