We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reconnect by Disconnecting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naniboujou Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naniboujou Lodge
20 Naniboujou Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reconnect by Disconnecting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed here for a few nights each of the last three summers. We stay in connecting family rooms so our 7 and 10 year old have their own room and we have ours. There are no TVs, no phones, no wifi and little or no cell service. Know this going in to the experience. Days are spent on one of the most beautiful rock beaches on Lake Superior looking for agates, skipping rocks and wading in the water. We also cross the road to the state park and hike there. Breakfast is big and delicious. French onion soup for lunch. And an entrée for dinner. The dining room does not serve alcohol, but they happily supply ice if you would like to keep something chilled in your room. The Solarium has tables, couches, puzzles, cards and board games. We taught our kids to play clue, monopoly, dominos and other classics here. And we had a great time together, no distractions. My husband is a professor - he has already picked out the room he wants us to stay in and the table in the solarium where he will write when our kids are grown and we come here on a sabbatical. This is a wonderful place. Not high end luxury (the rooms are small, the walls are thin), but a great place to slow down, unplug and reconnect with the people you love.

Room Tip: When you book, call and talk about what you want as all of the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We had originally booked rooms there because we were attending a wedding in the vicinity but when we were unable to attend the wedding, they refused to let us cancel. We were forced to choose some inconvenient weekend in accordance with their openings. I was willing to make the best of it but we were wholly unprepared for the disappointment that awaited us. For being so far away from stores, restaurants etc, the lodge has no access to snacks, pop or toiletries. They don't even offer you ice water if you're thirsty after the restaurant closes. There's literally nothing to drink. We ate at the restaurant and it was overpriced, about $20-25 per plate for poor quality food. I've had tastier food for a lot less. The food consistency is soggy and overcooked with not much flavor. The downstairs family area is nice but unfortunately you can't sleep there as that is the only spacious area. Our room had lots of dead flies and it was the size of a closet. I've lived in apartments that had bigger bathrooms. There is literally no room to turn around there. Worse, I could hear every creak from the hallway and neighboring rooms. We ended up having to leave at midnight due to our child being unable to sleep there and we were still charged full price as if we'd stayed there all night. I was willing to pay a reduced price to reflect our use of the room but full price was unfair. Our impression is that their goal is making money at all costs and either way, I was stuck paying far too much for a bad experience. I won't ever be back and will tell others who are traveling there to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center City, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We didn't stay here as we had reservations in Thunder Bay but was told by a fellow traveler in a restaurant we ate at to stop and take a look. It was a charming, interesting, hotel. Beautiful view of Lake Superior. No phones or tv's in the rooms but this was part of the charm - stepping back in time to enjoy the peace and quiet. The dining room ceiling is hand painted in Indian motif. The have the largest natural stone fireplace in Minnesota in their dining room. We didn't eat here but heard the food is wonderful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We really enjoyed the setting of this lodge. The view and pebble beach are wonderful with a few adirondack chairs to use. The common areas of lodge seem well kept. We had a fireplace room and found it to be quite small, dingy and not as clean as we would like. There were stains on the carpet, blanket and the tablecloth for the very small table in the room. We only stayed one night but the miniscule soap that is provided disintegrated after one use. No shampoo provided. Noise was also an issue. The rooms are not very soundproof making it difficult to sleep. The front desk is not covered from 9:30 pm to 7:00 am, which seemed odd to me. I'm not sure what you do if you need something. There were signs that said to call 911, in case of emergency.
We also had what seems to be the increasing norm - a family who allowed their children to run up and down the hall of the lodge. Apparently no one else was allowed to have peace and quiet since they could not or would not control their children. The decorum of others is not the lodges fault however there was no one to assist with the situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I almost hesitate to write a review because I want to keep this place a secret. I guess the climate will have to help me out. The only thing I can fault this place for is that the rooms aren't very big, and they aren't completely soundproof. (The Sleep Number beds are your compensation). Still, where else can you have such beauty, quiet, peace, relaxation....it's just the best.

I find it refreshing to go somewhere without cell, internet, or TV. And what a pleasure it is to see families talking to each other, not just comparing screens. Some people choose to sit in Adirondack chairs and read all day, others wander the beach (I'm one of those). The dining room is one of a kind, though it would be nice if the lighting were more conducive to reading during dinner (for those of us who don't have a travel companion).

If it's raining, you can sit in the solarium and play board games, talk to other guests, do puzzles, read, or write postcards. If it's not raining, there's no reason to stay inside. Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular, the Brule River is close by, as is Judge Magney State Park. And of course if you want to get in your car, you can explore Grand Portage or Grand Marais.

Naniboujou is an old-fashioned place, in the best sense of the word.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

How refreshing to check in at a hotel and not see TV's, people on laptops and mobile devices. First, there is no cell phone service at the Naniboujou Lodge(there is in Grand Marais 15 miles to the South), no TV, no phones in the rooms and no bar. One can have alcohol in the rooms if you bring it. What they do offer is the most gorgeous lakeviews of Lake Superior in a pristine setting. Famous people stayed here in the late '20's: Jack Dempsey, Ring Lardner and Babe Ruth when it was a private club. It's beautifully preserved and the dining room is a wonder and the huge solarium is perfect for reading, games and puzzles. Certain types of people stay here-those seeking quiet, relaxation and serenity. I found a book in their library on trout fishing and I don't even fish and I could hardly put it down. This is the place to de-stress. There were families with babies and children and lots of older adults and all looked like they were having a very nice get-away. My only complaint is the little odd, penny-pinching things the lodge does such as serve complimentary coffee in the lobby from 7 to 8 am only, and the miniscule bath soap and having to ask for shampoo. But then who can complain about paying $115 in high season for a lakeview, fireplace room?

Room Tip: In high season, book early. Open year-round-would be incredibly lovely in the autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got there a bit later in the evening so didn't take advantage of all the things they have there, including a solarium, restaurant, etc.

The knotty pine they have in the place is great. Loved that. But the room is pretty small and a bit older.

It is right next to Lake Superior and just across the street from a great state park, which we were able to take advantage of.

Great locaton, but not a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naniboujou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naniboujou Lodge

Address: 20 Naniboujou Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Naniboujou Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naniboujou Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Naniboujou Lodge to your Saves list