We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bearskin Lodge
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge to your Saves list
124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There's no doubt that Minnesota's North Shore from Duluth to Grand Portage is a slice of heaven, and Bearskin Lodge only adds to the experience. We stayed in Cabin #2 - extremely clean, nicely equipped with all the amenities you need and no T.V, no wireless access, no CD player - a place to truly decode, unwind and take some deep relaxing breaths.

The views of the lake from your cabin door are beautiful and nature surrounds you in its own beauty of sights and sounds. Hiking trails (cross country in the winter) are plentiful. The drive is only 25 miles to Grand Marais if you find an urge to shop and dine.

Room Tip: Think elegant rustic. This isn't a spa with lush towels and robes. The amenities are fairly bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We return regularly to Bearskin Lodge, enjoying both summer and winter on the Gunflint Trail. This is our slice of heaven, and the second slice comes from the Fruits of the Forest pie made fresh for us by Bearskin staff - do NOT pass this treat by! This August we stayed in the charming and beautifully-equipped Birch Cabin and made the most of summer: berry picking, canoeing, swimming (although quite chilly!), kayaking, fishing, hiking, spectacular star-gazing during the Perseid meteor shower and searching for the allusive moose. Bearskin offered great stuff for our teen and pre-teen, including art activities and leech racing (yes, you read that right), and new this year: paddle boarding. They hardly noticed that they were completely unplugged and read 7 books between them during our week! The staff are always friendly and welcoming. We'll be back again next year in January AND in August.

Room Tip: All the cabins and lodge rooms are beautiful but be aware that the capacity numbers usually include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearskinLodge, Owner at Bearskin Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you! That made our day. Bearskin doesn't aggressively pursue Trip Advisor reviews the way many other businesses do. A lovely review like this is always a delightful surprise. Thank you for taking the time to tell us we're doing a good job. Our whole staff works pretty hard to provide a positive experience at Bearskin, so it's fun for all of us when a guest says such nice things online.

See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at Bearskin. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our cabin was beautiful and immaculate. Blueberry pie was waiting for us on the table. Andy referred a fishing guide who took me on a boundary waters adventure that included a thunderstorm paddle, a hilly and slippery portage, and ultimately, our limit of walleye. Other Bearskin highlights include: The Honeymoon Bluff sunset, canoeing and kayaking on Bearskin, fishing and relaxing on the dock, and just sharing family time in such a peaceful and scenic part of the world. We love Bearskin and we hope to return. Hopefully, well before my next 50th.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 63jayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent three nights in cabin #10. It was a beautiful cabin, with its own private dock, just a short walk down the path. The living area was very nicely furnished with a recliner, couch and a great chair in which to sit and read. The screen porch was awesome, when it wasn't raining. I caught a nice northern pike off the dock and we saw a moose out for a swim while we were riding on the pontoon. Even though we only had one sunny and warm afternoon during our stay, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Oh, and the service from the workers and management was great!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at Bearskin Lodge. It couldn't have been nicer. Great snow conditions and impeccable grooming of the Nordic trails. Accommodations were clean and quiet. The owner contributed wine to a potluck our group held. We definitely will return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We first stayed at Bearskin on our honeymoon, in the "off season" of early November, and fell in love with the place, the ability to unwind, and the sanctuary that only the deep woods can offer. We returned 14 years later with kids in summer, and loved watching them unplug, connect with nature and with each other. Now we've gone back for winter fun and loved snowshoeing, skiing, and a priceless dog sled experience! Options range from gourmet Saturday night meals to cooking over the fire; massages, saunas and hot tubs; kayaks, canoes, and fishing. I hesitate to review because I don't want the place to get overrun, but because Bob, Sue & Quinn deserve accolades for their beautiful place, I have to write! If you're looking for flashy resort life, this is not the place. But if you're looking for serenity and like-minded nature lovers, you've found it at Bearskin.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both cabins and the lodge. The lodge can be noisier, but Lodge 1 is spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have made several winter trips to Bearskin, and this year we were lucky enough to get to come two times, once at Christmas, and again in February. I cannot say enough about what a beautiful place this is. The cabins are kept spotlessly clean and everything in perfect working order (in fact, in Cabin 2 the appliances appeared to be brand new). Ski conditions were fantastic (fun at Christmas, but much more so in Feb after abundant snowfall!), with lovely groomed trails. It's so relaxing to head down to the lodge and curl up with a good book by the fireplace. The private hottub time was great to look forward to at the end of day. We took several walks at nighttime-- it's amazing how beautiful the stars are when there is no light pollution! We mainly love to ski, but Bearskin is such a peaceful place that I am not sure it would matter what time of year we it is, we'd have a good time there. As far as the accomodations, all of them are very nice. We have stayed 3 times in the lodge, and also in cabin 1, 2 and 5. If you want a little more space to spread out, the lodge is the way to go. When the kids were little they liked being able to go right down and pick out games from the game cabinet. The cabins offer a bit more privacy. What is really neat about Bearskin is that all of the cabins are different and have unique qualities (definitely not "cookie cutter" accomodations)-- ALL of them are nice, you just need to pick out which one best fits your needs. You can really tell that the owners, Bob and Sue (and all the staff!), take great pride in their lodge-- THANK YOU for providing this wonderful place for people to retreat to!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mkelch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
20.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
20.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
20.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#10 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
16.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge
Gunflint Lodge
#8 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
20.0 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 11 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge

Address: 124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakeside accommodation that's big on cross-country skiing and hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing