We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only for short stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   751 South Navajo Drive, Page, AZ 86040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Page
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“only for short stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell is a normal hotel: clean, friendly staff, good service. Unfortunately we had a room near the elevator...that's why our nights were a bit noisy. The rooms are frumpy in my opinion - but that's a question of taste. In my opinion it's a good hotel just for a few nights, but for a longer stay in page I personally would prefer another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear AnjaLuisa,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on our friendly staff and clean hotel. However, I regret that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the room accommodations and noise levels experienced. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and we are grateful that you brought this matter into our attention. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

Once again, thank you for your comments and to better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    198
    133
    54
    19
See reviews for
145
179
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in Page for a night at this hotel with my wife. It was during the low season so the hotel was very quiet. The room was spacious and clean and it's a decent stopover. Staff was friendly and helpful. However the hotel itself looks quite dated and the complimentary breakfast needs some improvement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I stay in page Arizona fairly often and have tried this hotel for the first time and was pleased with the rooms and breakfast. Although it could stand a little rehabbing I found this place very acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This was probably the most soulless place I stayed during my tour of the West coast, and sadly it was also the place I woke up on Christmas Day! Depressing!

It's perfectly fine for a stopover, though pretty dark with just lamps and no main light in the rooms. The breakfast was rubbish - the juice machine wasn't working so there was nothing to drink and there wasn't much of a selection, plus the dining area was just a few tables off the main hallway.

All our rooms had inter-connecting doors so you could hear the neighbours through them, and people were loud in the corridors until the early morning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear TravellingEmm,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked a one-bedroom suite with two queen beds for four of us at Holiday Inn Express in Page, Arizona. When I checked in, as a Priority Club platinum member, I inquired for the possibility of a complimentary upgrade to a two-bedroom suite. The receptionist told me that all other suites were booked, but she could give me another separate regular room. After confirming with her that the second room was complimentary, I gladly accepted the offer. However, when I checked out the second morning, I was presented with a piece of paper for my signature, which showed that I would have to pay for the second room for $80. I was really surprised because I was sure the second room was offered free of charge. I would certainly not have taken the second room if it had not been for free because the original one-bedroom suite that I booked could adequately accommodate us four. Of course I refused to sign the paper and the manager was called in to solve the dispute. Instead of working out the issue with me directly, she called in the receptionist on duty the previous night, said either me or the receptionist would have to pay for the room, and let the two of us confront with each other in the lobby. Obviously not wanting to pay for the room, the receptionist denied that the second room was complimentary and accused me of lying. The manager also talked to a friend of mine who was with me at the check-in, who confirmed that my statements were true. Despite that, the manager told me that since she “couldn’t tell who was telling the truth”, she “had no choice but to trust her employee, the receptionist”. That was just shy of directly calling me a liar and I felt very much insulted by that. With no hope of solving the issue with hotel staff members on site, I refused to sign the paper and left.

Beside this billing issue, this Holiday Inn Express is in much worse shape than the many other HIE I have stayed in. The carpets in the room and in the hallway have lots of stains; there are cracks in the bathtub; the walls are paper thin and we could hear our neighbor snore; the internet is very slow. In retrospect, I shouldn’t be surprised about these issues because based on my experience, this hotel only cares about your money, not you as a guest! I would never imagine that any hotel management would actually encourage a confrontation between a guest and a hotel employee by placing the room charge at stake. I would also never imagine that any hotel management would tell a guest to his face that he can’t be trusted even when he has witness to back up his accounts. I will NEVER come back to this hotel, and I will definitely NOT recommend it to anyone. Page is a great place to visit, but your money is better spent if you stay in other hotels in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Kevin Z,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret you received service which was less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My first reaction when entering this hotel and esp the hallways to my room ... "This is an old nursing home (assisted living facility)." My friend thought maybe a hospital. I thought this was strange so I looked at what other people had written and someone else thought the exact same thing. The hotel is not in good shape. The walls in our room were badly damaged. The sink is in the room itself (as it would be in a hospital room), and the place has a funky smell to it. The bed was OK (-- certainly not like the Best Western where someone reported bed bugs). I choose this because I did not want to spent $175 at the newer hotels in Page. This was around $75 per night. I wish I had spent the $175 and you will as well. Typical Holiday Inn "bad-for-you" breakfast -- which I skipped. I give this a rating of two only because the staff was very helpful when I needed help. Do yourself a favor -- do not stay here. In fact do not stay in Page AZ at all. This was a place I wish I had never come to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Kobuck1369,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you found the staff helpful. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that all your comments will be looked into. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to satisfy you with the service you have received. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek AZ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stay at the Holiday Inns often. I was so surprised at how nice this room was and I would definitely stay here again. The people were friendly when I checked in, the room was quiet and the bathtub acceptable. We had a king bed on the corner, lower floor.

Once thing was the breakfast was not kept up and the Holiday Inn was hot through out the hotel and it was uncomfortable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 751 South Navajo Drive, Page, AZ 86040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of beautiful Lake Powell Country and the Navajo Indian Reservation. This beautiful and scenic area has been the backdrop for such famous movies as the 1967 'Planet of the Apes'; 'Maverick' with Mel Gibson, and most recently, the remake of 'Planet of the Apes' and a Steven Spielberg movie called 'Evolution'. Lake Powell National Monument is a world renown recreation area. This man-made lake has over 1500 miles of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell Hotel Page
Holiday Inn Page
Page Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.