We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and calming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bearskin Lodge
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge to your Saves list
124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rustic and calming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at this lodge but used their rentals and activities. We did their pasta night, which was very romantic. It was very good, but I actually enjoyed the bread the best. I am Italian, so I can be bias. The lasagna was ok. It was a bit burned and lacked some flavor and the same for the penne and vodka sauce...a bit bland. But it was appreciated after a long drive to the lodge. The desert outshines the dinner...fruites of the forest was yummy. The best part of bearskin is the beautiful lodge inside. Very homey and well maintained. I feel they are a bit overpriced, but we were willing to pay. We did their xcounty ski trails two days and mushing (dog sleeding) another day. Both were amazing. I wish I could go back and do it again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at Bearskin Lodge for the first time and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The accommodations are welcoming and cozy but also very clean. The owners and staff are helpful and friendly. And the cross-country skiing was amazing. We started on what we thought would be a short jaunt and ended up skiing over six miles in the sparkling sunshine. It was a really magical time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We love Bearskin Lodge! For the second year we rented a cabin in late November and it proved to be another great trip. Late November is a quiet time at the lodge and is just perfect for winter activities and relaxing by the fire. The area is beautiful, the cabins are fantastic, the owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. What more can you want?! We are planning a 3rd visit in 2013.

Room Tip: They have a pretty wide variety of cabins so look online, they have good descriptions and photos of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time at Bearskin lodge but we have stayed at many different places in Northern Minnesota and this was by far the best! We stayed in cabin #9. It was modern, cozy, comfortable, and immaculate! The stone fireplace made out stay extra special. We also enjoyed the ability to have our own private time in the large hot tube and sauna. The staff was helpful and friendly but also gave us the space we needed to enjoy our vacation without interruption. I would highly recommend getting a massage at the main lodge-so wonderful! We will be back again for sure. If you are looking for a quiet get away from the world this is the place to be.

Room Tip: stay in cabin #9
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My (new) fiance and I just returned from a 4 day trip to Bearskin Lodge. We had an amazing time--and we got engaged! We stayed in Cabin #5 and it was perfect--cozy and warm and we had a fire going the entire time we spent in the cabin. The interior is very warmly decorated and has a great rustic feel. Also, as a Northwoods cabin should be, there is no TV, no cell service and only limited internet connectivity (fine for e-mail and Facebook) at the main lodge. The views of bearskin lake and the surrounding forest is breathtaking, and there is quietness there I can only describe as "pitch black" and absolute. The beauty is too much to describe so I would only say, go experience it for yourself! We also enjoyed the fact that the hot tub really is private as time slots are reserved throughout the day (incidentally, most were open so it wasn't a problem getting a time at all). As far as hiking goes, nearby Honeymoon bluff is a short, fairly easy ascent to a spectacular view. Just a couple of miles further is the Caribou Rock trail, which is difficult to very difficult in spots but offers an amazing hiking experience with extremely rewarding photo opportunities. About 1 hour and 15 minutes into this hike, however, we came across a yet unidentified animal that we heard give a loud, low growl-ish sound. The animal had big lungs because of the resonant quality of it, and the guy back at the the lodge thought it was probably a moose. Either way--moose, bear or Sasquatch--it ended our hike post haste! We didn't get a chance to eat at the lodge, so I can't speak to the quality of food. The staff were nice, but not particularly outgoing or friendly which did surprise me a little bit. I expected a hearty handshake and a vibrant "welcome!" as well as a "we hope you had a great time, come stay with us again!" but instead received pretty subdued versions of both. My fiance and I both felt a neutrality of our presence there which was a little disappointing. However, our overall impression was very positive and we will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It had been seven years since my last visit to Bearskin, and the ownership had just changed. It was good to see that the new owners have kept everything good about this escape, and made investments to improve the overall quality of the property. I stayed, alone, in one of the smaller cabins. The place was immaculate, with plenty of firewood and a well stocked kitchen. While the resort was about half-full during my stay, it was absolutely quiet and peaceful. The staff was very attentive to my needs, comforts and questions. I was looking for a few days by myself to unwind, and that's exactly what I found here.

Room Tip: When deciding how large of a cabin you require, subtract two from the number of people the website i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have now been to Bearskin Lodge five times, and all have been excellent experiences. It is located on the Gunflint Trail which in itself provides a great deal of hikes and sights, and the town of Grand Marais is about 25 minutes away for good restaurants and a rainy day option.

The Lodge has a mix of 11 private cabins or 4 "lodge" units that are similar to vacation condos. Each cabin or unit has a private dock. We have never found our cabin to be any other than clean and well-stocked. Staff have always been great to us both for the little things but also for important advice on exploring the rugged and beautiful territory around this area.

What we love is that you can be a little unplugged when at this lodge. You won't have a TV or phone in your cabin, but it will be clean with a modern kitchens and bathrooms, etc. We also like that you can be as public as you want, enjoying the beach, lodge, or numerous resort activities, or have a completely quiet and private vacation if you so choose. This is a quiet setting -- not a party spot -- much more of a place where people go for a nice, peaceful vacation or to have an active vacation exploring the area.

The number of repeat visitors speaks volumes. Every year when we go, most of the other people are repeat guests, some who we even recognize from prior years. We have been to several of the resorts in Minnesota, but this is the one we try to make it to every single year.

Room Tip: All cabins have different character. Many are booked a year or more in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearskin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge

Address: 124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakeside accommodation that's big on cross-country skiing and hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel Grand Marais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.