We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge

Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge
2155 West Forest Street, Brigham City, Brigham City, UT 84302
435-723-5887
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
Attraction details
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

have a friend who volunteers there, so get excellent tours and reviews of what is going on out there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Although we live in Southern California, we saw shore birds and owls that we do not see on the coast of Southern Cal. The drive was beautiful and perfect for an early morning birding trip. We even saw deer! Be sure to use bug spray. Where there are birds, there are bugs!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful, beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I almost ended up going alone one hot day last August, and at the last minute, a friend decided to join me. Good thing she did, because when you get off the interstate, you come upon the welcome center fairly quickly, where you can pick up maps and guides. The refuge is (was) open dawn-til-dusk for self-guided auto tours, but the entrance to the actual sanctuary is quite a long drive from the interstate. Had my friend not been with me, I would have panicked and turned back!

When we got to the actual entrance, there were several men sitting near the water, quietly fishing. We had absolutely no idea which way to go! So we picked a road and went. We saw only one other vehicle the entire time.

What a gorgeous drive it was - we took lots of pictures from the car and there was also an observation deck about halfway through, where we got out. In that context, we actually found ourselves enjoying the hot and humid atmosphere :)

A few days later, driving down a busy street in SLC, we spotted a family of birds walking across the road - a parent followed by 3 tiny birdlings, followed by the second parent. We stopped, of course, with a new appreciation of wild birds, until they made it across the street.

Tip: there are rest rooms near the entrance. If you're going on a self-guided drive, make sure your car is in good shape - air pressure in the tires, fluids, fuel, etc., because you REALLY don't want to break down in the middle of the sanctuary!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you read the book Refuge, Terry Tempest-Williams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Amazing to see so many different birds in the western US

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Crown Jewel of the Beehive State”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

What an incredible, awe inspiring place.

Granted, it may not be for everyone - but the Bird Refuge is one of my favorite places.

No matter the season there is something to see. The visitors' center is just amazing, though I rarely go in! The real treat is the auto tour. Take some snacks, and a camera, and drive nice and slow. So much life and color and beauty out there! It's well taken care of, and you'll always see something interesting.

Good for going alone, or for taking the family - even kids will have fun looking at the birds or fish or critters out there.

Enjoy - and PLEASE don't litter!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge also viewed

Brigham City, Wasatch Range
Brigham City, Wasatch Range
 
Logan, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.