We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   208 N. Lake Powell Blvd., PO Box 4899, Page, AZ 86040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Page
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Okay stay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Plus at Lake Powell last week, and checked out on January 20, 2013. Being winter, there were not that many people at this hotel. I read the previous post to this one, and like that reviewer, I also am a Best Western Rewards Diamond Elite member. I have stayed at hundreds of Best Westerns throughout the United States in the last decade. My overall opinion of this place is that it barely squeaks by as a Best Western "Plus." The inside of the building is beautiful. But it is the little things that make the difference. For example, the computer I used at the computer desk was a Dell, with an aftermarket keypad (Kensington) that had some wornout lettering. Since I henpeck, it was hard to use. Guess I should have used the other computer that was located there that was a Dell with a Dell keypad! Then at 9:45 p.m., I had to get the key to the exercise facility. I told the lady at the counter that I would be using the treadmill. She said the exercise room closed at 10:00 p.m. I told her I would not have the TV on, but she still insisted that it would be closed at 10:00 p.m. I told her someone could then come and notify me and throw me out of the exercise room if that was necessary. Fortunately, I was left alone, as I got done on the treadmill at 10:45 p.m. and returned the key to the front desk. As a point of information, no rooms for lodging shared the walls with the exercise facility. Rooms 133, 135, and 137 were separated from the exercise room by a hallway. Oh, by the way, the treadmill was great. It was a True treadmill, which is a quality manufacturer of treadmills. The room I had (room 305) was huge, clean, and a quiet location. I paid twenty dollars more for this king suite, but it was worth it. As for breakfast, this establishment has a decent full breakfast. I got there at 9:10 a.m., since it closed at 9:30 a.m. The bowel of yogurt was empty, and I had to inform a Best Western employee that the orange juice dispenser was empty. The trash cans in the breakfast room were also full and overflowing. What is also unusual for a Best Western "Plus" is that this hotel offered no complimentary newspaper in the morning for the guests. When I checked out, which was fast, I noticed on the wall to the left of the front desk (in front of the computers) that this place had received several awards from Best Western International. There is a reason that the last award received was in May of 2010. This hotel certainly has potential, but the management and staff need to work harder. Like I stated in the caption to this review, it was an okay stay. I would stay here again if in the Lake Powell area. Hopefully next time the Best Western Plus at Lake Powell lives up to its "Plus" rating.

Room Tip: If you want a huge room, reserve room 305, which is a king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    274
    217
    107
    97
See reviews for
239
331
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I requested the internet special and that is what I got. A tired room with 2 queen-size beds and a bad view. I guess you get what you pay for. However, as a platinum member requesting a room on a slow night, I thought I might be rewarded with a room upgrade or a free bottle of water. That was not the case. In fact, my arrival host was less than friendly and welcoming and her tone and demanor was more like: "I have done this before but I think I can check this one in faster tonight." She seemed to care less about me or the hotel. I was simply an inconvenience. This in light of the fact that I was the only person at the counter.

This is the second time I have stayed in this property in less than a year but it will likely be my last. This venue strikes me as property that has location so it doesn't need to sell service, quality and/or value. People will come by the bus load to see Lake Powell and the Grand Caynon.

On a plus side the breakfast was good and the space available for eating was more than adaquate this time as the property seemed empty. This is not what I have come to expect from BW.

Room Tip: I am not sure how one accomplishes this as I have stayed here twice and both times the room had no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that our service did not meet your expectations. We have reviewed your comments with our front desk staff. We hope you will come back to see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Are we at a Hilton? Hyatt? You'd think so. Very impressive hotel. We most always stay at Great Western hotels as they are independently owned. Very clean and service was good.
Great breakfast, eggs, bacon and waffles. Large comfy rooms. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night this month, didn't have a booking but got the room types we wanted and breakfast included. Nothing remarkable but no problems either. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again in a similar situation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It's a decent hotel that barely reach Best Western standard that I generally perceive. We got an internet special rate and that the plus and the hotel is relatively clean but the breakfast room is too small and the breakfast is ... not very good. The worst part (to us) is that there is no micro wave in the room and a call to the front desk solve that problem but that also mean they have to
open their kitchen equipment room so that we can use the micro wave locked up in there. You would think if there isn't any micro wave in the room then at the minimum they should have an open room with a micro wave there for guests to use. All in all it's an acceptable hotel for the one night we stay at $50 speciall rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We do offer in room microwaves in our upgraded rooms at a nominal upgrade charge. Please let front desk know of your needs and they will do their best to match our various room types for you. However, as you mentioned, we offer a public microwave oven for those guests staying in our starter rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel prompted me to write my first complaint ever because I wanted people to not suffer the way I did. I stayed in room 202 mid to late November of 2012 for 3 nights and had over 25 bites. These bites were innocuous at first but they swelled with welts a few days later, and they continue to itch as hell even a week later. According to my research the welts and itch will not go away until several weeks later. It was only after a week of silent suffering did I google BEST WESTERN PAGE ARIZONA BUG BITES to discover that this hotel is infested with BED BUGS! I'm mad at myself for not storming down to the front office to demand a refund and stay elsewhere after the first night there, but mostly I am now mad that the hotel never returned my call when I made a complaint over a day ago. They were unconcerned and non-surprised, and think they can get away with it. Please steer clear to save you and your family major pain and suffering. I would give it a zero star if I could.

Room Tip: Any room without bed bugs is a GREAT room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We take all reports of pest control very seriously. We do not have record of your report, but we have checked 202 to confirm to be safe, and we have found nothing. We believe you have our hotel confused with another hotel during your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell

Address: 208 N. Lake Powell Blvd., PO Box 4899, Page, AZ 86040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in a beautiful and convenient location. Hotel is located in downtown Page within walking steps to many restaurants, grocery store, bar/lounges, shops, and outfitters to take you on hiking, river, off-road, and Antelope Canyon adventures. Enjoy our wonderful hotel with the perfect room type for you. We offer rooms with 2 queen beds, Oversized rooms with 2 queen beds and a pull-out sofa (nominal fee), Romantic large suites with king beds and large family suites with 3 queen beds that can sleep up to 8 people. Our guest rooms include a daily Deluxe Full hot breakfast. Hotel features Free Wi-Fi, 47" Flat Panel TV's, large swimming pool(seasonal) with water works and a relaxing hot tub. Come stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS At Lake Powell. We work hard to make sure you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus At Lake Powell Hotel Page
Best Western Lake Powell
Best Western Page
Page Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS at Lake Powell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.