We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get much better than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bearskin Lodge
124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We booked a trip to Bearskin for the kids' spring break, hoping to get in on some end of winter x-country skiing. Unfortunately with the warm temps, the skiing fizzled out, but we were not dissapointed. The lodge staff were very friendly and helped us come up with plenty of other activities to enjoy the last of winter. We discovered some awesome hiking trails. It was so quiet and peaceful and, best of all- NO BUGS! The stars at night were gorgeous. We stayed in Otter Lodge 4. Our unit was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and everything was in perfect working order. There is a huge fireplace area in the lodge where you can rest and relax, with games and puzzles for the kids. It really does not get much better than this. We are looking forward to booking another trip for next winter, as the ski trails looked fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Paul MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were looking for a quiet place "up north" to go cross country skiing, and had stumbled upon the Bearskin Lodge the last time we were up in Grand Marais. We bought a day pass then and thought the trails were wonderful, and were anxious to get back and actually stay in a cabin because the place had such character. Having now done that, we can recommend Bearskin Lodge to anyone who wants a true Minnesota winter experience. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The lodge and cabins are open year round. There is a sauna and hot tub. We were in cabin #7, which had one bedroom with a double bed and a second with two twins. Although it was just my husband and myself, it would be a great place for a family. Other cabins on site accommodate 6-8 people. A restaurant from Grand Marais offers fine dining on Friday and Saturday nights, and we had a wonderful meal. Other than that, the management provides only minimal food service and housekeeping, but we like it that way. The kitchen was well stocked, with ample counters, not the narrow galley you see in newer condos. The living room was comfortable, and the best thing were the large windows (we enjoyed the wildlife: pine grosbeaks, pine martens, canada jays that came right up to the feeders). The xc trail system is extensive, very well groomed for skate and classic skiing, and the short night loop was serene. We loved it and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Bearskin Lodge provides a really wonderful setting for enjoying the beauty of the Minnesota Northwoods. Our cabin was really comfortable and provided a beautiful view overlooking the lake. The cross-country ski trails are accessible right on the property and provide many miles of enjoyment through a variety of terrain. It is hard to describe how beautiful it is there. A nice snow fell during our visit, and upon taking to the ski trails after that, it was one fabulous picture-postcard scene after another. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Stayed up at Bearskin for a long weekend with two of my daughters on a father / daughter type weekend. We have traveled up to the Gunflint Trail for years to do some cross country skiing, dogsledding and ice fishing. Had never stayed at Bearskin prior but found it to be a wonderful experience. The staff was very accomidating and helpful. The cabin was clean and tidy. Very quiet (almost too quiet). Ski trails are right out front of the cabins. Eric , who handles the dogsledding, was outstanding. He was very good with the kids and patient with all the interaction between dogs and kids. Overall, a great place to stay and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCtraveler22
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Granda & grandpa booked the trip. We somwhat reluctantly went along. THey said it would be like the BWCA, only with showers and pillows andless bugs. We didn't seeethe point of "almost BWCA" They were right, best of both worlds. Tremendous family time for all 3 generations. Go canoeing in the wilderness, come back to wine on the dock. Superb naturalist. Had a moose and calf walking around the cabins all week. Kids saw a bear from afar, and lots of small bircds & mammals they loved. We met people who brought the whole family back every year for a decade--that is what we would like to do now.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Stayed in cabin #5 over MEA weekend. Great little real log cabin. All the cabins have woods on either side so neighbors do not bother you. Cabin #5 has its own woodshed. There is a small screened porch. The living room is small and one of the chairs in front of the fireplace is wobbly but the view to the lake is spectacular. There is a small kitchen with all the dishes and utensils needed, a small gas range, microwave, oven and full sized refrigerator and freezer. Buy groceries in Grand Marais. Note that the cabin only has salt and pepper. If you want any staples or condiments, bring them. The boys each had a twin bed in the second bedroom. My wife and I had a full size bed in the front bedroom. The cabin was very clean. Drinking your coffee while resting on the couch watching the birds fly across the lake or the snow falling was very relaxing. In October this was a quiet resort and very restful. About 8-10 steps down to your private dock at the west end of East Bearskin lake. Lots of canoes, two paddle boats, 4 boats with motors. On the east side of Bearskin lake you enter the BWCAW. This is a great canoeing lake. There was a muskrat out in the lake having fun. Lots of birdlife. The owners were great and the staff friendly.

Perhaps very important to most, this area of the Gunflint trail was spared by the fires of recent years. Further up the Gunflint trail many of the trees are burnt. There are whole hillsides without a single living tree. You would never know that staying at Bearskin. Definitely recommended. I have heard from friends that the crosscountry ski trails around Bearskin are fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Been back twice since that last review 2 years ago, once in winter and once in summer. Snow was the best ever this year. Trail grooming on Bearskin side was fresh and well done, very professional. Hit some other trails in the area and system that weren't as smooth, or weren't done at all, but it may have been a bad day. Bearskin's good trails kept us busy enough. Ate at the new restaurant, had the signature duck. Really good. Summer was great. Kids went into BWCA with dad, for part of stay, we got a massage instead. People never believe there's still a place like this left. Amazing. Cabin 2 will always be my favorite, but am liking 9 & 10 now too.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bearskin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge

Address: 124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakeside accommodation that's big on cross-country skiing and hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bearskin Lodge to your Saves list