We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Debbie's Hide a Way

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Page
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Debbie's Hide a Way
Save
You added Debbie's Hide a Way to your Saves list
119 8th Ave., PO Box 861, Page, AZ 86040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Page
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Debbie's rental units used to be government family housing for the engineers building the Glen Canyon Damn. It was clean, comfortable, good size. Close to the restaurants and all in Page and also quite close to the Damn and Horseshoe lookout. It was exactly what we needed and exactly what we expected. Not for you if you are looking for luxury. But if you are looking for a good, solid place to stay that is clean and comfortable at a good price, then you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbieTravelers333, Owner at Debbie's Hide a Way, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Jenny & Rick

We hope you enjoyed your visit as much as we enjoyed getting to know you and your family. Our suites are much larger than your typical motel room and most guests appreciate the space to spread out as if they were back home. We are only a four minute walk from some of the best restaurants and a grocery store. For individuals needing the THREE DIAMOND RESORT experience, we point them in the proper direction… 30 minutes away at $1,250 per night. But for our sensible guests, we take pride in provide a clean and comfortable home away from home, for a much more affordable rate than $1,250 per night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    104
    29
    18
    16
See reviews for
142
108
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Debbie's Hide a Way in Page was not our first choice, but was recommended by a B&B that was not able to accomodate the days we wanted. We received an apartment that was very comfortable and spacious with complete kitchen. Much more than expected. The manager was extremely pleasant and very accomodating to my needs. Definitely an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbieTravelers333, Owner at Debbie's Hide a Way, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Surprised from Tucson.

Page is a small community, we know most of the accommodations in Page. In fact, for the most part, we all assist one another when one is filled, in order to ensure guests have a pleasant experience. At Debbie’s, we strive to give all guests even more than they expect. As you discovered, your apartment provided you with everything. Our management team is here for you and to meet your needs in every way possible! We are extremely pleased to have risen to your expectations and to have won you over with our facility. We are even more pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Page and hope we will be your first choice in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had the three-bedroom appartment which was actually very nice. It has an evaporation cooling unit, which is not as good as an AC but good enough to cool the place, great to get out of the AC for a couple of nights. Depending on the other guests, you can have a nice experience sharing the patio with them or not. In our case it was okay after the French left and we could use the BBQ, but we mostly parked in front and left through our front door anyhow. The owner is very nice and helpful but not at all in your way. He gave us a great welcome and good information for our stay in Page. The kitchen is equipped with the typical sturdy American appliances that have long outlived their manufacturers: at least 40 years old and in perfect working condition. Same applies to the washing and drying machines.

I agree this is not the Eden of some reviews but we had a great stay and would return here any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbieTravelers333, Owner at Debbie's Hide a Way, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello our Netherlands Friends

It was a pleasure having you & your family staying with us! We take pride in providing guests with a unique experience while visiting the southwest and try to do so in a sustainable-ecofriendly way. As you noticed we use evaporative coolers to help keep summer guests cool, that is when they aren’t already cooling off at Lake Powell, which we find to be a perfect substitute to energy hungry a.c. units. In addition to free washers and dryers we offer to guests, we also have clothing lines hung for our truly eco responsible guests. If there is one thing we have plenty of during the summer, it’s warm sunshine- perfect for naturally drying laundry! We are glad you found the patio suited for your needs; they are a wonderful place to relax and meet new friends from around the World. It is our personal pleasure to serve and assist you, but never push you. The kitchens are always fully stocked with everything, just as if it were our own home, after all, we want Debbie’s Hide A Way to feel like home! Thank you for noticing the appliances! We do not subscribe to the ‘use it and toss it’ mentality that is so popular today. As a result, we go the extra step and maintain things around the property to ensure that we are providing guests with the most responsible and authentic experience in the area. We hope to have the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I am giving Debbie's an average only because of the location of the motel. It is on the older side of Page and is by far the nicest building(s) on the block. Others VERY close by were very scary.

That being said - the owners are wonderful. From the minute you contact them to the time you arrive they are funny and helpful.

The room is big - includes a nice size kitchen, living area with pull out couch, bed room and bath. Lots of room to spread out. We were only staying a night so we could not take advantage of the on site laundry, kitchen or welcoming patio. It would have been fun to hang outside with the other guests and have a drink and play some games.

The Safeway is very close so you can buy food and make it in the kitchen.

The rooms, towels and lines were clean and I am pretty picky.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbieTravelers333, Owner at Debbie's Hide a Way, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are thankful for your honesty. As you noticed, most guests think our buildings are attractive and some even go so far as to say the nicest on the block! Again, most guest such as yourselves enjoy the patio in the rear finding it a place to socialize and meet new friends from around the world. We strive to give you, our valued guests, excellent value, clean & spacious suites and service that will have you wanting to come back again and again! We are thrilled we were able to meet your high standards all the way from New Holland, Pennsylvania. Thanks Steph!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Yeah. Probably should have sprung for the 2 bedroom for a family of four--the pull-out couch was horribly uncomfortable, even for kids,and that's sayin' something! The bed in the bedroom is hard, if that's what you like. Plus, swamp coolers provide pretty anemic cooling. It was nice to have a mini-apartment with all that entails, but I don't really get the rave reviews. Most of the other places on this street had more curb appeal. The outside is a garish pink and I wasn't charmed by the back patio area. On the upside, we enjoyed a game of Scattergories and were able to do laundry.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbieTravelers333, Owner at Debbie's Hide a Way, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are disappointed you were less than totally satisfied. We wish we had known when you booked the suite that your kids were older, larger teenagers. We would have tried to direct your family into a suite with queen size beds for your sons. This Spring we completed landscaping the front and will paint the exterior very soon. Most people have no objection to the pink, but to please those that do, it is going to earth tones to blend in with the wonderful landscape of Page. Thank you for noticing that the suites are clean, and a good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Turning down the road to Debbie's, I cringed at all the 1950's cinder block housing inns, reminded me of my military housing growing up. We turned into Debbie's to find a xeriscaped yard with running pond and grilling area(great after a week of restaurant food). Our room was a 3 bedroom, one bath, full kitchen. New comfortable beds(firm), updated bathroom(newly caulked), fully stocked kitchen. The staff were very helpful in our day planning. This is a great hotel for families or couples alike.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbieTravelers333, Owner at Debbie's Hide a Way, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Our neighborhood is in a state of transition and for the better!! We aren’t new but we like to think there is a pride of ownership on The Street of Little Motels. We appreciate that you noticed the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms had new marble installed this spring and the kitchens are ready and stocked for you. We take our job seriously to help you see as much as possible with the time you have available. We aren’t tour guides, but do know our area and enjoy sharing it with you. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on July 14. The 3 bedroom suite was huge and I wish we could have stayed a little longer. Everything was provided, from clean sheets and shampoo to pots and pans. There were books to read and we could use the washing machine (until 9pm) for free (washing powder included). Owners were really nice and gave us a tip to check out the sunset view near the Wahweap marinara. It was beautiful out there. Restaurants and stores were within walking distance. The backyard was really spacious and quiet. We sat outside to drink some wine at night.This place was perfect for our family of 4. The kids had their own bedrooms. Not comparable to a chain hotel where you have to share a 2 queen bedroom for the same price or even more.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom suites are great for families who want their privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbieTravelers333, Owner at Debbie's Hide a Way, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It was a pleasure having your family stay with us, Adrin. They say everything in Texas is huge -as are our suites. We try to go the extra mile for you, so you can enjoy your time and relax. The Wahweap Scenic View was magnificent with the clouds and orange/pink sky, a photographers paradise. You would be hard pressed to find a more peaceful & soothing spot than the patio areas. You can certainly be proud of your kids. Thanks and come again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Debbie's Hide a Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debbie's Hide a Way

Address: 119 8th Ave., PO Box 861, Page, AZ 86040
Location: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Page
#7 Family Hotel in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming motel with one of the nicest flower patios in the area. All of our rooms are either 1-bedroom or 3-bedroom suites, capable of accommodating eight guests, with fully stocked kitchens and all the comforts of home, including BBQ grill and plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Debbie`s Hide a Way Hotel Page
Debbies Hide a Way Page
Debbies Hide a Way Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Debbie's Hide a Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.